TomTom Icon

Poodles

I play with fire
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 22, 2006
Messages
16,757
Likes
1
Location
Fort Worth, TX
#1
Well, I noticed with the newer patch to my TomTom that it had new car icons instead of just the arrow.

So, being curious, I looked into it, and using the toon cars from here, you can make your own supra icon!

It's a BMP, and if you go into your TomTom manually, put it in the art\cars folder.

Doubt this is gonna get tons of hits being in this part of the forums... but it is the right place.

Anyways, here's a picture through the TomTom app (you can use the device through the computer), and I uploaded the actual icon so it will stay a .bmp

Enjoy!
 

Attachments

suprakid24

Turbo'd
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
521
Likes
0
Location
Texas
#2
Wow that's pretty cool, wonder if my D3 could do that. Does it only work from the back, or does it work from overhead too?
 

Poodles

I play with fire
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 22, 2006
Messages
16,757
Likes
1
Location
Fort Worth, TX
#3
Nope, can't change the symbol in the overhead view. Not that I like the overhead view AT ALL, so I never use it...
 

Poodles

I play with fire
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 22, 2006
Messages
16,757
Likes
1
Location
Fort Worth, TX
#8
If I had one to mess with I might be able to figure it out...

If you hunt around in the unit manually (like I already mentioned, they're like large flash drives) and find the icon for the your location, you might be able to change it.
 

GrimJack

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
12,377
Likes
3
Location
Richmond, BC, Canada
#9
Meh. Did some digging. The Garmin units use a very different file format - not a conventional picture, it's actually a crapload of pics squashed together, so they can do the 360 degree rotation bit.

I'd need to find a decent Mk3 wireframe, then render 72 images as it rotates through the full 360 degrees, then convert those stills into the right file format.

However, they do already offer a crapload of icons: http://www8.garmin.com/vehicles/bundles/allvehicles.html
 

GrimJack

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
12,377
Likes
3
Location
Richmond, BC, Canada
#11
Ya, I remember that. Have to dig around, see if I can find them...

Or, considering the size, it wouldn't be much work to modify another wireframe with enough Supra features that it would be obvious...

The best one is the broom. I'm SO tempted to pick up another Garmin for my mom and change the icon to the broom. SO TEMPTING...
 

suprarx7nut

YotaMD.com author
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
4,044
Likes
67
Location
Arizona
#15
Meh. Did some digging. The Garmin units use a very different file format - not a conventional picture, it's actually a crapload of pics squashed together, so they can do the 360 degree rotation bit.

I'd need to find a decent Mk3 wireframe, then render 72 images as it rotates through the full 360 degrees, then convert those stills into the right file format.

However, they do already offer a crapload of icons: http://www8.garmin.com/vehicles/bundles/allvehicles.html
Dude....



Chipotle Burrito. YES.
 

Raptor Racing

Member
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
534
Likes
0
Location
Toronto
#16
Badass...going to hook this up on my TomTom asap. Hopefully can be done with the others units as I'm not at all impressed with the TomTom's and will be looking for another unit in the future.
 

EthanMKIII

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 5, 2008
Messages
102
Likes
0
Location
Vancouver
#19
I just got a Tomtom today and i already did this turned out great! Jw where did u get the little icon i was wondering if i could make my own to match my actual car alittle better.
 

EthanMKIII

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 5, 2008
Messages
102
Likes
0
Location
Vancouver
#21
Thanks man, i had a idea i was wondering if i could make it so when its not telling me where to go it would show a pic or a supra logo kinda like a screen saver? anyone know how to do it?
 

theKnifeArtist

Fire on High!
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 6, 2006
Messages
2,332
Likes
0
Location
North Jersey
#24
i got a garmin nuvi. i like the tank icon the best out of their bunch. the burrito is way too large i think..heh
and also, i find the tank pretty appropriate when driving the supra around :biglaugh:
 

Poodles

I play with fire
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 22, 2006
Messages
16,757
Likes
1
Location
Fort Worth, TX
#32
3D scanners are pretty cheap now, but you'd need to find a good scale model of a MKIII to use it on...
 

GrimJack

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
12,377
Likes
3
Location
Richmond, BC, Canada
#37
A model of a Supra. If I can get a 3D computer model, I can generate the frames required for a Garmin icon... I have the model, although I haven't assembled it...