+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: safc tuning help 1jzgte

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    cpederson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wi
    Posts
    112

    Default safc tuning help 1jzgte

    first off i have 3.5'' turbo back, 264 cams, on 12lbs (for now), stock injectors. im running on fresh bcpr7es gapped at .028. Right now it idles around 14.8af-16 af on my wide band. At wot in third gear its 11.5af-12.5af up to 4000 rpm then goes pig rich at 4500rpm (10.2af-10.5af) and looses tons of power. The car has cel code 52 for knock sensor,is that not letting me tune above 4500rpm? What should the hi/lo throttle setting be at? Currently i have them at lo 69% hi 70%. Also what should the ne points be set at and what do they do? ive pulled tons of fuel in the hi setting about -20% from 4k up and it still doesn't change how rich it is

    thanks corey
    I 1JZ HELP!!

  2. #2
    Supramania Regular
    mk3tattoos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Bremerton, Wa
    Posts
    1,104

    Default

    Fix the knock sensor.

    Ne points are were your rpm's are for tuning. I think mine are set at 4,200-4,500- 5,000- 5,300-5,600- 6,000-6,200- 6,400- 6,600- 6,800-7,000-7,200.
    1jz, innovate lc1/xd16, walbro 255, 12v mod w/new relay, synapse bov, biltz custome built exuast, tokico illumina II w/ Eibach springs, nitto on p1 racing rims, act stage 2,auto meter boost gauge,SAFC2, MINES tuned ecu, 550's,DM intercooler kit, Perrin mdc, nashman v2 shifter, DM 67mm w/.72ar turbo kit, and a little more......

  3. #3
    Supramania Regular
    OneJArpus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Newark, New Jersey, United States
    Posts
    2,816

    Default Re: safc tuning help 1jzgte

    i hear you shouldn't pull that much from the SAFC, you should be pulling small % when tuning. You could adjust the FPR (if you have one) then do small adjustments through out the wideband to correct the AF/R. From 1-4K you have a perfect tune of 11.5-12.5 i would keep it more towards 11.5 so you do not grenade your engine by accident.

    Before you continue to tune, fix the knock sensor issue ASAP, the computer is probably in LIMP mode and any tune you do now will be useless.

    1988 TOYOTA SUPRA 93,XXX on chassis & counting...........................................................
    1.5JZ, HKS 264 Cams and much more
    12.7 @ 117 untuned 20 psi 2013 - Fastest time to date - need better tires too much spin horrible 60ft
    480 rwhp 423 lb ft of tq



  4. #4
    Junior Member
    cpederson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wi
    Posts
    112

    Default Re: safc tuning help 1jzgte

    how do i know wich knock sensor is bad?
    I 1JZ HELP!!

  5. #5
    Supramania Regular
    destrux's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,137
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: safc tuning help 1jzgte

    It's probably not the sensors themselves, check the wiring first. If the wiring is OK, then buy one sensor and try it in both positions (you don't have to screw it into the block to test it, just plug it in) and see which position makes the light stay away after you reset the ECU. Don't drive the car with the knock sensor out though.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    cpederson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wi
    Posts
    112

    Default Re: safc tuning help 1jzgte

    ok so ive bought a brand new knock sensor and ran a completely new wire to the front sensor, and i still get code 52.. now ive herd code 55 is the back sensor? is this true or does code 52 work for both front and rear sensors? also can the plugs from the front and rear sensor be switched around causing the code?


    thanks corey
    I 1JZ HELP!!

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Links monetized by VigLink