Need help with 1.5jz build

suprahero

naughty by nature
Staff member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
15,170
Location
Roll Tide
I've decided to install a 2jz block in my 1991 MKIII. I'm going to use pretty much everything on my car right now as it is, except for the block. I have read alot of things about the swap and I'm hoping to do this in a very timely manner, so I'm probably going to need the help of Buckshot with this one. Who else can build a MKIII and get it running as fast as he can? Just kidding Dave, you know I love you.

Things that I've purchased so far:
1jz lightweight aluminum flywheel
Toyota clutch master cylinder
Toyota slave cylinder
New braided clutch line from slave cylinder to master cylinder
New front and rear seals
New cam seals
New CP pistons +.020 with rings, and wrist pins
New main and rod bearings
New 2jz timing belt
Block is being bored +.020
Head will be reworked while I've got it out. It's already ported and polished.
I'm using my hydrofan setup.
I'm also reusing my ARP head studs. They've only been torqued down once.

I don't know which head gasket to buy. I'm going to have the block decked, and have the head checked, but it should be fine. It's never ran hot. Does anyone know which headgaket to go with. I'm using a 2jzgte block and not the Ge block. I've seen 1.2, 1.6, and 2.0 head gaskets. I thought about going with the 1.6 stopper hg, but I don't know what that will do to my compression. I'm hoping the guys at the machine shop will be able to help me with this, but I thought I would ask you guys what you thought.

My main problem is it's January the 19th, and I dont have my block back from the machine shop yet. It won't be through until wednesday or thursday. I've still got to pull my motor and tranny out, install everything onto the 2jz, install it back into my car. I've then got to break in the clutch, get it tuned, and have all of this done in time to drive to the Texas meet in March. It looks like February is going to be a busy month for me.

What I need from you guys is to let me know what I'm missing, any tips you can offer, advice or anything that might make this go smoother for me. I know I've got to buy a 2jz waterneck and have it welded onto my 1jz waterneck to make that work out, but that shouldn't be a problem. I'll post pictures up as parts arrive. I also made a short thirty second video last night of me driving my car to prove that their isn't anything wrong with my 1jz for those of you out there that would love to hear me say my 1j has rodknock........:biglaugh:

sorry this is so long.
 

suprahero

naughty by nature
Staff member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
15,170
Location
Roll Tide
I forgot to say that I'm also thinking about redoing my wiring and hiding it under the fender well. All of that wiring is a complete eyesore to me and I'd like to get rid of it if possible. This may or may not happen before the Texas meet, but we'll see. Wish me luck.
 

rakkasan

Currahee!!
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
2,997
Location
Fort Campbell, KY
New pistons? I thought you were just going to re-ring it. Hold on to your stock pistons, I'll put those in the GE so it will drop the compression & I won't have to use a thick head gasket.

As for you head gasket, I would think that a 1.2mm would work well. The only time you would need a 2mm (or thicker) is when your running GE pistons, as they have more dome, jacking up the compression ratio....
 

suprahero

naughty by nature
Staff member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
15,170
Location
Roll Tide
Mark, the gte pistons were not fit to be used. Metal has gone through the cylinder walls and the pistons are all scratched up. The bearings were paper thin, well the ones that were not gone, and the crank was fubar'd also. The ge block has been taken apart and I got the crank out of it to put in the gte block. I had to order new pistons and I'm hoping the rods are still good from the ge block because if I have to buy new rods then this project will be put on hold.

Mark, Dead is such a bummer mood.
 

rakkasan

Currahee!!
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
2,997
Location
Fort Campbell, KY
Mark, the gte pistons were not fit to be used. Metal has gone through the cylinder walls and the pistons are all scratched up. The bearings were paper thin, well the ones that were not gone, and the crank was fubar'd also. The ge block has been taken apart and I got the crank out of it to put in the gte block. I had to order new pistons and I'm hoping the rods are still good from the ge block because if I have to buy new rods then this project will be put on hold.

