Removing multiplex from 7MGTE for less than $200

Funkycheeze

Grease Monkey
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 3, 2009
Messages
164
Likes
1
Location
Calgary
#1
Note: This was originally posted to the AEM forums as a means of removing the multiplex igniter when using the 30-1110 PnP EMS. However, it is a good solution for a 3 channel igniter for many standalone systems.

First, some background:

I have a built 7MGTE swapped into a Mk2 supra, and had been running on the stock computer/electronics adapted to work in the A60 chassis (with everything including the twin speed pump control and a tach adapter to use the 7MGTE tach signal with the mk2 tach installed). A few weeks ago I took the plunge and installed the AEM EMS. I am using the GM IAT and MAP sensors to run speed-density. As a side note, I have been using the 2JZ-GE waste fire coils which mount on top of 3 of the plugs and have short plug wires to hook up to the other 3. The plug is identical to the stock igniter, and the dwell etc. is close enough to run just fine, at least on the stock electronics.

After I got the car running, I had to fiddle around endlessly with the coil dwell settings to minimize the misfire I was getting from the stock igniter due to the multiplex issues, but they never completely went away. I was looking at ordering the AEM CDI ignition, but was loathe to spend the money since I already have a HKS TwinPower box.

So I did some research, and found out that the igniter from the same setup as the coils I am using (98 and later 2JZ-GE) is a pretty standard 3 channel smart igniter with the correct tach output to drive the 7MGTE tach - it is called a 'DH61 igniter'. Turns out that Toyota figured out that multiplex was a bad idea, and hasn't used it since the 7M.

After a discussion on the phone with AEM tech supprt, and a couple hours with EWDs for the 7MGTE and 2JZ-GE 'donor', I figured out how to made an adapter harness using the two plugs off a 7MGTE igniter, and the big 10 pin plug from the 2JZ-GE igniter. The only 'extra' wire is one that goes from the 10 pin to ground, and in some cases, the 10 pin plug only has 9 wires as it is from a car without a tach, which means you can either install another molex style pin and cut a hole in the rubber plug, or just move the wire and connector from IGf on the ignitor, since the AEM computer ignores this pin. I am including wire colors for the IS300 and GS300, although you will notice the pin positions are identical for all DH61 igniters. This fix, including the wiring postions and colors on the body side, is identical for all years of 7MGTE.

As a side note, this will NOT fix misfiring issues related to a bad CPS - watch the 'sync errors' field in the cam/crank parameters as you drive (and get misfiring) and make SURE it is not incrementing. I also reccomend a MAP sensor that is NOT mounted to the manifold, as this causes a very 'dirty' signal that can also cause running issues.

You can get the igniter and plug from Toyota ($$$) or from a wrecker. I picked one up, with the plug and some wiring, from a wrecked 2004 GS300 for $150 CAD.


On to the wiring:

Body Plugs____________________________________DH61 Igniter

4 Pin Input____________________________________10 Pin(GS300)_________10 Pin(IS300)
IGf (Not required)__LG-B__Pin Position #1___->____IGF__B____Pin Position #4__B-L
IGt (Coil #1)______LG____Pin Position #2___->____IN1__B-Y__Pin Position #7__GR-B
IGdB (Coil #3)_____L-W__Pin Position #3___->____IN3__B-R__Pin Position #5___B-Y
IGdA (Coil #2)_____L-B___Pin Position #4___->____IN2__B-L__Pin Position #6___B-R

6 Pin Output
Coil #2 Out_______L-Y___Pin Position #1____->____C3___B____Pin Position #2__G
Coil #1 Out_______L-R___Pin Position #2____->____C2___B-R__Pin Position #1__B-R
+12V/Coil Common_B-O___Pin Position #3____->____+B___B-W_Pin Position #9__B-W
Coil #3 Out_______Y_____Pin Position #4____->____C1___W___Pin Postion #10__B
Tachometer Out___B_____Pin Postion #6____->____TAC__B-Y__Pin Position #8__N/C
______________Wire to good ground point___->____GND__BR___Pin Position #3__BR


