PDA

View Full Version : seems to good to be ture


BrandonW
06-08-2008, 06:39 PM
now a friend knows i like supras and i own my own 89t that my parents have owned since it came out and he spotted a add in the paper which i believe was a pa news paper if not, nj, but the person left a email and a small picture of a 94 supra, six speed turbo and this is the email i got back:

Hello,
Sorry for mailing you so late!
I'm glad that you're interested in my car. The car is street legal and accurate. It comes with all the documents needed for registration, it has a clear title and it can be registered into your name at any time. I am willing to sell it for $4800 .This buy now price does include the shipping and insurance fees. I'm located in Billings, MT and the car is here as well and so this is where the car will be shipped from. I've done some research and the best and fastest way I can ship it is using Hemisphere cargo Shipping Ltd which takes between 4 to 6 days to arrive at your door (door to door handling and shipping insurance fee included). I am affiliated with Yahoo! Finance where I have a purchase protection account for $ 10,000.00. This service allows us to complete this transaction in a manner that is quick and safe for both of us. It acts as a third party between seller and buyer to insure that both parties comply to transaction requirements and provides dispute resolution and mediation between parties. Yahoo! Finance is responsible to insure that both parties comply to transaction requirements. If this is ok with you please reply with your complete name, address and shipping address in your next email and let me know if you are interested in knowing more details about this purchase so that I can open a transaction case at Yahoo! Finance and move forward with this deal.
Thank you,

http://mail.google.com/mail/?ui=2&ik=81fedf8c47&attid=0.1&disp=inline&view=att&th=11a5cde16b882fef

tell me what you guys think lol because i was like whoa now that car should go for way more then $4800 but i was like hey maybe this person doesn't know about the car, but then there is a few non stock body parts on the car so i don't know but i would like to have both if this was a legit deal

IJ.
06-08-2008, 06:44 PM
Scam

BrandonW
06-08-2008, 06:47 PM
the picture did not work in my first post so here is what the car looks like

Big Wang Bandit
06-08-2008, 06:48 PM
ask for pics of him with a watermelon on his head.

MassSupra89
06-08-2008, 06:50 PM
^^Yup. the only way to tell if he's legit.

BrandonW
06-08-2008, 06:51 PM
Scam

ha i figured since its such a low price, i was like if that is true i would scoop that car up so fast

strange that it was in the paper, so i was like hmm maybe this is real but come on now the price is so low considering

BrandonW
06-08-2008, 06:52 PM
ask For Pics Of Him With A Watermelon On His Head.

Lol

IJ.
06-08-2008, 06:53 PM
For $4800 free I'd guess he'd get the pic ;)

NO ONE is going to sell a Mk4TT for that and as for "maybe this person doesn't know about the car" that's what he wants you to think......

SCAM
just in case you missed it

BrandonW
06-08-2008, 06:54 PM
oh i know about the cars price range ive seen some in worse condition go for three times 4800

IJ.
06-08-2008, 06:56 PM
The gearbox is almost worth that ;)

BrandonW
06-08-2008, 06:58 PM
i also mentioned that i would like to arrange a time and place to see the car and maybe go for a test drive but nothing was said about that when this person responded to me, just that the person could ship it to my door

Zerocool
06-08-2008, 08:37 PM
total scammer they say you cant see the car but if you pay them what they want they will ship it to you! I wouldnt be waisting my time id just report it and move on...

SupraMario
06-09-2008, 05:10 PM
I've got a bridge I'm willing to let go for cheap.

foreverpsycotic
06-09-2008, 06:18 PM
People pay almost that for the gearbox

Ftfy

suprahero
06-09-2008, 07:40 PM
Sorry dude, but I just sent him an email and offer's him $5200.00. You snooze, you lose.

BrandonW
06-09-2008, 10:15 PM
Sorry dude, but I just sent him an email and offer's him $5200.00. You snooze, you lose.

oh noes :aigo: lol

suprahero
06-09-2008, 11:58 PM
WOOOOOTTT!!!!!!

He just sent me a return email informing me that if I wired him $5500.00 instead of the $5200.00, that he guaranteed to have it at my door in three days instead of five to six. I should be driving this baby by this weekend..............:eek3dance

Wills7MGTE
07-06-2008, 11:44 PM
maybe its missing a drivetrain, brakes, interior, and wiring harness for the chassis..........or it's a SCAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

arz
07-10-2008, 03:14 PM
Tell him "THATS GREAT!!! Because you have a cousin in Montana that can come over and take a look at it TODAY!!! Ask if he will give you his exact address and the address of the car."

cartel1_950
07-10-2008, 03:24 PM
that TRD hood is alone worth more than 4800. and that yahoo finance thing has been coming up in alot of car scams lately. is it legit or what? a buddy found a 67 vette fully restored with immaculate body, interior and a new engine shipped from NY to alberta for 3300$ and they quoted that yahoo finace.

sorry for the side note. but scam for sure