Pressure Plate Bolts

Nghty89

Zombie Chicks Are Hot
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
978
Location
7 Cities, VA
Can't find this anywhere...

When switching over the R154 from my 7mgte to my 2jzge, should I re-use the bolts from the old pressure plate with the new pressure plate and flywheel? Some say buy new ones, but I can't find where to get them online and my clutch kit did not come with them. They are only torqued to 14 ft lbs per the tsrm, so they don't see much stress, right? I don't suppose any bolt with the correct thread would work?
 

shaeff

Kurt is FTMFW x2!!!!
Staff member
Super Moderator
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
10,590
Location
Around
Pressure plate bolts are one time use, as are the flywheel bolts. They're cheap from the dealership, I bought a handful of them last time I needed them. But I'll be damned if I remember where I stashed them. LOL.
 

Nghty89

Zombie Chicks Are Hot
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
978
Location
7 Cities, VA
Thank you very much, I'll be sure to grab a set first thing in the morning! I just need the pressure plate bolts, already have arp bolts for the flywheel
 

Poodles

I play with fire
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 22, 2006
Messages
16,760
Location
Fort Worth, TX
Gotta argue and say that neither one is one time use, as neither is torque-to-yeild.

Inspect them first, and then replace if needed (morons that did my clutch job overtightened and stretched mine, had to replace, but when I replaced my clutch recently i reused as they where fine).
 

mazzer

New Member
Joined
May 3, 2005
Messages
438
Location
st.louis,mo
Gotta argue and say that neither one is one time use, as neither is torque-to-yeild.

Inspect them first, and then replace if needed (morons that did my clutch job overtightened and stretched mine, had to replace, but when I replaced my clutch recently i reused as they where fine).


i agree with this post!
 

cjsupra90

previously chris90na-t
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 11, 2005
Messages
1,029
Location
Lakeland, FL
I third that motion about them not being one time use.... Like poo said, they are not torque to yeild. They are just a standard 8mmX1.25 grade 10.9 bolt.. You could even get them at an ACE Hardware if you wanted. There is nothing special about them....

I've always reused them and have never had any problems...
 

shaeff

Kurt is FTMFW x2!!!!
Staff member
Super Moderator
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
10,590
Location
Around
You guys sure? Time to do some digging. I know I read an article that said they're one time use...
 

cjsupra90

previously chris90na-t
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 11, 2005
Messages
1,029
Location
Lakeland, FL
Maybe on some cars, but I have never heard this about toyota's or most manufatures for that matter.

If they were one time use, this would be specified in the service manual same with torque to yeild bolt. Plus there would also be bolt specs such as measured length or measured shoulder diameter to determine if they have been stretched to much....
 

shaeff

Kurt is FTMFW x2!!!!
Staff member
Super Moderator
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
10,590
Location
Around
Damn. Well, thanks for the info guys. Learn something new every day! I'm still going to try to find that article I read, though. (maybe this time I'll pay attention to who wrote it?)
 

Poodles

I play with fire
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 22, 2006
Messages
16,760
Location
Fort Worth, TX
There isn't a single torque to yeild faster on our cars that I can't think of...
 

cjsupra90

previously chris90na-t
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 11, 2005
Messages
1,029
Location
Lakeland, FL
Poo, I agree.... Toyota didn't start using them until the early 90's... and only one newer stuff like and example is the UZ engines which have torque to yeild head bolts, and main studs. Even then, they are reusable as long as they are still within spec based on body diameter.....
 

black89t

boost'en down 101
Authorized Seller
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
954
Location
humboldt, ca
i reuse them plus i use red loctite on the pp and fw. the 14ftlbs iirc just makes me worry to much. i never have problems breaking them loose either.
 

shaeff

Kurt is FTMFW x2!!!!
Staff member
Super Moderator
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
10,590
Location
Around
Yep, I just scoured the TSRM, and it doesn't mention one thing about replacing them. Well, I was wrong. Cool. :)

And thanks for correcting me!
 

Nghty89

Zombie Chicks Are Hot
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
978
Location
7 Cities, VA
Sweet! Now I can just go grab some bolts lol The only thing keeping me from putting this motor in are a few random bolts here and there (like the ones for the motor mount brackets), and gaskets so I can get the water pump attached and the timing set-up. Then it decided to rain... :nono:
 

cjsupra90

previously chris90na-t
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 11, 2005
Messages
1,029
Location
Lakeland, FL
Sweet! Now I can just go grab some bolts lol The only thing keeping me from putting this motor in are a few random bolts here and there (like the ones for the motor mount brackets), and gaskets so I can get the water pump attached and the timing set-up. Then it decided to rain... :nono:
Just remember, you want grade 10.9 bolts...