For the 'Pin positions' and wire colors, remember for the DH61 igniter plug they are looking from the open end of the plug, numbered left to right with the 'clip' at the top, and for the 7MGTE ignitor plugs they are for the MALE connectors of the ENGINE HARNESS on the 7MGTE, reading left to right, then the next row down left to right, again with the clip at the top, looking at the open end of the plug. This means for the ignitor plugs (female side) you read the plugs from the back end (where the wires come out) again from the left to right, then the next row down, ignoring the wire colors on this end. Or you can use the male side as a reference, or both. Coil #1 is cylinders 2&5, Coil #2 is 3&4 and Coil #3 is 1&6.

You can refer to the mk3 TSRM for the plug positions /mk3 wiring here
http://www.cygnusx1.net/Supra/Library/TEWD/MK3/manual.aspx?S=Main&P=40
http://www.cygnusx1.net/Supra/Library/TEWD/MK3/manual.aspx?S=Main&P=41

The plug on the DH61 is really easy, just remember 1-10 from left to right facing the open end of the plug. It is often numbered on the wiring side anyways.

And don't forget to ground the brown wire to a good grounding point - I grounded it to the same point as the HKS TwinPower. As a side note, any ignition amplifier (like the TwinPower) can be left in place, wired as it was before. Unless you have a CDI system that can operate as a stand alone igniter, in which case I reccomend you wire that up directly to the ignitor inputs/outputs as per its instructions, so you don't need to use the DH61.

I mounted it using a M6 capscrew to one of the stock ignitor mounting holes - had to drill out the mounting hole in the DH61 a tiny bit.


AEM software setup:

-Enable Coils 2 and 3, check off both knock inputs
-Using the Dwell wizard, select '93 - 98 3.0 non turbo'
-Disable Multiplex ignition
-Set Cam/Crank spark teeth to 12
-In Ignition phasing, set IGN Tooth #1 = 0.5, #2 = 4.5 and #3 = 8.5

EDIT JULY 2017
As per my post on page 18, my DLI died and I looked up some better dwell data, as it is actually a dumb igniter. I found ideal dwell for the coils is 3.6ms, so after selecting the dwell wizard as above, under dwell options change;
-Dwell factor to 18
-max teeth to 3.6

This gives you 3.6ms dwell to 5000 RPM and dropping after that (2.6 at 7000 RPM) which works really well.

Also you can set ignition phasing at 0, 4 and 8 teeth (0 for the coil driving 1&6, 4 for the coil driving 2&5 and 8 for the coil driving 3&4) as long as you then adjust the overall phasing up 0.5, or just do the timing setup wizard again with a timing light.
END EDIT

At this point the engine should start as it did before - don't forget to double check your base timing.


Results:

The missing is completely gone, and the car feels smoother thru all rev ranges. I don't know if this is a result of using an igniter 'matched' to the coils I am using, or due to the elimination of multiplex - but I can tell you that no matter the coil type (7MGTE or 2JZGE), this 'fix' WILL eliminate misfiring due to the multiplex system. It also operates the stock tach properly, and does not require rewiring of the coil harness, or 'hacking' of the engine harness - just a couple plugs with wiring from the old igniter, and the new igniter with plug and wires.


Toyota part numbers:

89621-30020 - Igniter
90980-11653 - Housing, Connector
82998-12440 - Terminal, Connector (each, you will need at least 9, 10 if you are picky and want to wire up IGf)
 
Last edited:

Halsupramk3

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 4, 2005
Messages
444
Likes
0
Location
Mississippi
#4
Multiplex Ign sux major ass.

Gixxer and i have been discussing this and then i saw this thread. I got a gs400 ignitor i think, a DH62. Actually is a DS 62 and works fine. Aholes at the junk yard charged me $50 with pig tail. it does not have a tach wire. i put a AEM large pin in the hole with a wire. the DH 62 has different color wires coming out of the ten pen (9 used) and i had to convert the wire colors over. the pins do the same thing just different wires colors. i also took a 7M ignitor apart and the wires are labeled in the 7M ignitor so i could convert those colors too. I then made a jumper harness with the 10 pin and the cut off 6 pin and 4 pin 7M ignitor plugs. i used the above numbers to convert my aem map from multishit to smooth ingintion and reset timing.

It idles smoother and runs smoother. i do have a boost problem now tho. may be my clutch slipping or my wg duty %. installing the ignitor wizard may mess with the aem program and i dont know it. I will see..

edit: found out i had cut the power wire to #6 when converting to sequential at same time and that was my miss and stubble problem. I also probably wired the harness wrong but when i fixed it i still had a miss from a undiagnosed #6 injector with no power. all fixed now and is an amazing difference.

Every mk3 owner with an AEM or other standalone should go sequential injection. also getting rid of multiplex is awesome. i still have 7m coils but will go cop soon.

DS62 or 61 ignitor is a must mod for any mk3 AEM car.
 
Last edited:

Halsupramk3

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 4, 2005
Messages
444
Likes
0
Location
Mississippi
#5
funkycheeze

you stated
"AEM software setup:

-Enable Coils 2 and 3, check off both knock inputs
-Using the Dwell wizard, select '93 - 98 3.0 non turbo' - as it is a smart coil this constant dwell works best."

when you say check off both knock inputs you mean off as in has a check mark there or are left unchecked?
thanks
 

bfr1992t

The quiet one
Authorized Seller
Joined
Oct 29, 2005
Messages
271
Likes
0
Location
Ohio
#6
Wow, great work FC! This has been on my long list of shit to do but I've been obsessing on going to 6 channels/coils and attempting to use Inj #10 "as coil".

For the GS300, assuming it has to be a second gen '97-05 to get the distributorless 2JZ.
 

Funkycheeze

Grease Monkey
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 3, 2009
Messages
164
Likes
1
Location
Calgary
#7
Yes, It needs to be a 2JZ-GE with the distributorless waste fire ignition, so from '98 onward.

And for the knock inputs, I mean check the boxes, as in you need to enable the knock correction for all 3 coils instead of just coil 1
 

Halsupramk3

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 4, 2005
Messages
444
Likes
0
Location
Mississippi
#8
for the 6 pin connector its pin position 1 is coil #2 output and this corresponds to the dh61 C3 on position #2. then 6 pin of the 7m position 2 is coil #1 and this corresponds to the dh61 C2 on position #1 pin. then 6 pin connector pin 4 is coil #3 and corresponds to C1 on pin 10 on the dh61. what are C1, C2, and C3 on the dh61 vs the 7m ignitor coils and why dont they have the same numbers as in coil #1 is C1 and coil #2 is C2 etc.
whats the deal?
 

Funkycheeze

Grease Monkey
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 3, 2009
Messages
164
Likes
1
Location
Calgary
#9
for the 6 pin connector its pin position 1 is coil #2 output and this corresponds to the dh61 C3 on position #2. then 6 pin of the 7m position 2 is coil #1 and this corresponds to the dh61 C2 on position #1 pin. then 6 pin connector pin 4 is coil #3 and corresponds to C1 on pin 10 on the dh61. what are C1, C2, and C3 on the dh61 vs the 7m ignitor coils and why dont they have the same numbers as in coil #1 is C1 and coil #2 is C2 etc.
whats the deal?
It's because the coil numbering procedure vs. the actual cylinders fired by that coil differs between the two systems. You can certainly wire it up C1 - coil 1, C2 - coil 2 and C3 - coil 3, but then in the AEM setup you need to set tooth 1 to 4.5, tooth 2 to 8.5 and tooth 3 to 0.5

I found this out the hard way when I made the adapter harness the first time.

In the 7M, coil 1 = cyl 1 & 6, coil 2 = 2 & 5 and 3 = 3 & 4 as they are numbered left to right on the coil pack 'bracket'
for the 2JZ-GE, coil 1 = cyl 2 & 5, coil 2 = cyl 3 & 4 and coil 3 = cyl 1 & 6 as they are numbered front to back on the engine, and the coils are mounted on cylinders 2, 4 and 6 respectively.
 

