formula SAE car...warping the block by forcing it in...

legolyle

hopeful
Mar 17, 2011
Jacksonville, Florida
I'm on a formula SAE team at my university, I'm brand new to the team :p
basically, this is the team's first year designing/building a car. They are using a straight 4 motorcycle engine (I honestly cant remember the specific one) aluminum block honda.
It has 3 mounting locations, but the front two are the ones in question. they lay parallel to the cylinders, one on each far side of the block, theyre simple thrue-bolt holes molded into the block.

so, heres the deal...they made the mounts using the block as a template...but when they went to drop the block in yesterday, only one side lined up correctly. so they put a bolt in one side, and then put weight on the other part of the block to force it into place and hammered the bolt in.

I was errr...against this...but im new...and not an engineer...yet :p

they didnt know if this would warp the block...
do you guys think it could warp the block?

im wondering if it would simply warp the chassis first...
the engine was already all assembled when dropped in.

thanks a bunch for your input :D

Last edited:

hvyman

Dang Dude! No Way Man.
Staff member
Apr 17, 2007
Fullerton,CA
Me thinks it would warp. Stress on the block especially extended high heat like racing from bad mounting would most likely distort it.

I'm no engineer tho.

Polythamus

May 24, 2009
Melbourne
Hey im also a student involved in the formula SAE at my university. Supras represent!!! I'm actually on the engine team, we run a 03-06 Honda cbr600, my guess is you run a similar engine.

Anyway i STRONGLY recommend you go and produce new mounts, I'm not sure about whether or not the block will actually warp but you could easily crack or damage the holes the bolts bolt into.