Powered by Team Mondor
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 30 of 30

Thread: BC 272 Cams with stock rods and pistons?

  1. #21
    Supramania Regular
    gaboonviper85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Northeast Philly
    Posts
    3,238

    Default Re: BC 272 Cams with stock rods and pistons?

    Quote Originally Posted by QWIKSTRIKE View Post
    Thats correct....poor assembly or piss poor tuning will staill brihg her down to her knees.

    You need to scrap thse low budget piggy backs and get a real after arket ecu and have it tuned properly.
    don't really agree with that....if your not after huge power than a piggy will get you your 350hp just fine and keep your motor running effeciently! Piggybacks have a purpose and they do a damn good job for what they are...

    Stock hardware is good stuff...arp is better but stock is more than able to take abuse...

  2. #22
    475rwhp459torq an climbin
    QWIKSTRIKE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Some where out there
    Posts
    1,172

    Default Re: BC 272 Cams with stock rods and pistons?

    Quote Originally Posted by gaboonviper85 View Post
    don't really agree with that....if your not after huge power than a piggy will get you your 350hp just fine and keep your motor running effeciently! Piggybacks have a purpose and they do a damn good job for what they are...

    Stock hardware is good stuff...arp is better but stock is more than able to take abuse...

    rod berings knock because......piss poor tuning will bring it down dude. Detonation is the enemy of and built engine perio

  3. #23
    Established 1994
    Nick M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    8,771

    Default Re: BC 272 Cams with stock rods and pistons?

    Supracentral posted a link to the stock hardware. The testing was done by Reg Reimer on the headbolts I think.

    They are just fine. As strong as the JZ series in fact.
    Our Constitution was made only for a moral and religious people. It is wholly inadequate to the government of any other.

    www.thereligionofpeace.com <------- stay in the know, religion drives political beliefs

  4. #24
    Regular Member
    buldozr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    362

    Default Re: BC 272 Cams with stock rods and pistons?

    I would like to disagree with 'crappy' piggy back statement...

    http://www.3si.org/forum/f142/dynoed...1093hp-436542/

    1093hp on an arc II and an SAFCII, for people unfamiliar with an arcII, it was invented in the mid '90s for fuel correction, it has knobs (no digital readout) for tuning... Please be aware this is AWHP.
    '87 MkIII 7mgte targa 5spd. Mods: 3" turbo back, no cats, 57 trim ct, HKS intercooler, its stock...

  5. #25
    Regular Member
    buldozr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    362

    Default Re: BC 272 Cams with stock rods and pistons?

    ultimately, its not the toys, its the tuner.
    '87 MkIII 7mgte targa 5spd. Mods: 3" turbo back, no cats, 57 trim ct, HKS intercooler, its stock...

  6. #26
    Lurker
    HIGHHIGHLANDER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    CHICAGO
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: BC 272 Cams with stock rods and pistons?

    I have built bottom end je pistons .20 over ,pauter rods ,have sheet from machine shop ,getting head built by apex with stock size manley valves,dual valve springs supertech,getting solid lash caps ,witch cams 264,or 272 i was also looking at those kamikaze cams billits. Also have pro efi stand alone .

  7. #27
    Lurker
    HIGHHIGHLANDER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    CHICAGO
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: BC 272 Cams with stock rods and pistons?

    Larry at sound performance is gonna tune it

  8. #28
    Supramania Contributor
    92nsx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Clearwater, MN
    Posts
    3,021

    Default Re: BC 272 Cams with stock rods and pistons?

    Its back from the dead!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by whisler151
    How did I lose? His engine governed out at 130 and the V was pullin' strong...oh yeah, he cheated and turned on his lights. What a bitch!
    417 rwhp / 382 tq on 15 lbs

  9. #29
    Supramania Regular
    DeMoN2318's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    573

    Default Re: BC 272 Cams with stock rods and pistons?

    6.5 year thread bump??!?!?!?!?! that has to be a record...


    Why not go with 272s?

  10. #30
    Lurker
    HIGHHIGHLANDER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    CHICAGO
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: BC 272 Cams with stock rods and pistons?

    Lol cool 272s it is thank you

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •