Official emanage ultimate thread

935motorsports

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
2,660
Likes
0
Location
San Diego, CA
#1
Information and FAQ Regarding Emanage Ultimate



Injector lag time reference sheet : http://injector-rehab.com/kbse/lag.htm



Installation Notes:

If you have trouble with the car running rich while the water temp input is connected, change the jumper to "open", even though the manual says not to. That may fix the issue.

7MGE: http://www.supramania.com/forums/showthread.php?p=1422203#post1422203

Timing Control - works
Injector Control - untested

7MGTE:

Timing Control - can't retard more than 5 degrees.
Injector Control - no issues found in limited use

1JZGTE:



Wiring:

Taps:

Color - Purpose
Red Power 12V
Black Ground
Grey Throttle Position
Brown RPM signal
Light Blue Idle Control Valve
Blue/yellow Water Temperature
Purple/yellow Knock Sensor
Black/red Sensor/injector ground
Grey/white Crank Angle (Reference)
Grey/black Cam Angle (Position)


Splice:

Green Airflow (EMU to ECU) (MAF or MAP)
White Airflow (Sensor to EMU) (MAF or MAP)
Blue/red Injector 1 (ECU to EMU)
Blue/grey Injector 1 (EMU to injector)
Orange/red Injector 2 (ECU to EMU)
Orange/grey Injector 2 (EMU to injector)
Yellow/red Injector 3 (ECU to EMU)
Yellow/grey Injector 3 (EMU to injector)
Purple/red Injector 4 (ECU to EMU)
Purple/grey Injector 4 (EMU to injector)
Blue/white Ignition 1 (ECU to EMU)
Blue/black Ignition 1 (EMU to coil/distrib.)
Orange/white Ignition 2 (ECU to EMU)
Orange/black Ignition 2 (EMU to coil/distrib.)
Yellow/white Ignition 3 (ECU to EMU)
Yellow/black Ignition 3 (EMU to coil/distrib.)
Purple/white Ignition 4 (ECU to EMU)
Purple/black Ignition 4 (EMU to coil/distrib.)
Brown/yellow Speed (EMU to ECU)
Light Blue/yellow Speed (Sensor to EMU)
White/red NVCS (OPTIONAL)
 
Last edited:

935motorsports

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
2,660
Likes
0
Location
San Diego, CA
#3
Features:

AFM delete

AFM delete will let you log the AFM behavior vs a map sensor, maf, or throttle position. Once logged, you can paste these figures into the airflow output map.

Since it is universal, you can use any MAF, map sensor, or AFM you can find. This requires fine tuning of course. 7MGTE would be easy, you could use the factory boost sensor for speed density, but it will not show boost. If you use a factory sensor like a 1JZ, 2JZGTE, etc, it will show correct boost readings without having to buy anything else.

You then have to add your own temp sensor to satisfy the ECU, simliar to other MAF translator devices.

Emanage ultimate has a water temp and air temp correction map, but user defined, if you want to feed the stock ECU a resistor and keep it at 75F all the time. This would be better because if you do not, your tuning will fight the ECU tune as the temperature changes.

Ignition Timing Display

I am using this on NA (5MGE). You can read and log actual ignition timing as picked up by the distributor. 7MGE should be the same way. To acheive this, "NE" will be run to crank signal input and "G" will be run to cam signal. If this is done correctly, the EMU will have a straight RPM signal without requiring a tach input.

7MGE and 7MGTE will have G1 and G2, so you will have to figure out which one will work. You do not need to interrupt the igniter to read ignition timing, so you can view this even if you don't use the timing control feature. Mine will pick up noise, so shielded wiring might be ideal. Every now and then the reading will go out of wack and show something like 90 degrees. It will reset at idle or a car re-start. One of the fun "issues" with emanage. After using a better ground, this happens less.


Timing Control

Like the blue you can use timing control. As we know the 7MGTE requires the custom adapter many have posted like the blue. 5M works fine, 7MGE, have not tested yet.

You can advance and retard timing for various conditions such as boost, temperature, throttle position (launch control), and transmission shifting.

I verified the timing changes with a timing light.

Direct Injector control

You can change duration (opening time) of the injectors OR injector duty by intercepting the injectors. My car will not start with this wired in. The ECU seems to want to see the injectors. I am sorting out which resistors or adapters I will need.


Additional Injector control

Instead of upgrading injectors, you can add more injectors to be used under boost.

