+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 1JZ auto to manual swap questions

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    afracer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Abilene, TX
    Posts
    51

    Default 1JZ auto to manual swap questions

    Alright guys, I know a lot of you probably don't have experience with a Mark II/Cressida, but mechanically they are almost identical to the JZA70/Mark III Supra. I have a 1990 Cressida with a JZX81 1JZGTE/auto swap done by Grip Industries in Florida. I've driven it for over a year now and it's been a GREAT car, but it's getting to be time to do some more serious work to it.

    Those of you that don't know, the JZA70 and JZX81 use the same ECUs. clutch pedal/master cylinder, and just about everything else. So, I've got an R154 for it and plan on doing a manual transmission swap. I've got clutch and brake pedals from a Mark III, master cylinder, driveshaft, and I just bought a Mine's ECU for a 5 speed JZA70 for it.

    I know I can just bypass the neutral safety wires and keep running the auto ECU, but I'd rather upgrade and use the Mine's 5 speed ECU. Will I run into any problems using a 5 speed ECU on an automatic 1JZ wiring harness since I'm swapping the tranny out to be a 5 speed? I've heard/read and it makes sense that you can't use a 5 speed ECU while using an automatic transmission, but if I swap the car with a 5 speed and then use the 5 speed Mine's ECU it should be okay right? I know in my SR20's it really doesn't matter as I'm currently running a 5 speed blacktop ECU on a automatic converted to manual 240SX, but I'm not sure about Toyotas/1J's.

    Yeah I know it seems backwards to buy the ECU before finding out if it'll even work or not, but I couldn't pass up the deal and I know that JZX81 and JZA70 have the same exact pin outs on the ECUs. If anyone can shed some light I'd be really grateful. I'm expecting to do the swap sometime in November/December and I guess I could run the auto ECU if I have to for a little while, but I'm hoping I can run the Mines and pick up even more power and also because I plan on upgrading to a GT35R/550s/BC Cams/SAFC later on too. Cheers

  2. #2

    Default Re: 1JZ auto to manual swap questions

    Ya please help "us" out for I'm doing the same thing... well I'm just bypassing the ecu..

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    afracer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Abilene, TX
    Posts
    51

    Default Re: 1JZ auto to manual swap questions

    Wow, looks like we stumped everyone I guess.

  4. #4
    Peace!
    viperkillertt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Spokane, Washington, United States
    Posts
    893

    Default Re: 1JZ auto to manual swap questions

    Anyone going to reply to this? I have pretty much the same question and i need to know soon also. I was looking for the full 5 speed swap info. I have a 5 speed ecu and the tranny. I just wanted to know the steps for installation.
    1989: 1jz 300RWHP/298RWTQ 14.7psi __________ My Supramania 1JZ build thread __________ 1986.5 N/A, 5 speed

    My Company: Diesel Power Products.com

    Bikes: 2007 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 & 1998 Honda SuperHawk/VTR1000

  5. #5
    tunin' tha beast
    Rich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    the netherlands
    Posts
    317

    Default Re: 1JZ auto to manual swap questions

    It's not that difficult. An auto ecu and a manual ecu are the same engine wise. All an auto ecu has more is circuits to drive the auto gearbox.
    When going to a manual gearbox, the only thing to alter is to by-pass the neutral-safety switch, you can keep using the auto ecu without any alterations or changing wiring.
    So if all mechanical parts are installed and the neutral-safety switch is by-passed you can just plug in the Mines and it works.

    Most likely the Mines is also tuned for 550's, take that into account with your set-up.
    If you have 'No Fear' you're not going fast enough.

    aka CTD

    my ride

  6. #6

    Default Re: 1JZ auto to manual swap questions

    Nice....

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    afracer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Abilene, TX
    Posts
    51

    Default Re: 1JZ auto to manual swap questions

    Yeah, thanks a lot. I figured that was the case but since I'm fairly new to Toyotas I wasn't too sure and I've read so many posts about using A/T wire harnesses and M/T harnesses with opposite ECUs and all that kind of stuff, so I didn't know what to think.

    I have no idea what the Mine's is tuned for, but the guy who sold it to me said they ran it on a stock 1J just fine as well as larger injectors and HKS turbines just fine...so who knows?? I will put my Innovative wideband and thermocouple to use!

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Links monetized by VigLink