Halsupramk3

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 4, 2005
Messages
444
Likes
0
Location
Mississippi
#10
ah, i was suspecting that. i guess one could also say that coil 1, 2, and 3 are the same it is just that toyota plugged different plug wires into each one for the 7M. you could rearrange the plug wires on the 7m to a different located coil if it was wired wrong as the ignitor really does not know what set of plugs is going off. of course thats a guess on my part and can be wrong. still a lot to learn about ignition calcs.
 

Funkycheeze

Grease Monkey
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 3, 2009
Messages
164
Likes
1
Location
Calgary
#11
Yeah you could move the plug wires around but some might be a little long or short, so it wouldn't look as neat.

I'm also using the 2JZ-GE wastefire coils that sit over 3 of the plugs, so I had to wire it up as above.
 

X-man

member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 5, 2005
Messages
309
Likes
0
Location
Pulaski,Va
#12
I priced one of these ignitors through Advance Auto and new they weren't but 298.00 which still isn't bad when you consider having to spend 50.00 for an MSD tach adaptor to other ignitors.
 

Halsupramk3

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 4, 2005
Messages
444
Likes
0
Location
Mississippi
#13
so your original set up post is for how you wired the 2jz ge cop plugs with COIL physical order of c1=2 & 5, c2=3 &4, c3=1&6 you wired in 7M ignitor 6 pin plug to 10 pin DH plug as follows

coil #2 plug output to C3 pin #2 on the 10 pin ignitor DH 61 or DH 62
coil #1 plug output to C2 pin #1
coil #3 plug output to C1 pin #10

this requires an ignition phasing setting coil option 1,2,3 on with both knock 1 and 2 check marked and
ign tooth#1 is 0.5, coil 2 ign tooth is 4.5, and ign 3 tooth is 8.5 and the car runs for 2jz ge cop waste fire coils which are physically installed in the different order labeled above. the physical order being different from 7m coil pack is not something i initially picked up on and that did cause problems in ignition phasing. (car runs like crap)

FOR 7M COIL OEM PACK which has a phisical order of c1=1&6, c2=2&5, and c3=3&4 then i can wire into the ten pin DH61 or DH62

coil #1 plug output to C1 pin #10 on the 10 pin DH ignitor
coil #2 plug output to C2 pin #1
coil #3 plug output to C3 pin #2

am i correct as
this requires an ignition phasing coil option of 1,2,3 on with both knock 1 & 2 check marked and
ign tooth #1 is now 4.5, coil 2 ign tooth #2 is now 8.5, and coil 3 ign tooth #3 is 0.5?

this would make the pins all match as if stock of c1 to coil 1 etc and have the correct firing order in the aem?

currently i have my 10 pin to 7M 6 plug and 4 plug wired as yours is (coil #2 = C3, coil #1 = C2 etc) and using the original Ignition phasing inputs and it runs like crap. i will change ignition phasing to c1 is 8.5 which you mentioned earlier and probably wire it in later as c1= coil #1 etc and change the ignition phasing inputs as required.

what you think?
 

Funkycheeze

Grease Monkey
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 3, 2009
Messages
164
Likes
1
Location
Calgary
#14
Too much confusion!

Ok, for the guide I posted on the first page, The coils are as follows:

Coil 1 = 2 and 5
coil 2 = 3 and 4
coil 3 = 1 and 6

So it makes no difference if you have the stock 7M coil packs, or the JZ waste fire COP setup. You still need to wire in the way I first described, and then set coil 1 tooth = 0.5, coil 2 tooth = 4.5 and coil 3 tooth = 8.5.

If you want to wire C1 -> coil 1, C2 -> coil 2, C3 -> coil 3, then you need to set coil 1 tooth = 4.5, coil 2 tooth = 8.5 and coil 3 tooth = 0.5.

Dont forget to change 'spark teeth' under the cam/crank sensor options to 12!

Frankly, If you first wired it as I described in my post and set the AEM as described, it should run. Messing around with the tooth values after that will just cause it to not run at all. Make sure you check your base timing!

