PDA

View Full Version : !! Runs Very Rich When Warmed Up P L E A S E Anyone Help !!



PorterzSupra
October 29th, 2005, 10:01 PM
I got my 88 Supra about 4 weeks ago. Recently I have been having this problem. I will be driving everythings fine but when car reaches normal temp it suddenly starts running very rich and starts to stumble and will choke up with fuel untill it floods out and dies. When this happens it also smokes alot it will get so flooded it wont restart for a while. Could this be O2 Sensor? A/F box on the intake pipe?? things to note, I have put a high flow cone on, boost controller and turned the air screw on the A/F counterclockwise on the box so it was all the way out according to the directions on here in order to run more boost without FC. Also 3 inch pipe all the way. Thats about all I cann think of PLEASE... ANYONE HELP ME I cannot drive my Supra now and cant afford to bring it to a shop its my ONLY CAR. The check engine light came on too but I dont have a checker. ONE MORE THING TO MEANTION.. it started only choking up when I would brake or corner maybe a loose wire!!?? PLEASE HELP!!! -- Eric My Email addresss is Ericjr579@aol.com THANKS FOR LISTINING -- Eric

shaeff
October 29th, 2005, 10:52 PM
you didnt remove the 'honeycomb' part on the front of the AFM right? (it needs to be there)

try unplugging your cold start injector. see if that helps. or try unplugging the CSI time switch.

-shaeff

PorterzSupra
October 29th, 2005, 11:34 PM
Yes the honeycomb part is still intact. where is the cold start injector and the CSI time swich? thx -- Eric

shaeff
October 29th, 2005, 11:53 PM
cold start injector is in the middle of the upper intake manifold, on the inside of the runners. if you look from your driver's shock tower, you can see it in there.

the Cold Start Injector time switch is on the thermostat housing. its right on the very top, sticking straight up. i believe it is the only sensor there with TWO wires.

-shaeff

PorterzSupra
October 30th, 2005, 07:30 AM
thanks, im going to try them right now ill let u know what happens -- Eric

PorterzSupra
October 30th, 2005, 07:53 AM
Found the CSI time switch and unpluged it but still the same. I could not find the CSI main plug. Is that the one thats hard to get to down on the side of the engine bay kinda near the starter? ONE MORE THING I REMEMBERE, it started off only doing it when I would brake or corner, loose wire!? The engine was overhauled they did a quick job, had to put my starter wire back on it fell off the other day.

PorterzSupra
October 30th, 2005, 09:24 AM
Hey guys or should I say guy lol thx for your help. I finally got to the bottom of the problem. There is some sort of sensor on the passenger side bottom thermo housing. Its a green plug with green and brown wire... hey theres alot of green and brown wires on this car huh? anyway it was not really unpluged but just slightly uncliped I bumped it by mistake and heard a click because it went in and I was like omg maybe thats it. I guess when the engine heats up that senses it and has somethin to do with the mixture??

mrnickleye
October 30th, 2005, 11:29 AM
The sensor you are talking about with the loose connector is the ECU temp sensor. It must be connected and working properly for your car to run right. I was gonna sugest that you check the sensor, but loose connection is even easier to fix. You lucky fellow !! :biglaugh: