My Pistons Melted

crazysupra2JZ

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
740
Likes
0
Location
Georgia
#1
well... it looks like i'll be getting JE pistons sooner than i thought! i'll get pics for all to see tonight. I went to NAPA and he said i might be able to use the block still. he said they can scrape off the aluminum from the cyl and if the gouges aren't too deep then we can bore it and use it again.
 

crazysupra2JZ

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
740
Likes
0
Location
Georgia
#3
well...

i rebuilt my motor about 3,000 miles ago. and ever since i've been trying to get it to run right. the idle was all screwy. so finally in december i mess with the timing and now she ran awesome. so i got a couple friends to go for a ride since it was running so great. i mean it was running perfect. so we were on the on ramp and i opened her up. when i shifted into 4th something happened. tons of smoke started pouring out the exhaust. it sounded like a go cart that sounded like a V8... make any sense. anyway... i got her back home and parked her. well today i finally got around to taking the engine apart after i did a compression test and found that cyl 1 had only 40 psi and cyl 4 had NONE. so when i finally got the head off i saw that those two pistons were melted on one side. and now i have piston attached to the cyl. but it may be useable. i might have to go .40 over to get rid the gouges. they might not be that serious though. hopefully not. then i can go with a .20 over.
 

crazysupra2JZ

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
740
Likes
0
Location
Georgia
#5
supra90turbo said:
wow. good luck, try getting it tuned this time around.
well. i used all the stock parts. i just put new rings and bearings and stuff cause it had rod knock.
 

crazysupra2JZ

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
740
Likes
0
Location
Georgia
#7
well... this time i will get it tuned. i figured since i have to get new pistons i'm just gonna go all out. i already bought a Greddy head gasket that i can't use anymore. since i have to get the block bored. i went to toyota and bought a rebuild kit for freakin $500. i also bought a turbo and exhaust manifold.

there's a place in atlanta... aap motorsports that i'm gonna take it to and have it tuned.
 

Mr.PFloyd

I am the Super Devil
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Messages
3,964
Likes
0
Location
Mississauga, Ontario
#8
well lesson learned i guess. And what did the rebuild kit include. if im doing my math right with what im thinkin is in there, then you got a good deal.
 

Stretch

Tallest MK3 driver ever!!
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
1,275
Likes
0
Location
Toronto, Ontario
#13
Congrats, that's some pretty good damage! I hope your rebuild goes well this time around. BTW cryoslash, the kit comes with EVERYTHING! GEEZE!:icon_razz
eric
 

crazysupra2JZ

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
740
Likes
0
Location
Georgia
#14
i'm actually afraid to start it when i finish. i might just tow it up to aap motorsports and have them check it out and tune it. i don't want to melt another piston.
 

Clip

The Magnificent Seven
Authorized Seller
Joined
Oct 16, 2005
Messages
2,739
Likes
0
Location
North Carolina
#15
as long as you're going easy on it you should be ok getting it to the shop. how far away is it?
 

atlpd3147

kool member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 26, 2005
Messages
486
Likes
0
Location
Dacula,GA
#17
aap is a good shop. they are on the pricey side but u get good work for the money. u must live in southern or central georgia.
 

crazysupra2JZ

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
740
Likes
0
Location
Georgia
#18
warner robins...just below macon... i was going to buy a 2JZ manifold from them for my FFIM conversion. but after it's all said and done i'm better off getting the manifold from Ron R. at least then it comes with the Alt bracket
 

xarewhyayen

276 whp - 324 tq @ 13psi
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
959
Likes
0
Location
Philly
#19
what did you change that could have caused it? were you running any electronics that could have caused you to run ultra lean? Pistons dont just melt because they are stock... maybe you need to determine why this happened instead of replacing the internals just to suffer another meltdown. Was your fuel pump failing? were the injectors not operating properly? Is the AFM malfunctioning? Something had to go really wrong for results like that.

When you say you messed with the timing to make it run right, where did you set base timing? 20* advanced or something? Making a mistake sucks much more if you dont learn anything from it, so its probably best to determine all of the causes and learn why and how to avoid them.
 

crazysupra2JZ

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
740
Likes
0
Location
Georgia
#20
xarewhyayen said:
what did you change that could have caused it? were you running any electronics that could have caused you to run ultra lean? Pistons dont just melt because they are stock... maybe you need to determine why this happened instead of replacing the internals just to suffer another meltdown. Was your fuel pump failing? were the injectors not operating properly? Is the AFM malfunctioning? Something had to go really wrong for results like that.

When you say you messed with the timing to make it run right, where did you set base timing? 20* advanced or something? Making a mistake sucks much more if you dont learn anything from it, so its probably best to determine all of the causes and learn why and how to avoid them.
i'm going to replace the fuel pump, inj, i have a lexus afm. which wasn't in the car when i drove it. i had the timing at 10 degrees. the guy at napa said it was detonation. i was most likely running too lean and there the pistons went.

...wait a minute. maybe the lexus afm was in there. i put it in to test it out, make sure it works. i swore i took it out though right after cause i knew it wasn't a good idea to keep it in without the 550cc inj and AFPR. i'm not sure now... it might still be in there. i thought i put it in the glove box. i'm gonna have to chek now. that was 2 months ago. i don't remember. i'm gonna be so pissed if it's still in there. i know i put the stock one back in...
 

whenmunkysfly

scratch that...going 2jz
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
746
Likes
0
Location
United States
#21
crazysupra7mgte said:
i'm going to replace the fuel pump, inj, i have a lexus afm. which wasn't in the car when i drove it. i had the timing at 10 degrees. the guy at napa said it was detonation. i was most likely running too lean and there the pistons went.

...wait a minute. maybe the lexus afm was in there. i put it in to test it out, make sure it works. i swore i took it out though right after cause i knew it wasn't a good idea to keep it in without the 550cc inj and AFPR. i'm not sure now... it might still be in there. i thought i put it in the glove box. i'm gonna have to chek now. that was 2 months ago. i don't remember. i'm gonna be so pissed if it's still in there. i know i put the stock one back in...
this would explain. I feel your pain on the kit a bunch of paper and aluminum for $500 when you get your kit make sure you do get EVERYTHING. when i got it they left out little things like oil pan gasket, oil filter mount gasket,ect. just little stuff. lucky I had a freshly rebulid engine to steal the oil filter gasket off of. anyway just make sure you got it all. there is alot of gaskets there and they don't always remember to put them all in there.

edit: btw where did you have the timing at before you ajusted it?
 
Last edited:

xarewhyayen

276 whp - 324 tq @ 13psi
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
959
Likes
0
Location
Philly
#22
well, the car shouldnt just decide to run lean, so im guessing you probably did leave on the lex afm... which obviously lets much more air go by the karman pickup than the car knows about, thus running pretty damn lean on stock injectors @ stock fuel pressure. So, i think you just diagnosed your mistake.
 

crazysupra2JZ

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
740
Likes
0
Location
Georgia
#23
the timing was at 0 degrees. for some reason it had a tough time idleing like that so when i put it to 10 degrees it ran perfect.
 

turbotrev

Goin WEEEEE on my gsxr600
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Aug 7, 2006
Messages
311
Likes
0
Location
Clinton, MO
#24
LOL welcome to the club!!! i had the samething happen to me b/c of the injectors were all dirty and one leaned out really bad and away the piston went. the tune was a half ass one b/c the shop i took it to fucked me over hard and half assed everything and i over paid by 1500 dollars:cry: .

heres my lovely toasted piston


words of advice: dont just go for an all out build just replace whats needed and just upgrade the pistons and have it bored out. youll save alot of money and the stock bottom end will hold enough pwr for a fast dd. i retardedly went for the complete upgrade and now im goin to college and i have barely enough to get there. youll be happier in the end b/c youll be able to upgrade the turbo and shit, and youll still have a more reliable dd.

trev
 

SupaMan

Want The Boooooossttttttt
Authorized Seller
Joined
Oct 12, 2006
Messages
1,101
Likes
0
Location
Cape Coral,Florida
#25
same thing happened to my old n/a injector clogged and melted #2 i think it was....



atleast i think thats what happened seein as the injector for that cly was completely clogged shut. good luck with your rebuild! I didnt do that damage tho i bought it with a "blown headgasket" :icon_roll
 

xarewhyayen

276 whp - 324 tq @ 13psi
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
959
Likes
0
Location
Philly
#26
crazysupra7mgte said:
the timing was at 0 degrees. for some reason it had a tough time idleing like that so when i put it to 10 degrees it ran perfect.
Did you ground the diagnostics jumper prior to adjusting the timing per TSRM?
 

bigaaron

Supramania Contributor
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
4,692
Likes
0
Location
Pomona, CA
#27
Everyone with a turbo should have a wideband! It can be running lean with very high cylinder temps and still feel like it's running fine.
 
