PDA

View Full Version : Mr Rowe, auto tranny question



rakkasan
April 15th, 2005, 06:44 AM
I've been having trouble with my tranny not wanting to shift into 3rd gear. It's not a constant, it occurs every now & then.

I had it rebuilt thinking that I had burned up the clutches (only the banner set was replaced, not the shift selnoids, sensors, ect). This didn't fix the problem. Actually, it seems to be a little worse. After the rebuild, I'll accelerate, and then talk me foot off the gas just before it shifts into 3rd. It will either hang around at 3k rpm for a few seconds before shifting into third, or it will act like it was shifted into neutral. When it does 'slip into neutral', I physically shift into neutral, shut of & restart the car & it will shift into third. Then again, most of the time it shifts great.

I've checked the codes finding nothing wrong. According to the TSRM, the only thing that aren't checked by the tranny 'puter are the speed sensors, correct? Please tap into your immense A340E knowledge and help this lowly pleeb :bowdown: .

rakkasan
April 15th, 2005, 07:06 AM
Oh, forgot to mention that once the tranny slips, if I manually shift the car into to second, it will shift into second. If I try to manually shift back into third (Drive), it still slips. The only way to get it to shift into third after it slips is to shut it off & restart the car.

It's the shift selnoid(s), correct?

garrettrowe
April 15th, 2005, 08:38 AM
The ect ecu will pop a code for bad speed sensors.

http://www.cygnusx1.net/supra/library/TSRM/at/AT_015.html

Have you tried the manual shifting test yet? That will bypass the shift solenoids and checks 1st, 3rd, and 4th gears.

http://www.cygnusx1.net/supra/library/TSRM/at/AT_020.html

When the tranny fluid was drained was there any foreign material found? Chips, sludge, ect?
What happens if you stay on the gas during the 2-3 shift?
Is the cable that runs from the tranny to the throttle linkage connected?

rakkasan
April 15th, 2005, 09:10 AM
The ect ecu will pop a code for bad speed sensors.

Have you tried the manual shifting test yet? That will bypass the shift solenoids and checks 1st, 3rd, and 4th gears.


No, I must have missed that page when thumbing thru the TSRM. I'll do it in a few minutes.



When the tranny fluid was drained was there any foreign material found? Chips, sludge, ect?

During the rebuild, yes. I've only driven the car about 30 miles since getting the tranny back in, so I haven't changed it after filling it back up when installing it.



What happens if you stay on the gas during the 2-3 shift?


If it misses the shift to third, it's just like putting it in neutral. The motor will rev to the redline or it will idle, depend on your right foots action.



Is the cable that runs from the tranny to the throttle linkage connected?
Yes, adjusted properly

garrettrowe
April 15th, 2005, 09:34 AM
Ok, if the manual shifting tests work fine you should pull the soleniods and check them for leaks - new ones aren't that expensive either. If the test fails you should take the car to have the line pressure checked. (or do it yourself if you have the tool) I saw your post in the other tranny thread and you said you had some work done to the valve body? What did they change?

rakkasan
April 15th, 2005, 09:44 AM
Ok, if the manual shifting tests work fine you should pull the soleniods and check them for leaks - new ones aren't that expensive either. If the test fails you should take the car to have the line pressure checked. (or do it yourself if you have the tool) I saw your post in the other tranny thread and you said you had some work done to the valve body? What did they change?


Stiffer springs, no driling. When changing the seals, can that be done with the tranny still in the car?

garrettrowe
April 15th, 2005, 10:01 AM
yes, you can get to the solenoids with the tranny still on, just drop the pan:

http://www.cygnusx1.net/supra/library/TSRM/at/AT_051.html