New Guy from the NE

Supra0089

Jan 13, 2009
New Hampshire
Hello everyone! I recently purchased my 2nd MK3. I am extremely excited about this new project, and have used the forums for the past 2 years as a reference. The information has been great, but I think it's time for me to start participating in the supra community. Below is kind of a bio that describes my experiences thus far. If you would like to read on, please do. Otherwise I'll see you around.

I would like to start out with somewhat of a disclaimer that although I have some experience with working on cars (my father restores antique Porsches and muscle cars), I am by no means a gearhead and don't claim to always know what I'm talking about. I'm open to suggestions and criticism.

The first MK3 I had in high school about 10 years ago. The car was everything I ever wanted: targa top, fast, flip headlights, sporty etc etc. I enjoyed it for 2 years until the relationship ended with a blown motor, and I was forced to sell it to go to college. Although I had to sell, I was definitely in love.

Since having developed an infatuation with the Supra, I have recently bought a MK3 for my weekend warrior. This time, I wanted to get something I can take care of, and learn from (as far as modding goes).

Buying this car has confirmed how much of a love/hate relationship it can be to own an MK3 and here is the story. A year ago, I flew from NE down to SC to look at this MK3. It seemed as though it was in pristine condition. The owner was the original, was in his late 60's, and the car had 85k miles on it. The owner had the car serviced by Toyota and had EVERY service record. Buying this car seemed like it was a good choice.