Last edited:

crazysupra2JZ

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
740
Likes
0
Location
Georgia
#31
xarewhyayen said:
Did you ground the diagnostics jumper prior to adjusting the timing per TSRM?
no i didn't. i didn't even see that in the manual. i had no idea you have to do that. what is the purpose of that?
 

drjonez

Supramania Contributor
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
3,061
Likes
0
Location
the motor city
#32
bigaaron said:
Everyone with a turbo should have a wideband! It can be running lean with very high cylinder temps and still feel like it's running fine.
that is sage advice....if you're going to drop the $$ on a rebuild, spend the few hundos to get a WB....:3d_frown:
 

crazysupra2JZ

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
740
Likes
0
Location
Georgia
#33
drjonez said:
that is sage advice....if you're going to drop the $$ on a rebuild, spend the few hundos to get a WB....:3d_frown:
oh yeah i will. now that i have an S-AFC i can tune the car with.
 

whenmunkysfly

scratch that...going 2jz
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
746
Likes
0
Location
United States
#34
turbotrev said:
words of advice: dont just go for an all out build just replace whats needed and just upgrade the pistons and have it bored out. youll save alot of money and the stock bottom end will hold enough pwr for a fast dd. i retardedly went for the complete upgrade and now im goin to college and i have barely enough to get there. youll be happier in the end b/c youll be able to upgrade the turbo and shit, and youll still have a more reliable dd.

trev
don't tell somebody that shit of informantion unless you know what his hp goals are. if he plans to run over 500hp then he might as well do a full build now then half ass it and build later. if i had done that i would not be happy right now. our cars go for $5K+ in average condition where i live. you know how much i bought my car for? $550. Add in the $3500 to do EVERYTHING possable in my build and I'm at $4050 total so for the less then cost of buying a runing supra I now have not only a running but built supra and as long as I don't fuck up I can just do built on's now. sorry if I sound heated but please don't tell someone to just repair what's broken before you know what their over all plans are.
 

crazysupra2JZ

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
740
Likes
0
Location
Georgia
#35
whenmunkysfly said:
don't tell somebody that shit of informantion unless you know what his hp goals are. if he plans to run over 500hp then he might as well do a full build now then half ass it and build later. if i had done that i would not be happy right now. our cars go for $5K+ in average condition where i live. you know how much i bought my car for? $550. Add in the $3500 to do EVERYTHING possable in my build and I'm at $4050 total so for the less then cost of buying a runing supra I now have not only a running but built supra and as long as I don't fuck up I can just do built on's now. sorry if I sound heated but please don't tell someone to just repair what's broken before you know what their over all plans are.
i'm with this guy... i do plan on building up to at least 500. i'm getting JE pistons, shot peened rods and everything fully balanced. along with the ferrea valvetrain. and everything else. you guys know what i'm getting at.
 

whenmunkysfly

scratch that...going 2jz
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
746
Likes
0
Location
United States
#36
crazysupra7mgte said:
i'm with this guy... i do plan on building up to at least 500. i'm getting JE pistons, shot peened rods and everything fully balanced. along with the ferrea valvetrain. and everything else. you guys know what i'm getting at.
I have JE's so far I have had no prob. how do you plan to brake it in. you going to do it hard or soft I broke it in hard and had no prob. Engine feels realy strong
 

crazysupra2JZ

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
740
Likes
0
Location
Georgia
#37
i read somewhere how to break in the car. i think it was in the owners manual. it says something like accelerate to 50 then slow down to 30 and keep doing it for like 6 times. i'm just gonna take it easy until it's time to retourque the head gasket then i'll open her up.
 

whenmunkysfly

scratch that...going 2jz
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
746
Likes
0
Location
United States
#38
crazysupra7mgte said:
i read somewhere how to break in the car. i think it was in the owners manual. it says something like accelerate to 50 then slow down to 30 and keep doing it for like 6 times. i'm just gonna take it easy until it's time to retourque the head gasket then i'll open her up.
sounds good just keep the revs down for a while.(1500miles)