Steven89's Build Thread *no 56k!*

steven89

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
895
Location
Houston, TX
:p Im too lazy to get started on it right now! :D Just got back from a SAT prep course. But i have a few things laid out on the to-do list today. Such as - Put a turbo on, change oil, retorque head studs. MAYBE mold prosports into stock cluster.
Should be interesting.
 

steven89

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
895
Location
Houston, TX
buckshotglass said:
That's not finished, right?;)
Maybe? :p















Of course not! hahah, im just dreaming. A bit skeptical to chop up the gauge cluster :aigo: I see you've done yours in your build thread though. Got any tips or pointers? :1zhelp:
 

steven89

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
895
Location
Houston, TX
gtsfirefighter said:
Why didn't you just make some 6.5 speaker mounts?
Because I had these 4" from my old car. And I love em! :p Plus what i noticed in my old car was that these didn't have much bass, I have a small woofer in the back of the supra now. So this should sound pretty good. :)
 

steven89

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
895
Location
Houston, TX
:) First off, heres what the speakers look like in the door.




I also installed my CD player from my old car. :)



Annddd then while I wired stereo, I decided I wanted the foglight mod done. :)



So heres the actual progress today, I wired up my prosport gauges. All of the wiring is ready for them, with the exception of the sensor wires for water temp and oil pressure.

Heres how I have them setup for day time (lights/markers off)


And heres how I have them setup for night time (lights/markers on)


And I also trimmed the Lotek A pillar gauge holder to fit the car perfectly. But I thought it was pointless to take a picture of it since we all already know what it looks like :p

No turbo today :( My friend didnt call me back so I didnt get it.

More updates tomorrow if time permits me to work on it. :D

Enjoy!
 
Last edited:

thechori

supra-deprived
Authorized Seller
Joined
Oct 3, 2006
Messages
567
Location
houston
ownij, you've gotta help me with the speaker install, and the foglight mod. ;]
 

NgoFcukinWay

Formerly Got Boost?
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 3, 2005
Messages
493
Location
Houston, Tx
thechori said:
ownij, you've gotta help me with the speaker install, and the foglight mod. ;]
I have an inline fuse if you need one. lol. you could get it for cheap at O'Reilly's though.
 

steven89

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
895
Location
Houston, TX
Update - Turbo on, turbo smokes. But its only temporary until i get my .57gt rebuild. :p
Thank you Got Boost for letting me use your turbo. I really wanted to get the soup back on the road. :)

Next problem - Turn signals dont work.. hmm What could cause that? Maybe i knocked a relay loose while doing foglights?
 

thechori

supra-deprived
Authorized Seller
Joined
Oct 3, 2006
Messages
567
Location
houston
Got Boost? said:
I have an inline fuse if you need one. lol. you could get it for cheap at O'Reilly's though.
is that for the foglight mod?

nice job gettin that biotch runnin
 

Bluechulappa

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 16, 2007
Messages
839
Location
hOUSTON
Lookin good. I can't wait till you get your 57 trim. I wanna ride in it! Then I'll have to save up!
 

steven89

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
895
Location
Houston, TX
:D yeah! 57 trim should be fun. :)

Update - Turn signals work, was the hazard lights not being plugged in, took me all of 5 minutes to figure that one out. :p

My dad wont let me drive it everyday because the school messed up with getting me my recent progress report [great.. i know] So yeah this is awesome.
 

steven89

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
895
Location
Houston, TX
buckshotglass said:
Tell your dad taking your car is no longer an option. If you are expected to exist as a human, you need a car.
Yeah, ive tried something in that swing. He doesnt believe me when I say that the school messed up. I mean, shit ive even been in the office to try to get it. My school just sucks and is horribly un-organized.
 

steven89

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
895
Location
Houston, TX
buckshotglass said:
It's not about the school. It's about what he is taking away. It's your ability to work, and do the things he is giving you shit about not doing.
How can you be reliable in any way if your car is taken away at random?
I say stop the madness.
Well its not taken away in the sense that I cant touch it or work on it. Its taken away in the sense that I cant drive it. You see, our deal is I make a 3.0 gpa, I keep car. With no progress report to prove that, hes going to assume below 3.0. So yeah, if you mean something else. Im just not understanding it. [so clarify if you would]
 

Poodles

I play with fire
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 22, 2006
Messages
16,760
Location
Fort Worth, TX
FYI my turbo smoked when i put it back on, it went away though...

get working, I want to see you at the next Austin meet (when the hell is it? LANCE??!?!?)

New clutch is in, cooleeze pipes are....kinda in. Found out they don't quite fit with the stock airbox, so Apex'i intake was overnighted (not from japan).

We'll see if she holds together this time...

