T61 Bolt on Turbo by Cx Racing

gamer565

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 8, 2008
Messages
30
Location
KS
:biglaugh:
I may not be able to push it to its limits but, ill save money:x:

Actually ill more then likely get some 550cc before anything, but i just spent $300 for new calipers/brakes/rotors and a front left spindle. So it will all have to wait atleast another month or so.
 

LordLo

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 20, 2006
Messages
242
Location
OR
I am running one, but the T4 .84 V-band version, it's been on for 3 years so far. Only complaint is that it lags a bit more than the small ct26, full boost at ~4k rpm.
 

thevork

ShoarmaTeam Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 28, 2005
Messages
657
Location
Vroomshoop, Netherlands
I am running one, but the T4 .84 V-band version, it's been on for 3 years so far. Only complaint is that it lags a bit more than the small ct26, full boost at ~4k rpm.
How many miles on the turbo and how much boost? (not the max boost you ever archieved, but the boost you run when you drive it 'daily' )
 

IwantMKIII

WVU MAEngineering
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
2,477
Location
Perkasie, PA
I am running one, but the T4 .84 V-band version, it's been on for 3 years so far. Only complaint is that it lags a bit more than the small ct26, full boost at ~4k rpm.
Pics? Whats the shaft play? And I could have a turbo 10 years and it have 400 miles on it, so a little more specific on usage?
 

paradox616

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
472
Location
Melbourne, Australia
i'm prepared to test one out for the community, if it breaks then ill deal with it then! will most likely will be in a few months.
 

paradox616

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
472
Location
Melbourne, Australia
:blah: <--we've heard a lot of this with comments like these
my ct26 just sucicided...

i dont feel like spending $$ on rebuilding it just to be back where i started. i will be ordering one either tomorrow or the day after... happy? :p

i just did some calculations and this turbo looks to be a good match for the 7m, ill be interested to see how it performs.

its hard to tell but it says the outlet is 2.5", from the pictures it doesn't look it. looks more like 2.25".
 
Last edited:

WhtMa71

D0 W3RK
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
1,813
Location
Macon, GA
Cool. Keep us updated. Be sure to post some pics when you get it in your hands.
 

Black

New Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2009
Messages
10
Location
Karlstejn
Alright guys I already bought it :p But you have to wait a little bit because I still rebuilding an engine....
I will post some photos tomorrow...
Oil and water cooled... Somobody see original CT26?? it have only two inlets and it IS oil AND water cooled... it using one inlet for oil feed and drain at once...
 

paradox616

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
472
Location
Melbourne, Australia
having said that black, will it bolt up to the factory hard lines? the one listed on the site is different...


because im in a different country on the other side of the world might take 2-3 weeks for mine to arrive. :)

does not look like it has coolant lines from this picture 1 hole usually means 1 way :p, the ct26 has 2 holes per flange plate.

 
Last edited:

stay.tuned

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 31, 2009
Messages
6
Location
san diego
hey guys I'm in need of a turbo to complete my setup I just purchased the turbo should have it this week when I get it I'll take alot of pic and give you as much info as I can later.
 

Justin727

T-virus infected
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
2,885
Location
GPT/BILOXI, Ms.
Yea no joke would love to see if this turbo performs better then the ct of course. Hopefully it last. Wouldnt mind recomending it to a friend once we get more people running it
 

IwantMKIII

WVU MAEngineering
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
2,477
Location
Perkasie, PA
my ct26 just sucicided...

i dont feel like spending $$ on rebuilding it just to be back where i started. i will be ordering one either tomorrow or the day after... happy? :p

i just did some calculations and this turbo looks to be a good match for the 7m, ill be interested to see how it performs.

its hard to tell but it says the outlet is 2.5", from the pictures it doesn't look it. looks more like 2.25".
Outlet appears 2.5". If its not, well that's just absurd for that size wheel and housing. and yes im happy but ill be more happy when its on and running so expedite that thing!

