Rebuilding your old wornout wire harness diy

Abe's 1987

Authorized Seller
I figured I'd actually contribute to the community and actually post a diy thread. Since my alternator wiring was all a mess I needed to fix it. The wiring got brittle and started breaking right at the connector. I just really wanted to keep the old connector and pins so I decided to rewire the connector. I pretty sure this works for any connector. Could also use steps in here to just swap out connector on good wiring. So here we go. Please do go easy on me as I'm not a professional at this and my work may look sloppy.

Tools I used:

Straight pick
90° pick
Neddle nose pliers
Soldiering gun
Solider

Parts needed:

I opped to keep the same wire color coating so all I needed to buy was wire which I got from Advance auto parts. The auto parts stores do have a nice variety of colors. Other then that nothing else is really needed. Here are the pictures of all I used just to show how simple it is.

20180328_120437.jpg 20180328_120924.jpg 20180328_121212.jpg

From there I cut the only one wire the connector was hanging by and sat on a comfy chair to start getting in the mess. If your just changing connector on good wires then dont cut wires.

20180328_110755.jpg

As you can see someone had already used those butt connector. I don't really like those as water gets in there and corrodes the wire.
Now here is what I'm left with to repair.

20180328_111556.jpg

I use the 90° pick to remove the rubber boots careful not to puncture them. If your just swaping out the connector just slide the boots down the wire and proceed to next step.

20180328_111710.jpg

Next I use the straight pick to depress the inner locks on the pins to remove them out of the connector. I did this process one pin at a time this way I didn't mix the wires in the connectors. Again if your just swapping connectors onto good wiring then snap old wire into new connector.

20180328_111825.jpg