Anyway, I'd recommend a TRD shift knob (feels like stock, but it's a bit heavier, so it shifts nicer), and do the rewire to make the side markers blink with the turn signals (people beside you can't see a turn signal!! it really helps)

Retorque your subframe bolts, and go over everything with a fine tooth comb. You could have gotten away with a cometic if you cleaned your block really well (I did, but I might just be lucky), but you have to get the head done at least, so next time you have to do it...

Be thankful you have people around you to help you, I don't have anybody to help around here...
 

steven89

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
895
Location
Houston, TX
Poodles said:
FYI my turbo smoked when i put it back on, it went away though...

get working, I want to see you at the next Austin meet (when the hell is it? LANCE??!?!?)

New clutch is in, cooleeze pipes are....kinda in. Found out they don't quite fit with the stock airbox, so Apex'i intake was overnighted (not from japan).

We'll see if she holds together this time...

Anyway, I'd recommend a TRD shift knob (feels like stock, but it's a bit heavier, so it shifts nicer), and do the rewire to make the side markers blink with the turn signals (people beside you can't see a turn signal!! it really helps)

Retorque your subframe bolts, and go over everything with a fine tooth comb. You could have gotten away with a cometic if you cleaned your block really well (I did, but I might just be lucky), but you have to get the head done at least, so next time you have to do it...

Be thankful you have people around you to help you, I don't have anybody to help around here...
Yeah, I didnt have much help when I did the HG. And, next time it blows its either 1jz or 1.5jz.. :-D

as it stands now, i wont take it to the cruise not with the turbo acting like it is now. But other than that, im all for it! :) We just need Lance to organize another! :)
 

Poodles

I play with fire
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 22, 2006
Messages
16,760
Location
Fort Worth, TX
bah, sellout...

7M 4 evar!!! (that and I'm too finacially involved with the 7M, it's cheaper to do a buildup than it is to do an engine swap at this point)
 

Datsrboi

Loud pipes Save Lives
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 31, 2007
Messages
797
Location
Haltom Texas
Poodles said:
bah, sellout...

7M 4 evar!!! (that and I'm too finacially involved with the 7M, it's cheaper to do a buildup than it is to do an engine swap at this point)

I rather do a good build on a 7M then buy a used 1JZ for the same price used and not knowing what the last owner did with it.
 

steven89

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
895
Location
Houston, TX
Well ive toyed with the idea of built 7m instead, but stock a 1jz or 1.5jz handles more than id want [as far as power goes] and its wayyy more stable in my opinion. But we'll see how I feel, this 7m I have now just wont die.. :p
 

angrydrone

I'm a real Canadian
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
156
Location
Ft. Worth/College Station
Datsrboi said:
I rather do a good build on a 7M then buy a used 1JZ for the same price used and not knowing what the last owner did with it.
Doesn't matter what the last owner did with it, it will be able to make power and not bhg or rod knock.
 

Bluechulappa

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 16, 2007
Messages
839
Location
hOUSTON
steven89 said:
Well ive toyed with the idea of built 7m instead, but stock a 1jz or 1.5jz handles more than id want [as far as power goes] and its wayyy more stable in my opinion. But we'll see how I feel, this 7m I have now just wont die.. :p
7M FTW
 

steven89

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
895
Location
Houston, TX
Id have to agree with angrydrone. Ive never seen/heard of a bad 1jz from japan, no matter how bad the supplier. well actually a couple.. but the 7m is worse.
 

Poodles

I play with fire
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 22, 2006
Messages
16,760
Location
Fort Worth, TX
tru dat, but I HAVE heard of bad 1J's (hacked harnesses all the time), BHG and rodknock will happen to any poorly maintained engine...
 

steven89

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
895
Location
Houston, TX
Poodles said:
tru dat, but I HAVE heard of bad 1J's (hacked harnesses all the time), BHG and rodknock will happen to any poorly maintained engine...
yeah.. but hacked harness, BHG, Rodknock comes on 7ms too.. so its equal. If i still had a USDM 7m in my car, i wouldnt consider it as much. but i dont. so yeah. :p
 

Poodles

I play with fire
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 22, 2006
Messages
16,760
Location
Fort Worth, TX
true true... but someone like me... it's cheaper to stay 7M...

not saying I can't get another supra to put a different engine in though :evil2:
 

steven89

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
895
Location
Houston, TX
Poodles said:
true true... but someone like me... it's cheaper to stay 7M...

not saying I can't get another supra to put a different engine in though :evil2:
a 1jz can be had for pretty cheap now though. So yeah. :p Have you ever ridden/driven one yet? Its a blast, compared to 7m. :D
 

NgoFcukinWay

Formerly Got Boost?
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 3, 2005
Messages
493
Location
Houston, Tx
steven89 said:
yeah.. but hacked harness, BHG, Rodknock comes on 7ms too.. so its equal. If i still had a USDM 7m in my car, i wouldnt consider it as much. but i dont. so yeah. :p
I have rod knock and a semi hacked harness for my 7M. lol