Be sure to include LOTS of pics, detailed. Video if possible, HD preferable :icon_bigg. And get that thing running QUICK!



Alright guys I already bought it :p But you have to wait a little bit because I still rebuilding an engine....
I will post some photos tomorrow...
Oil and water cooled... Somobody see original CT26?? it have only two inlets and it IS oil AND water cooled... it using one inlet for oil feed and drain at once...
If you have it, post some mock up pics or something.
 

paradox616

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
472
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Outlet appears 2.5". If its not, well that's just absurd for that size wheel and housing. and yes im happy but ill be more happy when its on and running so expedite that thing!

Be sure to include LOTS of pics, detailed. Video if possible, HD preferable :icon_bigg. And get that thing running QUICK!



If you have it, post some mock up pics or something.

I'm fitting my after market ECU and upgrading my fuel system while i'm at it then it will be towed to my tuners and i can provide dyno graphs when all finished, unfortunately the scope of this work is going to take the rest of the year. so i can provide fitting issues/oil line set-up only initially. after all id rather do it right than run it on a stock tune and blow something up.
 
Last edited:

Black

New Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2009
Messages
10
Location
Karlstejn
having said that black, will it bolt up to the factory hard lines? the one listed on the site is different...


because im in a different country on the other side of the world might take 2-3 weeks for mine to arrive. :)

does not look like it has coolant lines from this picture 1 hole usually means 1 way :p, the ct26 has 2 holes per flange plate.

Sorry still dont have time to make photos... Yes it fit on exhaust perfectly but you need to modify oil feed. I hope to send some detailed photos tonight ;)
 

Poodles

I play with fire
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 22, 2006
Messages
16,757
Location
Fort Worth, TX
I think it's funny that they show it with a stock elbow... Because of the design of the exhaust housing and the stock elbow, it's going to hinder the wastegate flow possibly causing dangerous boost spikes. Testing would have to be conducted, but keep it in mind!

Big mouth elbow/DP or a DDP with the divider cut off (and the gasket that will match the shape, like the ones that come with the chinaman DDP's) would be ideal.
 

IwantMKIII

WVU MAEngineering
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
2,477
Location
Perkasie, PA
^^ya i was thinking this as well. Stock elbow would be very very bad with this turbo.


...still waiting on those pics...hint hint black :)
 

Black

New Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2009
Messages
10
Location
Karlstejn
OK first sorry for my english ;)
Radial and axial clearances looks fine...

I cant show you photos on engine because it is in workshop so I take only a parts of exhaust....

It fits without any problem absolutly same as original CT26:





This weld look really awful:



Down side of turbo. This is oil drain:



Original oil feed and drain dont fit (holes for bolts are in wrong place):



Upper side, CT26 have water feed and drain on this place but this turbo have here an oil feed:



Turbo come with restrictor almost same as Garrett using on ball bearing turbos but this is journal bearing.. dont know why:



This is what turbo came with:



Restrictor:

 

Poodles

I play with fire
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 22, 2006
Messages
16,757
Location
Fort Worth, TX
I think it's funny that they show it with a stock elbow... Because of the design of the exhaust housing and the stock elbow, it's going to hinder the wastegate flow possibly causing dangerous boost spikes. Testing would have to be conducted, but keep it in mind!

Big mouth elbow/DP or a DDP with the divider cut off (and the gasket that will match the shape, like the ones that come with the chinaman DDP's) would be ideal.
Also, it's a oil only and the stock feed and drain will NOT work.

Ninja edit: OK, now I'm worrying, I see zero evidence that any balancing was done...
 

Black

New Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2009
Messages
10
Location
Karlstejn
Also, it's a oil only and the stock feed and drain will NOT work.