The wierd numbering order for the waste fire 2J coils only applies to the 2J wiring diagrams - building the adapter harness as described gets everything back to 'normal' for the 7M.
 
Last edited:

X-man

member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 5, 2005
Messages
309
Likes
0
Location
Pulaski,Va
#15
I set mine to run off of 24 teeth. It runs fine with no issues, but a map I got from John Reed one time had it set to run off of 12 teeth. Either way will work fine, you just have to have your settings right.
 

Funkycheeze

Grease Monkey
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 3, 2009
Messages
164
Likes
1
Location
Calgary
#16
Yep - the ignitor numbers 4, 5 and 6 duplicate 1, 2 and 3 so you go:

24 teeth for ign.

tooth 1 = 0.5
2 = 4.5
3 = 8.5
4 = 12.5
5 = 16.5
6 = 20.5

ez!
 

Funkycheeze

Grease Monkey
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 3, 2009
Messages
164
Likes
1
Location
Calgary
#18
Will work with any standalone that can control a standard 3 channel igniter. In fact, I'm pretty sure the MS and/or Stinger units require a different ignition setup as they are totally unable to properly communicate with the stock multiplex igniter.

For the MS system though, the Ford EDIS modules are best.
 

Funkycheeze

Grease Monkey
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 3, 2009
Messages
164
Likes
1
Location
Calgary
#20
The DH61 igniter sets the dwell automatically based on RPM. You just need to supply it with the ignition input pulse for each channel. You may need to fiddle around with the static dwell time for the outputs of the ECU to get it to run properly - I figured it out for the AEM box.
 

TheNewRed

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
572
Likes
0
Location
WA
#21
So would 89621-33010 ignitor work? From 92-93 ES300, 93-97 GS300, 92-97 SC300, 92-93 CAMRY, and 94-97 Supra?
 

TheNewRed

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
572
Likes
0
Location
WA
#23
so we need an ignitor from a vehicle from 98 and up? will a GTE ignitor work from a 93-98?
 

Funkycheeze

Grease Monkey
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 3, 2009
Messages
164
Likes
1
Location
Calgary
#24
Yes - you need the GE ignitor from 98 and up. The GTE ignitor will NOT work as it is 6 channel.

Well, it might if you only wired up 3 of the channels, but honestly I have no idea.
 

aljordan

LEADED FUEL ONLY
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 14, 2005
Messages
466
Likes
0
Location
Indianapolis, Indiana
#25
I've picked up an IS300 igniter and can not wait to get ride of that silly miss. This will go on a stock ignition system being controlled by the AEM. After that, it's sequential injection time with the injector dynamics 1000s.

Time to use this 40r.
 

bigaaron

Supramania Contributor
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
4,692
Likes
0
Location
Pomona, CA
#26
Removing multiplex from 7MGTE for less than $2



The circuit above turns the 7M ignitor into a simple 3 channel ignitor with automatic dwell adjustment built in, for the cost of five 1N4001 diodes.
I had this circuit on my 7M making around 500whp and revving to 7500rpm, with nice smooth idle... a few years ago.
The stock 7M ignitor is a great unit, it's the AEM standalone not being able to control it correctly that's the problem.
 
Last edited:

bfr1992t

The quiet one
Authorized Seller
Joined
Oct 29, 2005
Messages
271
Likes
0
Location
Ohio
#27
Cars that still have the stock TCCS have this problem problem too. Mine did, several that Adam (drjonez) worked on did. It's likely due to noise and ringing in the wiring harness as components break down over the years. In a close to stock car the TCCS seems more resistant to it though.
 

Funkycheeze

Grease Monkey
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 3, 2009
Messages
164
Likes
1
Location
Calgary
#28
I had considered using the diodes, but with using the IS300 coils already, and a reluctance to keep using 20+ year old electronics, I decided to just bite the bullet and upgrade the ignitor to a much newer one.

Grounding the case on the AEM unit to the engine block (just by tapping the ground pins on the plugs) helps to reduce any residual missing.
 

