Code 51 Help!

cesupra

May 20, 2006
Los Angeles, CA
I am new to diagnosing these codes. From what I've found code 51 means there is a problem with "Switch Condition Signal". Can anyone elaborate on this?

My car runs fine. I'm just having a tough time passing my smog test and the check engine light comes on after driving for a while on the freeway.

I have a:
1988 Supra non-turbo (7M-GE engine)

Any info on this would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

Joel W.

Just A Jedi
Nov 7, 2005
Washington
No it should not..It will only display a code 51 when the jumper is connected in diag mode with the ac on, the car is out of park, or when the gas pedal is depressed. If code 51 is there without the gas being depressed, ac off , and in park, then the TPS needs to be adjusted.

No check engine light will come on from a tps when driving normally I think..(maybe code 41 in California cars) And this is also tps related..

Final answer..:)

Last edited:

jetjock

creepy-ass cracka
Jul 11, 2005
Redacted per Title 18 USC Section 798
You got it. Code 41 maybe, depends on the car. Look at the notation. This is why you should check codes on occasion and not rely on the MIL to tell you something is wrong.

Code 51 monitors the idle switch in the TPS. Code 41 is the pot for throttle position. Two independent parts of the same gadget with two different functions. The ecu needs to know what position the throttle is in but it also needs to know when it's completely closed. The idle (IDL) switch in the TPS is what tells it.

Used for lots of things, one of which is turning on the idle speed control system. It also tells the ecu to use base timing when the diag block is jumpered. Since you shouldn't be setting timing with the throttle open the ecu requires IDL to be closed. That way it "knows" the ISC if active and controlling idle speed to what it should be when adjusting timing.

cesupra

May 20, 2006
Los Angeles, CA