Peer Review oil 101

lemmiewinks289

Apr 10, 2009
Texas
Hello,

I have said things regarding engine oil on a lexus forum not too long ago, but am worried that what I said was a misinterpretation on what I have read here and on the oil 101 basics link.

Here is the link to the thread.
http://www.clublexus.com/forums/performance-and-maintenance/443526-10w-40-too-thick.html

Does anyone have anything to add or correct me on? I only ask this because I want to be absolutely certain that I am not spreading mis information. I'm no expert and have only learned what I have read.

Thanks

jdub

Official SM Expert: Motor Oil, Lubricants & Fil
SM Expert
Feb 10, 2006
Valley of the Sun
LOL'ed at "You've been on SM too much" ;)

You are pretty much on the mark, but there are valid counter points. At 180K mileage wise, a synthetic is not going to do a whole lot to help wear wise...the motor is on it's down hill leg. It will help a turbo motor IMO due to the heat a syn oil can take, but on a NA with that mileage the only advantage will be an extended drain on a better oil.

Not saying you are wrong, but the counter point is valid.

Concerning the use of a 10W-40, the same thing applies. Any start-up wear is pretty much moot at this point and if the bearings are starting to show wear, use of a 10W-40 is appropriate due to increased bearing clearances.

One thing a PAO or ester based synthetic will do is throughly clean out the engine. That is a double edge sword. You will have more particulates in the oil as engine deposits break down...not a big problem with a good filter. However, if those deposits are what's keeping worn, shrunk seals from leaking...care to guess what can happen?

The OPs decision to continue to run a dino oil on a motor with those kind of miles is valid. What you are saying is valid as well. It boils down in this case to what the owner wants to do because either will work, especially if he does not want to possibly induce a leak.

lemmiewinks289

Apr 10, 2009