Halsupramk3

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 4, 2005
Messages
444
Likes
0
Location
Mississippi
#29
a friend of mine installed the ds62 ignitor and if he changes the spark teeth from 4 to 12 the car dies. he has followed the instructions.

the car misses and breaks up when boosting. runs better on multiplex.

any ideas?

hal
 

toyotanos

What will we break today?
Staff member
Super Moderator
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 29, 2008
Messages
2,842
Likes
0
Location
Coon Rapids, MN
#30
I used this guide and did it to my car as we converted it to AEM, and it works great! Just be sure to go through the dwell timing wizard and select the 98+ 2JZGE setup. Pulls cleanly all the way to redline without any issues!

EDIT: I used a IS300 DH61 ignitor.
 
Last edited:

empera

<B>Authorized Vendor</B>
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
4,549
Likes
0
Location
Philly.
#31
def. night and day! still have a slight stutter but i believe it may be in the tune, other than that car runs and idles great.

thanks to hal for all the help
 

Funkycheeze

Grease Monkey
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 3, 2009
Messages
164
Likes
1
Location
Calgary
#33
Yes, as long as you use the ignitor I specified (DH61)

Hal, I have no idea - but you said DS62 ignitor, maybe it is wired differently? I have personally seen this mod work on at least 4 cars now.
 

Halsupramk3

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 4, 2005
Messages
444
Likes
0
Location
Mississippi
#34
a friend of mine installed the ds62 ignitor and if he changes the spark teeth from 4 to 12 the car dies. he has followed the instructions.

the car misses and breaks up when boosting. runs better on multiplex.

any ideas?

hal
we solved the problem. my coil harness for the 2jzge coils is slightly different than the oem 7m coil pack harness. the coils are of course waste sparking the correct two plugs. so my ignitor harness is specific to my coil harness. my ingnition phasing numbers are .5, 4.5, 8.5 and it works on my car. when i put my ignitor harness and ds62 ignitor on another car with 7m coils the ignition phasing is 4.5, 8.5, .5 so i have a wire crossed in the harness but it still works. the phasing and wiring is going to the correct coils/plugs on each system/car.

the ds62 ignitor is the same as ds61 but i think the difference is the dwell calculation being in the ignitor. just a guess but the ds 62 is more common. sure gets hot tho and i have some extra ds62s. my car is running great.
 

Funkycheeze

Grease Monkey
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 3, 2009
Messages
164
Likes
1
Location
Calgary
#35
Good to hear. I bolted the ignitor to the metal of the engine bay to help dissipate the heat - the DH61 also gets quite hot, even on a 2JZ-GE with the stock TCCS.

Like I said, with the phasing it either fires on all cylinders, or it doesn't (either 2 or 4) so once you set the phasing properly, you are golden. The phasing for my setup is 4.5 8.5 0.5 because of the difference in coil 'numbering' that I discovered, but at that point I didn't want to redo the harness. For my guide I did it so that the harness makes the phasing make 'sense', that is coil 1 being cyl.1 and cyl.6, coil 2 being 2 and 5 and coil 3 being 3 and 4.
 

Halsupramk3

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 4, 2005
Messages
444
Likes
0
Location
Mississippi
#36
Good to hear. I bolted the ignitor to the metal of the engine bay to help dissipate the heat - the DH61 also gets quite hot, even on a 2JZ-GE with the stock TCCS.

Like I said, with the phasing it either fires on all cylinders, or it doesn't (either 2 or 4) so once you set the phasing properly, you are golden. The phasing for my setup is 4.5 8.5 0.5 because of the difference in coil 'numbering' that I discovered, but at that point I didn't want to redo the harness. For my guide I did it so that the harness makes the phasing make 'sense', that is coil 1 being cyl.1 and cyl.6, coil 2 being 2 and 5 and coil 3 being 3 and 4.
when you install the sequential injection and the ign phasing is 4.5, 8.5, 0.5 on coil 1,2,3 do we need to put any ign phasing numbers in coil 6,7,8?
Or do we just put injector phasing number in for inj 1,2,3 and 7,8,9? which would work independent to the ing phasing numbers.