Ninja edit: OK, now I'm worrying, I see zero evidence that any balancing was done...
What evidence of balancing you want? On first photo you can see black line on compressor wheel, nut and center stick (dont know how to call it in english :-D ) so yes, I believe it is balanced but it is from china so who knows :icon_razz
 

IwantMKIII

WVU MAEngineering
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
2,477
Location
Perkasie, PA
Also, it's a oil only and the stock feed and drain will NOT work.

Ninja edit: OK, now I'm worrying, I see zero evidence that any balancing was done...
According to the site its "computer balanced" and if it was out of balance it would break in a matter of days probabaly in which case there is a 90day warranty given it doesnt get to you engine if that happens.

Bolt on my ass:3d_frown:

The oil supply and drain have been well discussed in this thread, it should not be a surprise. The fact they have a turbo like this with a bolt on housing with a larger turbine wheel on top of it for the price is amazing. Thats why there is so much interest....Don't complain over a oil feed/drain setup, you can easily find a kit for this "issue". If this turbo does somehow manage to prove itself, it will really take off for what it has to offer compared to other options out there that retail 3x as much for the same thing....

Not to stomp on their (companies that produce Boss and such) toes since they simply didn't copy but hey...at this point these things have to be expected in todays copy-cat market.


********PS, Black thank you very much for the pictures. Keep us updated. A word of advice, if you get a chance, take it to a trusted turbo builder and have them check it out for you. Maybe even check the balance if they can for not that much $$. Don't know what's incorporated with that but it will give you ease of mind and give us some info as to the quality.
 

Supra_Villan

needs his car done
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 10, 2007
Messages
662
Location
Wellsville MO
switch out to a non restricted feed and give her hell!!! good luck man. You "typical" owners make me cringe ;) lol.
 

Neodeuccio

Addicted to boost...
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
849
Location
Schenectady NY
A word of advice, if you get a chance, take it to a trusted turbo builder and have them check it out for you. Maybe even check the balance if they can for not that much $$. Don't know what's incorporated with that but it will give you ease of mind and give us some info as to the quality.
That's a great idea, if possible. I'd love to see what they have to say about it.

And Black, Iwant's right, you're the man for doing this for us, and we appreciate it.
 

paradox616

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
472
Location
Melbourne, Australia
+1 nice pictures :)

can you please take a more direct picture to show us how the oil return line flange matches up to the bolt holes, im sure it can be drilled to suit.

can you measure the outlet of the compressor housing? and the inducer size as well, the stock ct26 inducer is not 3" its slightly smaller.

i ordered one 2 days ago, its currently being shipped.
 

87witmoreboost

Officially HKS'd
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 27, 2007
Messages
323
Location
New Hampshire
This is much like the HKS Sport Turbo that I have that was just rebuilt. I got it very cheap AND got a smoking deal on the rebuild and i'm still into it for $800+.

If this turbo works well, it will BLOW up on the forum (no pun intended).

Edit: And black, you're the man.
 

Black

New Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2009
Messages
10
Location
Karlstejn
Balance check.... yes this is good idea I should try it.

New holes for oil return flange... No there is not enough material. Will make photo tomorrow...

I dont have measuring tool here so outlet and inducer size will be here tomorrow ;)

For those unbelievers... Guys I dont believe to this think too :evil2: but someone have to try it ;) and price is really interesting. There is high possibility I will use GT35R after this die in first thousand miles... Yes I know it.

Now it take me about 3weeks to complete engine... Maybe more I have really lots of work in my company now :icon_evil Maybe Paradox send first experience from real duty ;)
 

toyotanos

What will we break today?
Staff member
Super Moderator
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 29, 2008
Messages
2,842
Location
Coon Rapids, MN
Just go out to Ebay again and get a oil feed + drain kit. Doesn't have to be the best, but it'll be better than trying to re-use the stock lines. You will need an adapter to go from the block feed to -4an, though.
oil line kit
Something like that might do well, just get an adapter for the oil feed. Plus you can re-use the lines for any future t3/t4 turbo you bolt on!