Bumped my boost up today...fuel question.

Hotwheelsjr

May 22, 2011
Surprise AZ
So, I bumped my boost from stock to 9 psi today. I'm running a T67, 50mm WG, 550cc inj, and a Lexus MAF on a stock ECU...and a Walbro 255 and some off brand AFPR. The bottom end was built with forged parts.

At full boost my AFR stuck steady around 10 (measured with a AEM wideband), so I'm getting plenty of fuel. I'm not running any type of piggy back, so my question is, am I safe? With an AFR of 10 - 10.5 at full boost and no pinging, I'm assuming I'm good. I just recently mounted a GM 3 BAR MAP and IAT in prep for a AEM stand alone, but they're not wired up yet and the AEM is still sitting new in the box. Once the AEM is in I plan to have it dyno tuned with 18-20 psi...I'm not going to blow this thing up at 9 psi and no piggy back, am I? I'm kinda new to boost, so please excuse my ignorance.

THANKS!

gsxr141

Oct 24, 2010
rochester
i think you might be too rich. there was another thread about this, and from what i understand... too rich is bad.

90mkiiisupra400hp

Mar 20, 2011
Gardiner, Maine
IMHO 10 is to low I wouldn't run it like that. I have mine right at 11.5 at full boost, IIRC running it that low and there is a chance of washing the cylinders, someone else may want to chime in on this.

Hotwheelsjr

May 22, 2011
Surprise AZ
Ya -- I figured 10 was pretty rich...I was looking at it as I'd much rather be rich than lean. Until I get AEM EMS into it, I'm without any type of fuel controller. Any way to pull fuel under boost without a piggy back? Pull the vacuum line from my AFPR?

SPOOLINLUST

Feb 24, 2011
nnj
IMO I wouldn't pull the vac line because that may lean it out to much, the purpose of that line is to reference the boost and raise the fuel pressure per pound of boost. You may be able to turn the pressure on the FPR down a little or raise the boost a little to get it to around 11 at least.

Turbo Habanero

Apr 28, 2009
Tucson,AZ