Powered by Team Mondor
Page 1 of 13 1234511 ... LastLast

Thread: 1981 KP61 Starlet 2JZGTE build

OMFG Im a NOOB!!!

Default 1981 KP61 Starlet 2JZGTE build

I realize this car isnt Supra but some of the guys over in the 2j discussion forum said I should post up a build thread. If this is out of place...Sorry Mods.

Ok so here's the story, I used to see this car every day at Wendys around lunch time for about the last 5 years. It belonged to a little old lady who bought it new in 1981. I always begged for her to sell it to me as I thought it would be a great "OMFG mad tyte jdm old school yo". One day I realized I had not seen it for a while and later found out the woman had died.

About a year later I was at my machinist shop picking up a customers motor and I see this starlet chilling out in the weeds behind his shop. I immediately asked him what the deal was. He replied "some old woman left it in her will to the kid that cut her grass and he traded it to me for some machine work". Come to find out it was a 200.00 machine bill and he said he would take that for the car.

At first I couldnt believe I had a 1981 starlet with 81k miles and the owners manual and window sticker in the glove box. I was totally stoked....until I put it on a lift. Rust had taken its toll on this antique far beyond the point of a restoration.

I let it sit for a while and one day thought "what do I have to lose, Im putting a 2j in it".

It was been an ongoing project for about the last month and I hope to have it done this summer. I made a set of steel wide fenders out of the original fenders and still have to do the back. I will driving this car on the street so I need a wheel size that will not only hook to the road but also facilitate big brakes. These are not the wheels Im running but are just for visual reference.