head gasket repair...bolts removed, about to pull, but...

drb0mb

Mar 21, 2012
huntingdon
okay so i've more or less followed several resources (there's plenty of threads in here) along with the tsrm and i have my engine crane all bolted to the head. i pried it loose but the head doesn't seem to actually be free from the block, even though it's free enough to "rock" left and right slightly.

i'm afraid to put too much leverage on the crane if it's still attached somehow (i may have done so already unfortunately, the front shocks started decompressing slightly but i caught it by jamming something between the underside of the vehicle and the ground so it fell out when the car rose) , and if it is, it must be anchored in the middle somewhere based on the amount of movement the head has.

now...this is my first attempt at vehicle work beyond changing oil (although i'm mechanically inclined and know how to use tools well enough to have gotten this far), and i really don't know much about cars, so uh, take it easy on me

drb0mb

Mar 21, 2012
huntingdon
i'm not sure there's any hose that could hold the way this thing is holding on... so i just went back out there and gave it another good look around, i can't find any feasable place it could be attached around the perimeter of the head and block without some mirror to see some obstructed areas.

anyway, i decided to give it another lift and a little extra for good measure (got the car for 450 pounds...it's an experiment anyway) and strangely enough, as the front end is lifted a couple inches by the crane attached only to the head, the head maintains an ability to rock side to side on the block, even under this tension. almost like there IS something loosened but still attached, but its somewhere along the center line of the engine?