Mark, Dead is such a bummer mood.
No worries, replied to your PM.

LOL, this latest school I'm in has me up to at least 1am Monday-Saturday, so dead is appropriate.
 

suprahero

naughty by nature
Staff member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
15,170
Location
Roll Tide
I'm here for you Jay. If you need on site assistance, have the Biscuits and Gravy ready.
I love me some biscuits and gravy.............:yumyum:

Mark, I've met you and you need some beauty rest................:biglaugh:
 

tissimo

Stock is boring :(
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
4,255
Location
Melbourne, FL
Do you have enough play in your DP and intercooler pipes? They will have to be raised ~ 1" or so. You might get away with the play in the couplers and flex sections/rubber doughnuts, but if not, you will need your pipes modified.

as for gaskets, if you have a stock gasket, that is all you need.
 

tlo86

Ninja Editor 'Since 05'
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 24, 2005
Messages
3,914
Location
Colorado
Ive seen 2jzge heads blown (it was at a pawn shop, sc300 with an sc400 badge i am not joking either!) i saw a 2jzgte throw a rod through the block before i saw it blow a headgasket
 

bobiseverywhere

bobb'n for money
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
1,991
Location
Montreal
Wow Jay very ambitious of you. I hope the project goes well with no hiccups.

I know that TRD sells these motor mounts for the 2J they do not work with the 1J and push the engine up to high so be careful on that one. I know you have a 2J block, but i am not sure about fitment and whats needed.
 

tsuper92

supra addict
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 7, 2005
Messages
1,376
Location
mass
jay,whats this welding a 2j and 1j waterneck together?are you talking about the little extension pipe from water pump housing to waterneck?
the 2jz waterneck hangs down a little more(not much)but has a different thread size on one of the sensor's.i would weld 2 of the little pipe's together and just re-use the 1j waterneck.
 

da89soup

World I Am Gay Blue!!!
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
1,978
Location
Fargo ND
Well looks like your secret is now out Jay!! I am lucky enough to be riding with Jay to the Texas meet so any imput you guys can give that keeps me from pushing this car to Texas would be sweet!!:biglaugh: On the plus side, looks like everyones favorite build thread will be coming back!!!!::icon_bigg
 

Bigzavs

86.5 1JZ Single Turbo
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
2,267
Location
Arlington, TX
jay are you talking about relocating the fusebox when you talk about wiring? if so then its not too hard, just more annoying that anything
 

soapra

Supramania Contributor
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Apr 6, 2005
Messages
860
Location
VVTi'n, CA
Here is what you need to do this right. I have built two 1.5jz's recently.

Timming belt 2jz (new)
timming belt iddler 2jz (New)
Water neck from a 2jz (sensors work fine with your A70 guages)
2jz bypass tube from water neck to water pump
1jz stock gasket will work. (new)

The parts that are turbo related are going to be short. (dp, IC pipes,) The oil lines and water lines should work. Make sure to clean the oil filter that is on your feed line to the turbo. After the block that you are building comes back from the machine shop, it will have some contaminents in it. Have them hot tank the block a few times after all that machine work is done.


Now that you dont need the 1jz water neck, you can send it back like we agreed on when I put your turbo kit together! LOL! :biglaugh:
 

cruzinbill

SC3TT
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 26, 2005
Messages
515
Location
Arkansas
Wow Jay very ambitious of you. I hope the project goes well with no hiccups.

I know that TRD sells these motor mounts for the 2J they do not work with the 1J and push the engine up to high so be careful on that one. I know you have a 2J block, but i am not sure about fitment and whats needed.
This depends on wich combo of mounts and brackets u get. the late model or early model jz. For example I used new stock mounts when i put my 1j in my sc300, but at first i bought the 97 mounts and it sat to high. So i had to get either matching brackets or correct year mounts. So i used my Old stock mounts till my new brackets came in.
 

suprahero

naughty by nature
Staff member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
15,170
Location
Roll Tide
Thanks guys. I don't really know where to begin. I guess I'll start by ordering a new 1jz headgasket monday if Champipon is open. If not, it will be tuesday.
I've ordered so many parts in the last week for my car and Vonda's, I can't remember what I've ordered and what I haven't ordered. I have two or three lists of things ordered and things I want to order. Hopefuly I'll get it all worked out.
As for the block, the machine shop that has my motor will hopefully clean it out in the hot tank. I'll call them first thing monday morning and make sure that they do that.
I'll post pictures of the block as soon as I get it home. I'm going to take my head off monday and take it by the machine shop to have it rebuilt also. I've got one shim that must be wrong because it makes a noise right now when it's cold. It makes a knocking or rattling noise and it's directly under the intake side valve cover right where the first lobe would be. I've checked the tolerances and they seem to be between specs, but something is making a not so happy noise. It's did it ever since I put the motor in my car and it still runs great though.
Here is a dark video of the car last night. I didnt' get on it much because of the city I live in has almost as many cops as it does citizens. This is just to show I'm not pulling the motor because I have too. It only shows the ignorance of it's owner and the need for more power.........and torque.
http://s36.photobucket.com/albums/e11/supraheroes/?action=view&current=last1jzride.flv

Josh, I'm going to look back at my first buildup thread, but I think I bought new 2jz motor mounts last year. Thanks.

To everyone else, thanks alot for your suggestions and comments. Keep em coming.
 

The1

Too poor to be here..:(
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
228
Location
Austin, TX
Yet another reason to hate on Jay. :nono:
Can I have the 1j block???:naughty:
 

suprahero

naughty by nature
Staff member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
15,170
Location
Roll Tide
The 1jz block will be staying in my dungeon for the time being. It never hurts to have a back up plan...........:biglaugh:

Does anyone have any pictures of the way they did their waterneck for this swap? I would like to see what you're talking about if you don't mind.

I'm looking for as many suggestions and tips you guys may have.

Rob from Canada, do you have a build thread on your 1.5jz that I can look at? Do any of you guys have one available on here or Supraforums? Rob, how much power are you making with your setup? Thanks, Jay
 

suprahero

naughty by nature
Staff member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
15,170
Location
Roll Tide
thinking about a turbo change too
not right now. I think the gt35r will do good for me since I'm only wanting to make about 480-500 rwhp on pump gas. Hopefully I can obtain this safely at about 17-18 psi.

Here are a few things that I've bought already.




I think I'm going to play hookie from work tomorrow and work on my wiring. I'll be sure and take some pictures for the picture groupies on here. I'm still waiting on some more info and suggestions from some of you jz guys out there. Don't be shy.........:biglaugh:
 
Last edited:

suprahero

naughty by nature
Staff member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
15,170
Location
Roll Tide
what are you, a freakin drug dealer?
No, just a hard working construction guy with no hobbies other than supras.........:biglaugh:

I've also had these at the house for over a month. The new stuff hasn't arrived yet. I may end up selling drugs to help fund this before it's over though. Do you need any lortabs or oc's?
 

suprahero

naughty by nature
Staff member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
15,170
Location
Roll Tide
This will be the how too hopefully Joe and Mark. I may withold a few important factors from you two so you won't make more horsepower than me, but I'll let you know most of what I learn...........:evil2:
 

ForcedTorque

Join the 92 Owners Group
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
6,101
Location
Satsuma, Alabama, United States
A non drug using construction worker...............RIGHT! What the hell even is an OC? You got the shorthand down, don't try to fool me.

I too think you have a pretty full plate between now and Texas. Don't worry Ryan.....I bet there will be a willing and ready 7M to get you to Texas if this build isn't finished.
 

suprahero

naughty by nature
Staff member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
15,170
Location
Roll Tide
Oxycotton. They are selling like hotcakes up here........I mean, if I was trying to sell them they would sell like hotcakes...........:biglaugh:

Scott, I need support and confidence, not rational thoughts..........:biglaugh:

Justin, I have alot of reasons for the 2jz bottom, but torque is one of them I guess, even though my 1jz has alot more torque than my 7m ever had.
 

ForcedTorque

Join the 92 Owners Group
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
6,101
Location
Satsuma, Alabama, United States
Jay it's cool......you gotta pay the hired help somehow. I think it's great you get to use the total job monies on the supra, and pay the help with OC's. Stay with it, I know you and Ricky (there go some more OC's) can get it done in time.
 

suprahero

naughty by nature
Staff member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
15,170
Location
Roll Tide
If that's what it takes to get it done, I'd better go try and find some. Just say no to drugs.......unless you're on a tight deadline...........:biglaugh:
 

ForcedTorque

Join the 92 Owners Group
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
6,101
Location
Satsuma, Alabama, United States
the best advise I can give you is to do the best you can to keep your parts seperated from Vonda's 7M parts. If any part comes into question, just seal a head gasket to the part. If it slides off, it's 7M.......if not it will be yours.
 

suprahero

naughty by nature
Staff member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
15,170
Location
Roll Tide
Duly noted, but I'm not going to get any parts of her cursed 7m near my motor..........:biglaugh:
 

drewgo

Akuna MaTata...!
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 1, 2006
Messages
482
Location
South florida
No. Just looking to make more power on pump gas. That's all.

Otherwise, I would just run race gas more often.


I don't have a problem with the torque.

I do... I need alittle down low to move my 4000lbs lead-sled.

Jay.. Not a bad idea buddy. I'll be watching closely to see if I'm encouraged to take the plunge.
 

suprahero

naughty by nature
Staff member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
15,170
Location
Roll Tide
Like I said before. This car has more torque than my 7m ever had so I don't really know that I'm missing torque. I just want my car to be a little more powerful on pump gas and hopefully spool up my turbo a little quicker. I hope everything goes smoothly and I don't forget to order something causing me to wait for a week on parts.
 

suprahero

naughty by nature
Staff member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
15,170
Location
Roll Tide
That's funny Dave, but I know my brother would never post anything like that..........:yelrotflm

Shouldn't you be at the school making your wax filled styrofoam intake manifold?
 

tissimo

Stock is boring :(
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
4,255
Location
Melbourne, FL
I'm not talking about peak torque... you'll see what I mean after you get it all together ;)
 

suprahero

naughty by nature
Staff member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
15,170
Location
Roll Tide
Justin, I hope I'm loving it as much as I'm thinking I'll be loving it.....wait what?

I got a few packages in the mail today.
This first one is of a targa top that I got from too_stand. This is the third one I've had to buy because I took off with it not bolted in. Yeah, I know what ever. What can I do about it now? Paint it and be done with it.


I haven't opened it up yet. It's suppose to be red and that scares me...........:aigo:

Here's a picture of a few boxes everything came in. Some of the stuff is for Vonda's car so I won't post them in here. OOOOHHHH yucky yucky 7m parts.:biglaugh:


I've got a few more that are uploading now.
 

suprahero

naughty by nature
Staff member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
15,170
Location
Roll Tide
Well, you can never have too much lube or lubrication so here is mine.

No, I'm not going to put it in until I break the motor in, just in case you were wondering......:biglaugh:
Here is my new clutch disc. The one that's in there is still good, but while I've got it out, I'm replacing everything. I'll keep this one for later times, but I'm hoping not to need it for a couple of years.

I don't really know what these shiny things are. I hate shiny............:evil2:

I was also told my car would look better with these hood scoops located on the sides of my front fenders, so I guess I'll try it and see how it looks.........:dunno:

That's all I've got right now, but at least it's an update with pictures. I sure hope this gets me some boobies...........:biglaugh:
 
Last edited: