Powered by Team Mondor
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 41

Thread: Archive: AFC/SAFC/II/Neo Questions

  1. #1
    Goin WEEEEE on my gsxr600
    turbotrev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Clinton, MO
    Posts
    311

    Question Archive: AFC/SAFC/II/Neo Questions

    my mods SAFC2, 640cc injectors, MBC 14psi, walbo, adj-FPR, AEM wideband, and forged internals .20 over.

    i recently got it back together and was wandering if there is some settings on the SAFC2 to get it to run not so lean? it will be good when i first start the car up at like 11.3-11.6 AFR. then i will drive it for about 5mins and it will spike up to off the charts then to 15.5-15.9 and i will let it sit and idle at that AFR and try to adjust the FPR and nothing happens and this is driving it at under 2100rpms the whole time before i try to adjust the FPR.

    it will stay at good AFR in the real low rpm range in 1,2, and 3 gears which 3 was the highest gear i went to and sometimes it will spike up to 15-17's.

    what could i do or try to get it to safe AFR's as i break the motor in?

    any and all help is very welcomed



    trev

    '90: 7M built motor- FOR SALE

    K5 GSXR 600 yellow/blue: -1 +2, BMC filter, custom shorty --- FOR SALE pm for craigslist ad and infor

  2. #2
    Supramania Regular
    drjonez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    the motor city
    Posts
    3,061

    Default Re: SAFC-II adjustment?

    1. what's your base fuel press set @?

    2. you're not that lean....should be fine for break in (though that depends on how you're breaking it in). i'm surprised you're that lean given your HUGE injectors....

    to me, you've got a problems somewhere. check codes, check SAFC setup, etc. something is wrong- w/that size inj and normal fuel press you should be crazy rich....
    MKIII Technical Information Depot: www.mkiiitech.com

  3. #3
    Goin WEEEEE on my gsxr600
    turbotrev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Clinton, MO
    Posts
    311

    Default Re: SAFC-II adjustment?

    as it sits its at 5psi but when i turn the car off its at like 20psi.

    the afc settings are at ?????? b/c i had a shop do my tuning and they screwed me over .

    i have not gotten any boost while driving b/c i keep it under 2500rpms the whole time.

    i have never checked codes for the supra so is it just plug in the reader or what?

    and i dont have the manual for the safc2 and can dl it b/c adobe is f ed up.

    '90: 7M built motor- FOR SALE

    K5 GSXR 600 yellow/blue: -1 +2, BMC filter, custom shorty --- FOR SALE pm for craigslist ad and infor

  4. #4
    Supramania Regular
    drjonez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    the motor city
    Posts
    3,061

    Default Re: SAFC-II adjustment?

    Quote Originally Posted by turbotrev
    as it sits its at 5psi but when i turn the car off its at like 20psi.
    what?!?!? that can't be right....

    Quote Originally Posted by turbotrev
    the afc settings are at ?????? b/c i had a shop do my tuning and they screwed me over .
    not so good. you really can't get it tuned until you break it in anyway....

    you can easily look @ the SAFC's settings...read the manual and learn how to use it!

    Quote Originally Posted by turbotrev
    i have not gotten any boost while driving b/c i keep it under 2500rpms the whole time.
    good.

    Quote Originally Posted by turbotrev
    i have never checked codes for the supra so is it just plug in the reader or what?
    www.cygnusx1.net

    goto the TSRM

    goto the EFI section

    read.


    Quote Originally Posted by turbotrev
    and i dont have the manual for the safc2 and can dl it b/c adobe is f ed up.
    i suggest you find a to read a .pdf....there are many other viewers other than adobe. w/o a manual you're shooting in the dark.
    MKIII Technical Information Depot: www.mkiiitech.com

  5. #5
    1jz destroyer

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    warren, michigan
    Posts
    91

    Default Re: SAFC-II adjustment?

    sorry to butt in but did you say your base fuel is only at 5psi ? and 20 psi when you shut it off? its supposed to be around 43-46psi if i remember correctly. i have been wrong before . hope i helped and didnt just waste your time.

  6. #6
    Goin WEEEEE on my gsxr600
    turbotrev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Clinton, MO
    Posts
    311

    Default Re: SAFC-II adjustment?

    ok i just took it out awhile ago and i did notice it threw a code so im gunna check that tomorrow.

    i got the manual finally so i saved it and printed all 64 pages of it.

    the fuel was at 15psi right after i turned the car off

    and now itll die on me when i let off the gas in 4th gear. i think it is b/c it overloads it with fuel and kills the spark but im not to forsure on that.

    is there a way to reset the safc2 to start fresh? im gunna read the manual tomorrow and see if there is a way.

    trev

    '90: 7M built motor- FOR SALE

    K5 GSXR 600 yellow/blue: -1 +2, BMC filter, custom shorty --- FOR SALE pm for craigslist ad and infor

  7. #7
    Supramania Regular
    drjonez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    the motor city
    Posts
    3,061

    Default Re: SAFC-II adjustment?

    Quote Originally Posted by 1jzneil
    sorry to butt in but did you say your base fuel is only at 5psi ? and 20 psi when you shut it off? its supposed to be around 43-46psi if i remember correctly. i have been wrong before . hope i helped and didnt just waste your time.
    exactly. here's the TSRM page for it:



    Quote Originally Posted by turbotrev
    ok i just took it out awhile ago and i did notice it threw a code so im gunna check that tomorrow.
    the check eng light doesn't need to be on....it can store codes w/o turning the light on.

    Quote Originally Posted by turbotrev
    i got the manual finally so i saved it and printed all 64 pages of it.
    good!

    Quote Originally Posted by turbotrev
    the fuel was at 15psi right after i turned the car off
    eh, not really useful. what is it w/the car running and the vac line off?

    Quote Originally Posted by turbotrev
    and now itll die on me when i let off the gas in 4th gear. i think it is b/c it overloads it with fuel and kills the spark but im not to forsure on that.
    no way to know, you need to sort out everything else...

    Quote Originally Posted by turbotrev
    is there a way to reset the safc2 to start fresh? im gunna read the manual tomorrow and see if there is a way.

    trev
    sure is. see the manual for the reset procedure.
    MKIII Technical Information Depot: www.mkiiitech.com

  8. #8
    1jz destroyer

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    warren, michigan
    Posts
    91

    Default Re: SAFC-II adjustment?

    i think they call it initialalize. i know on my safc 1 it has a mode that just says initialize and when you do it it erases it and its reset.

  9. #9
    92 teal-wn turbo
    supramike7m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    759

    Default Re: SAFC-II adjustment?

    ya its the same for the safc2, initialize will reset everything

  10. #10
    1/2na-t cressida FTW!!!
    7mge-t_cressida's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    38

    Default NA-T SAFC correction levels anyone?

    I got a 7mge na-t with the following:

    -stock ct26 turbo, mani, dp, and exhaust
    -stock 7mgte 450cc injectors
    -7mge electronics
    -7mgte intercooler w/ piping
    -safc 1

    now what i need to know is what correction levels have you na-t with the same or similar setup have you set? low throttle and high throttle if you got them. also while on the subject what % did you guys set your throttle low and high levels at? im not gonna leave this i just want more info on what people have been successful with... just as a starting point to tune off of.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •