Probe piston issue...please, only smarterer people

gaboonviper85

Supramania Contributor
Jan 13, 2008
Northeast Philly
Ok so I picked up a set of probes today...On the intake side of a few pistons where the valve clearance is cut...the clearance is so close to the edge of the that it's damn near knife edged...also on two of the pistons that clearance actually goes out beyond the outside edge.....meaning that if you put the piston face down on a flat surface, the intake side looks like an entrence to a cave moreless..

Sorry for the retarded post but I'm on my iPhone cause my net is down at home...

I'm worried that these could melt on that edge or effect the squish....

What would you do??? As a machinist I'm not the most pleased with the machining of these pistons but I've never built a motor like this so have no idea if this is an issue.

Zumtizzle

Can't Wait to Be King.
Oct 21, 2006
Sac-Town, NorCal
2i8dwki.jpg

pistonmodi2be6.jpg

I'm removing the intake side due to some damage. :(

I'm not really worried as the 2JZ-GE has pistons like this. (with "domes" on all four corners.)

Well i'm paying my machinist to use a Rotary tool and try to match all of them, and then i get to send all six out for a recoat. $$

Last edited:

gaboonviper85

Supramania Contributor
Jan 13, 2008
Northeast Philly
Yes that! I'm not likeing the looks of it...and I really don't like the idea of
Messing with the squish area...but either I'm gonna call probe and have them send me different pistons or I'll mill that area down a bit at work and make them all uniform with nice radius's

90T04

Mar 30, 2005
Tucson, AZ
www.azsupras.com
Thats how all of the probes are made. I remember reading that they did not have the exact size cutter for the valve reliefs so they went with the next size up...
The edges are quite thin at the tips. But I think the rest of the piston should act as a heat sink and pull heat away from those areas so that they dont become glowing red detonation starters.