Launch Control

Can hold a certain RPM to launch reliably OR 2 step boost building type of launch (timing retard)

Rev Limit Increase

EMU will hold injectors open past the rev limit. I tried this once and it seemed to work but I have to try again once my injectors are working properly. Note: There will be a moment of no injection during the switch over. This about .01 seconds, so be very careful about this feature with boost. After the switchover, the injectors will continue to spray what you put in.


7MGE Note :

You can use the NVCS Output map to control when your ACIS functions. It has a RPM vs throttle position (or air flow) map.

Other features not tried:

Sequential injection (Fire each injector individually)
Sequential ignition (Change to 6 coils)
A/F Target (Will adjust injector duty or duration to reach target A/F when using wideband)
 
Last edited:

935motorsports

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
2,660
Likes
0
Location
San Diego, CA
#7
Make sure for that much it includes adding a new air temp sensor.

Also after using the EMU for a while, I see that you may want to disable or "dummy" the o2 sensor. You can use autotune from the wideband and disable closed loop entirely on the stock ecu.

This prevents problems with the stock ECU trying to take things over after a tune.
 

frontierguy25

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2007
Messages
968
Likes
0
Location
TX
#8
It does come with it. Is this something you think that I could do? When I installed my new motor I put in my new engine harness and wired up and soldered my HKS Safr and I am the only person who has ever tuned it. I haven't messed with this stuff that much, but very interested!
 

frontierguy25

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2007
Messages
968
Likes
0
Location
TX
#11
I'm not sure what you are asking?


Are you asking if you can install it yourself?
Yeah basically, I just want to see if this is something that I can do?

I've done everything with my safr myself and everything with my motor, but not much with this type of system before. I just want to get this set up and running, and wanted to see how hard it was for you to do this on your car? The system looks awesome.
 

92nsx

Supramania Contributor
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
2,957
Likes
1
Location
Clearwater, MN
#12
I also asked the same question on emanage forum. there is tons of info. on the ultimate and how/where to wire things up. There are a few members up and running with the ultimate in the UK and the down under.
Check it out, sorry I dont want to quote 350+ lines,(I dont want any more infractions) it is just easer to read it all for your self.
http://www.emanageforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1171
 

albert74

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 29, 2008
Messages
111
Likes
0
Location
Florida
#13
i bought a boomslang harness for the 1jzgte jza70 plugs for the emanage ultimate. i set the jumpers where i thought was right but for some reason my car won't start with the emanage plugged up. i've gone through the parameter menu and set what size injectors i'm running and what engine etc... but it still won't start. I don't know where i went wrong, if it was the jumpers i set wrong or if it's just a bad emanage box. Does anyone have the jumper settings for the 2jzgte? or can anyone help out with some tips for start up.
 

dunnbeetle

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 11, 2005
Messages
151
Likes
0
Location
Bemidji, MN
#15
Does anyone know if they make a plug n play harness for the 87-88 models yet? or is it still only 89+? I would really like one for my 87 if they make them anywhere. thanks.
 

frontierguy25

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2007
Messages
968
Likes
0
Location
TX
#18
Greddy, doesn't make a pnp harness for our car at all. I called and talked to a tech for about 25 minutes yesterday. They are going to send me a wiring diagram for the 89T 5 spd ecu, with the pressure sensor harness for the afm delete. There are several MK4's running this in my area and loving it with close to 800rwhp. Hopefully they will be sending over soon so I can see exactly how to wire it up. I think that has been the main thing with the EMU, no one know's how to wire it up.
 

935motorsports

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
2,660
Likes
0
Location
San Diego, CA
#19
Keep in mind that you can use the stock boost sensor for AFM delete, but it will only go up to ~14.5 psi in reading. You would still need the pressure sensor harness, then cut and splice into the stock boost sensor output.

Purchasing the Greddy sensor is not required, but makes things much easier.
 

frontierguy25

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2007
Messages
968
Likes
0
Location
TX
#20
Keep in mind that you can use the stock boost sensor for AFM delete, but it will only go up to ~14.5 psi in reading. You would still need the pressure sensor harness, then cut and splice into the stock boost sensor output.

Purchasing the Greddy sensor is not required, but makes things much easier.
Yeah, I want it to be as easy as I can, and the sensor will read more psi, now will I need the the stock boost sensor still if I get the greddy one? I'm guessing so since the ultimate is only a piggy back system
 

mini_me1209

MZ21 1jz Single Turbo
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
82
Likes
0
Location
Lethbridge
#21
i'm looking for a straight forward to the point description of how to properly replace the stock 1jz map sensor with the greddy 3 bar. Anybody have a link or willing to pm me with details? Done some basic interweb research, but all the descriptions are cluttered with garbage. Can't post on emanage forums yet since I just registered the other day.
 

cruzinbill

SC3TT
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 26, 2005
Messages
515
Likes
0
Location
Arkansas
#22
Im pretty sure you just buy the sensor and harness and plug it in to your option port on the front unhook your stocker and config it in the software. This is what i have found thru research so far. But how is it that the stock 1j map sensor only handles ~15lbs when there are people running chipped ecus higher and i dont think 2j guys immiediatly swap out their sensor when they go single either. I remember reading that it was like mid 20's im gonna have to look it up again.
 

