noob question

bigal0043

Jun 29, 2005
Plattsburgh,NY
www.mk3supra.net
alright i have never done a compression test before and was looking at them to make sure my supra is still good... i have a couple question about them
1. the tester screws into the spark plug hole on the block correct?
2. Car is off correct?
3. i was looking at this one at sears
http://www.sears.com/sr/javasr/prod...tomotive+Testing+Equipment&BV_UseBVCookie=Yes
and do i need to hook a compressor to it? how does it test compression i would assume it needs to get air from somewhere.. if it does need a compressor could you just use a bike pump?

4. can you hurt your car by doing a compression test?

5. on that one from sears it says it fits 14 and 18mm size spark plugs will that fit our cars?
please dont flame me!

Last edited:

Yeahdoug

Jun 3, 2005
Rochester Hills, MI
1.Pull all spark plugs.
2. Screw in compression tester. (It is recommended to do the test with the engine warm but I usually don't)
3. Have someone crank the engine over ~5 times with the throttle open. Try to observe the first reading you get and then your final number.
4. Repeat for all cylinders.

If any are low try putting a little oil in and repeat test to see if your numbers come up. Also pull the efi fuse while your doing the test.

bigal0043

Jun 29, 2005
Plattsburgh,NY
www.mk3supra.net
thanks yea i also when and found an article on this shown below.. is that one from sears look like a good gauge?

How To Do The Test