View Full Version : Is this a true HKS manifold?
Bomberillo
06-06-2009, 11:22 AM
I bid a hks manifold on ebay. The guy says it is A true HKS. He says not all hks manifold say hks on them. I looked around and all the other manifolds say hks and have a staggered turbo wastegate flange setup. What I mean is one is not directly above the other. Is this an hks or is this bullshit. Have not payed the guy yet.
ft413
06-06-2009, 11:42 AM
doesnt look very well put together....
also looks like the wastegate would hit the downpipe
Flateric
06-06-2009, 06:49 PM
Not one I've ever seen.
Not saying it is not for sure, but nothing like any I have ever seen.
"HKS" is cast into all of the genuine ones I've seen.
LilMissMkIII
06-06-2009, 06:59 PM
I was told that some of the really early HKS stuff didn't have stamps.
I have an exhaust here that I have been told by more than one person is a HKS piece, yet no stamp = I can't verify it.
I'm talking about their cast headers/manifolds all of them have the raised HKS cast in (that I've seen) ;)
Bomberillo
06-06-2009, 09:48 PM
After further research, I found a guy on SF that is selling a supposed hks manifold that is damn near identical to this one. The picture I showed has a welded on wastegate extension. The seller told me the early long runners didnt have the stamp. I am still a bit skeptic. I do not want to pay for something that is poor quality. Hks is not poor quality. So should I pay the guy?
gofastgeorge
06-06-2009, 10:47 PM
I'm talking about their cast headers/manifolds all of them have the raised HKS cast in (that I've seen) ;)
Not the long runner 7M manifolds.
But you can make me a believer if you have a picture of
a long runner with 'HKS' cast into it like the short runner (5M) manifold did.
disturbed1
06-06-2009, 10:56 PM
is it just me but i cant see bigger images?
hard to tell from an avatar sized pic
gofastgeorge
06-06-2009, 10:58 PM
Examples:
Long runner HKS 7M manifold:
http://www.turboninjas.com/gallery/James/Cars/Mk3Supra/NewParts/HKSManifold/hks_castmanifold2.jpg.html
http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://www.importbitz.com/images/turbo/7m-hks.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.importbitz.com/turbo.htm&usg=__WStiRZ1i05Lp3pnBeDiVfFm9eYg=&h=206&w=275&sz=12&hl=en&start=7&um=1&tbnid=trkkvsKBsn3j-M:&tbnh=85&tbnw=114&prev=/images%3Fq%3DHKS%2B7MGTE%2BT4%2Bmanifold%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DN%26um%3D1
http://www.mkivforums.com/vb/showpost.php?p=20889&postcount=4
http://www.supramania.com/forums/showthread.php?t=93626
http://www.supramania.com/forums/showthread.php?t=86312
Short runner HKS 5M manifold:
http://www.supramania.com/forums/showthread.php?t=93761
George: I did say "that I've seen"...
I thought that hacked up piece of crap in the tiny pic was a short runner my mistake.
projectsupra
06-07-2009, 03:10 PM
You're talking about a 8+ year old manifold from Japan that has been "questionably" modified. You don't know what someone has done while it was being worked on or how many hands it's been through. Regardless, the seller is trustworthy and under $300 is a decent deal, why complain.
Powered by vBulletin™ Version 4.0.2 Copyright © 2010 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.