JDMMA70

Active Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
2,666
Likes
18
Location
Houston
#23
Quick question, i want to run this system i was looking at the universal Emanage Ultimate on HPF is there anything else i need, sensors, etc to hook this up or is everything included in the universal kit.

Thanks
~JDMMA70
 

cruzinbill

SC3TT
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 26, 2005
Messages
515
Likes
0
Location
Arkansas
#24
Just the unit and the harness is needed... if u want it to connect to ur wideband u will need the wideband harness also
 

boosted1jz

in reconstruction
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
167
Likes
0
Location
alpharetta ga
#25
Im pretty sure you just buy the sensor and harness and plug it in to your option port on the front unhook your stocker and config it in the software. This is what i have found thru research so far. But how is it that the stock 1j map sensor only handles ~15lbs when there are people running chipped ecus higher and i dont think 2j guys immiediatly swap out their sensor when they go single either. I remember reading that it was like mid 20's im gonna have to look it up again.
i have a resistor looped into my 1jz map sensor so it could run more boost, had to adjust the fuel tunes with my old piggy back.... so now that im going emanage ultimate im going to use the 3bar map that it came with(i got mine off ebay package deal), now i just need to find some1 local that can tune this thing :)
 

935motorsports

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
2,660
Likes
0
Location
San Diego, CA
#26
Why would you replace the stock 1jz map sensor?

It should stay in, so that your low end responds like stock. Adding the greddy map sensor will allow you to tune for what the stock one can't handle (after 15 psi).

The ultimate will remove fuel cut, if you haven't already.

Technically, you can emulate the 1jz sensor and remove the stock one, but I don't see the reason to do this unless you want to sell off the old one and gain a few bucks.
 

frontierguy25

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2007
Messages
968
Likes
0
Location
TX
#27
I have sent off the ECU Pinout for my car to Greddy today to see what they can come up with for my 7MGTE motor. I really want a 2 step for launching off the line. They will be getting back to me on Monday or Tuesday with a full wiring diagram and will be letting me know what features I can use and can't use.
 

frontierguy25

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2007
Messages
968
Likes
0
Location
TX
#29
Ok guys here you go! This is exactly how to hook up your EMU to the 7MGTE. I have been working with them on this for a while and this is what they came up with for our cars.

I'll get some more details, but they said that this should be able to use all the features of the EMU. As soon as I get another Job, I'll be getting this!!
 

Attachments

iceberg319

vvti, what?
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 6, 2005
Messages
328
Likes
0
Location
NJ
#30
wow interesting. so we can remove the afm and use the map? does this offer full timing control just by connecting it or do we have to make a circuit like the emanage blue?
 

frontierguy25

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2007
Messages
968
Likes
0
Location
TX
#31
I'm not familiar with the EMU blue, I thought that it only was for removing the AFM and fuel tuning? But from what they have told me this should be able to control timing. To remove the AFM you will need to buy the MAP sensor harness. The diagram that I have posted is with the map sensor harness.
 

boosted1jz

in reconstruction
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
167
Likes
0
Location
alpharetta ga
#34
do i need to wire in anything for the 1jz injectors?? i think some1 was saying you need to wire in a resistor pack from the 7m or 2j?!
 

dogdrake

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
148
Likes
0
Location
Gadsden Alabama
#35
I wouldn't think you would need them for the 370cc or jdm 440cc injectors . If you have the 550cc you would. it depends on the impedance of the injectors.
 
Last edited:

red88turbo

Need more BOOST
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 13, 2006
Messages
11
Likes
0
Location
socal
#39
Does anyone have the greddy EMU up and fully running on a 7MGTE using all the features? I'm set on going with this as it looks like most of the bugs and wiring have been figured out by now, but still apprehensive. Would be nice if Greddy could update their website or at least provide the info they have publicly.
 

dogdrake

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
148
Likes
0
Location
Gadsden Alabama
#40
I have a e-manage that has a bad airflow input is there a way i can just use the add on pressure sensor instead of the airflow one input? Does it need to use that input to tune? If i leave it disconnected I have an error message when I log into the e-manage.