in other words do i need to have coils 6,7,8 on also with ign phasing numbers for sequential injection? and the 6,7,8 will have more normal phasing numbers than the out of step numbers in 1,2,3? WTF am i talking about. bettween the ing phas and inj phas and coil input numbers it is a llittle confusing why it is set up this way.

hal
 

Funkycheeze

Grease Monkey
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 3, 2009
Messages
164
Likes
1
Location
Calgary
#37
Just leave it as it is with spark teeth set to 12, and the spark tooth values the same as with batch fire injection. Setting the fuel teeth and fuel tooth values is totally separate, as in you can have 12 spark teeth for waste spark, and 24 fuel teeth for sequential injection.

the series 1 AEM can't do full sequential ignition because it only has 5 coil drivers (although people have done some serious modification to get around this) so i wouldnt bother setting anything other than the 12 spark teeth.

For the fuel tooth settings, for full sequential, you would set 24 fuel teeth, then say, if your injector numbers coincided with the cylinder number (inj 1 = cyl 1, inj 2 = cyl 2 etc.) you would set
inj 1 tooth = 0
inj 2 tooth = 16
inj 3 tooth = 8
inj 4 tooth = 20
inj 5 tooth = 4
inj 6 tooth = 12

you will also need to tweak the injector advance maps to get everything working well. Setting these values to 0.5, 16.5, 8.5 etc. will just change what the advance maps look like (they will have .5 of a tooth less advance) I just used the 0.5, 4.5 and 8.5 settings for ignition because the startup cal used 0.5 for spark teeth, and i didnt want to redo the timing on the engine, which would be off 0.5 teeth if i didnt set the ign with the extra 0.5, and it makes the guide more straightforward (no timing light required)
 

Altezza576

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
268
Likes
0
Location
New York
#38
On to the wiring:

Body Plugs____________________________________DH61 Igniter

4 Pin Input____________________________________10 Pin(GS300)_________10 Pin(IS300)
IGf (Not required)__LG-B__Pin Position #1___->____IGF__B____Pin Position #4__B-L
IGt (Coil #1)______LG____Pin Position #2___->____IN1__B-Y__Pin Position #7__GR-B
IGdB (Coil #3)_____L-W__Pin Position #3___->____IN3__B-R__Pin Position #5___B-Y
IGdA (Coil #2)_____L-B___Pin Position #4___->____IN2__B-L__Pin Position #6___B-R

6 Pin Output
Coil #2 Out_______L-Y___Pin Position #1____->____C3___B____Pin Position #2__G
Coil #1 Out_______L-R___Pin Position #2____->____C2___B-R__Pin Position #1__B-R
+12V/Coil Common_B-O___Pin Position #3____->____+B___B-W_Pin Position #9__B-W
Coil #3 Out_______Y_____Pin Position #4____->____C1___W___Pin Postion #10__B
Tachometer Out___B_____Pin Postion #6____->____TAC__B-Y__Pin Position #8__N/C
______________Wire to good ground point___->____GND__BR___Pin Position #3__BR



So If I am reading this correct...
C3 goes to coil #2 (plugs 2&5)
C2 goes to coil #1 (plugs 1&6)
C1 goes to coil #3 (plugs 3&4)

Is that correct?
 

Halsupramk3

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 4, 2005
Messages
444
Likes
0
Location
Mississippi
#39
i believe the first post says

Coil #1 is cylinders 1&6, Coil #2 is 2&5 and Coil #3 is 3&4.

remember the coils are from left to right coil 1 , coil 3, coil 2 in the coil pack

coil 1 is to c2
coil 2 is to c3 and
coil 3 is to c1 pins.
 

Funkycheeze

Grease Monkey
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 3, 2009
Messages
164
Likes
1
Location
Calgary
#40
The coil numbering is different between the 7M and 2JZ-GE, which is why you dont hook up c1-coil 1, c2-2 and c3-3

The coil numbering in the post above is for the 2J coils. If you are still using the 7M coil packs, you just need to make sure that C1 goes to the coil firing 2 and 5, C2 goes to the coil firing 3 and 4, and c3 goes to the coil firing 1 and 6.
 
Last edited: