MAFT install manual preview

GrimJack

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
12,377
Likes
0
Location
Richmond, BC, Canada
#1
Hey folks - I'm currently rewriting the install manual for the MAFT, and I could use your help. If you have installed one of these, are in the process of installing one, or thinking of installing it in the near future, give this a read and throw any feedback you might have my way.

Also, if you have any questions about the MAFT, especially ones that are not answered in the install guide, let me know so I can revise it to include the answers.

SO... the link you've all been waiting for. Please excuse the format, this is just M$ Word's 'Save as HTML' feature, which is more than a little lacking. I'll work on fixing the format and such next. :)

http://idriders.com/supras/maft/manual.htm
 

rakkasan

Currahee!!
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
2,997
Likes
0
Location
Fort Campbell, KY
#3
Nice Grim. I've ordered the translator & I have a 3" MAF. I can't wait to install it.

Couple of questions. I see you're using a 3" MAF also, what's you overall impressions? Smooth idle, throttle reponse, fuel cut....? Also, are you going to use a SAFC?
 

GrimJack

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
12,377
Likes
0
Location
Richmond, BC, Canada
#4
Idle is exactly the same as it was with the AFM. Throttle response is pretty much the same as well.

I've got mine tuned for Fuel cut to be somewhere above 17psi. I'm not planning on adding a SAFC, I'm certain I can get the fuel adjustments I want out of the MAFT.
 

oldschool85

1fstmk2
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
82
Likes
0
Location
Denver, PA
#5
If you would want to hook up an safc though which wires from maft feed the safc then safc to ecu??? Still unsure about this part.

charlie
 

NATAN666

yarrrrr
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 4, 2005
Messages
289
Likes
0
Location
BC
#6
Well i dont get why you would need to regulate the pressure of the fuel when doesnt this do that? since it can more accurately depict how much air is ther (or are we still just TRICKing it into thinkign theres more?)... so the ecu will up the fuel? im still kind of confused.
 

GrimJack

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
12,377
Likes
0
Location
Richmond, BC, Canada
#7
Many folks want to use a SAFC for two reasons.
1. They already own one.
2. The SAFC offers more control points than the MAFT.

Natan, are you referring to a section in the document? Like the warning on using the fuel cut frequency cap or something?
 

NATAN666

yarrrrr
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 4, 2005
Messages
289
Likes
0
Location
BC
#8
no no... just wondering why somebody would "need" to use an SAFC in conjunction with the MAF T.... i am starting to cream my jeans over this MAF T thing... you got it installed in your ride?


Ok if this works how i think it does, the knobs just adjust how much air the ECU sees? so by adjusting the knob to get more fuel, you are tricknig the computer into thinkign there is more air? and to get less fuel, the MAFT is telling the computer their is less air?

and the GM MAF sensor is just there because its more accurate than the stock one and has higher limits?

the knobs on the translator just change the readsing from the GM MAF to trick the ecu?
 

Idealsupra

Supramania Contributor
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
2,390
Likes
0
Location
Orlando
#9
grim good write up...however for ME...id like to see a blow-through setup rather then what you have...as in it placed in the IC track....

maybe ill do that when i put mine in ;)

for me the whole reason of doing the MAF other then the completely obvious is no more stalling with vented BOVs ;)
 

GrimJack

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
12,377
Likes
0
Location
Richmond, BC, Canada
#10
Hey Ideal - I'd be more than willing to give you the entire raw document, and you could add a section on the blow through install.

Natan, the SAFC isn't really 'needed', but it is more flexible than the straight MAFT, from what I understand. I've had mine installed for a couple months now, it works great - all the pictures so far are of my personal install.

The knobs (well, four of them anyhow) do exactly that, they adjust how much air the ECU thinks it is seeing. The ECU actually tunes fuel mostly from the O2 sensor output from what I understand, not the amount of air coming in. So by adjusting the knob to get more fuel, you are actually telling the ECU that there is more air coming in, and the ECU adds more fuel to try and maintain the air : fuel ratio that was programmed in at the factory.

The GM MAF sensor is used for a variety of reasons. It reads faster than a Karmen Vortex style meter, which is what we use stock. It's far less fragile than the stock sensor. It's less restrictive, and it can be run either in blow through or suck through mode, the blow through mode would allow you to vent a BOV to atmosphere without running rich on shifts. As for being intrinsically more accurate, I think the jury is still out on that one.
 

Blue87T(Dan)

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
406
Likes
0
Location
St. Clair Shores, MI
#11
Damn!

That is a great write up. Should be everything anybody needs to get it set up and running.

They should post that prominently on the site that sells them. The name of the company escapes me and don’t feel like searching it out.

Good job!

Dan
 

GrimJack

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
12,377
Likes
0
Location
Richmond, BC, Canada
#12
They will - they gave me the original install doc, and asked that I get them a copy of the finished doc for them to post.

I'll turn it into a proper web doc and get that posted here as well.

The company is Full Throttle Speed.
 

Blue87T(Dan)

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
406
Likes
0
Location
St. Clair Shores, MI
#13
Cool.

I knew it was throttle something. Kept thinking WOTM and knew that was not right.

FTS is actually very close to me I believe. Glad to see more Supra guys using the product. Your effort should help even more.

I know they make timing stuff for Buicks.

Talk them into making an in car monitor for our timing, I would pay for that in a second, since it appears there in no way for us to really have any idea how and when and to what extent, the ECU retards or advances timing.

To be able to watch the ECU do its thing with the timing, and datalog it, would be very cool.
 
B

bbaacchhyy

Guest
#14
Hi guys,

I will be installing the setup with a 3.5" LS1 MAF (alloy bodied jobbie) in draw through soon, so this guide is brilliant.

I will aim to supply some photo's if you wish of my setup (7M-GTE in a Mk2) with the LS1 MAF, as well as the settings data.

I am surprised most of you go with the 3" as the 3.5" one fits in the end of my accordian pipe easily !!

Catch ya soon

Michael B
 

GrimJack

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
12,377
Likes
0
Location
Richmond, BC, Canada
#15
I'd apreciate the photos, for sure.

The 3 inch MAF was a tight squeeze into my stock accordian hose - are you using the one from the 7M engine?
 
B

bbaacchhyy

Guest
#16
GrimJack said:
I'd apreciate the photos, for sure.

The 3 inch MAF was a tight squeeze into my stock accordian hose - are you using the one from the 7M engine?
Yes I am, and having a quick look at the pics in your install doc, I reckon that yiou are using the same unit as me, so it should bethe 3.5", as I thought the 3" MAF was a plastic body ?

I also have the electronic dwgs for the alloy LS1 MAF and the 3 5/8" plastic LS2 unit if you are interested.

Email me at michael.bachmann@gm.com if you want them

Cheers

Michael B
 

mkIIIman089

Supramania Contributor
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,061
Likes
0
Location
Columbus, OH
#17
What difference does plugging in the HAC sensor make to the way the MAFT operates? Will it perform poorly at high or dramatically changing altitudes? There are a number of ear-popping hills around here.
 

GrimJack

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
12,377
Likes
0
Location
Richmond, BC, Canada
#18
Plugging in the HAC sensor will help if you change altitude a fair bit. It would have to be a fair distance more than ear popping, though. :)

If you have a pre-89, I'd highly suggest it, as it's not much work. If you have the 89+, with the HAC built into the ECU, I'd still suggest it but you're going to need to wait a little until we can get the instructions built!
 

mkIIIman089

Supramania Contributor
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,061
Likes
0
Location
Columbus, OH
#19
mmk, I got a while till I have the massive amount of money I need with my crap ass job. This will be after my clutch installed, after the wideband, boost controller, turbo timer, etc. So take your time; I just like to know what I'm getting into.
 

mkIIIman089

Supramania Contributor
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,061
Likes
0
Location
Columbus, OH
#21
oh yea? Well I loooove my early 89 :p

This is probably one of the 1st bad "features" if you will, of my specific car.
 

Orion ZyGarian

Jeff Lange wannabe
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 2, 2005
Messages
1,490
Likes
0
Location
Sarasota, FLorida
#23
Well I resurrected this because my AFM went bad and I was thinking about going MAF-T anyways...just seeing if theres any more progress from anyone. I'll be running blow through, btw, since I have a venting type S.
 

Chris-Supra

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
168
Likes
0
Location
Minneapolis/Lakeville, Minnesota
#25
Hrmm I figure this thread would be the best thread for my question so here goes- With my current set up I am hitting fuel cut right near the top of the RPM range. All I have is a K&N Cone, BIC DDP, and 60trim CT upgrade. I plan on getting a maf/t next week so I can get some basic tuning and tune out fuel cut. I should be able to tune out the fuel cut with the maf/t shouldn't I? It will be on a dyno of course with wideband 02.
 
C

cnewingham

Guest
#29
Great write up! I wish it was around when I did mine. Just make sure that those of you with the safc and other thigs that are soldered in you keave enough room for. I have my WB, SAFC & MAFT soldered into my harness and it is tight.
 

GrimJack

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
12,377
Likes
0
Location
Richmond, BC, Canada
#30
Allan_MA70 said:
i think your BOV is in the wrong way too unless all the other photos of bosch BOV's are wrong!
I'm pretty certain it doesn't matter. I've run it both ways, and it seems to make no difference at all.
 

Chris-Supra

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
168
Likes
0
Location
Minneapolis/Lakeville, Minnesota
#31
Ok, I got mine and have it installed. I'm a little confused on how to tune the partial throttle part. I am measuring the Vf signal and it seems to jump around to much to get a fix on it. I have the base set to 2 like it says for 440's. and I get everyware from ~1v to ~2.2v to ~3.5v while going from light throttle to moderate to half throttle. Seems to hang around 3.5v then go to 2.2v with more pedal and sometimes 1v.

Any tips or suggestions, suggested settings to start at perhaps? I'd appreciate it. Thanks
Chris
 

GrimJack

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
12,377
Likes
0
Location
Richmond, BC, Canada
#33
It's still there, although the path has likely changed slightly, and a good portion of it was corrupted by a server crash I had a while back.

http://idriders.com/Supras/MAFT/manual.htm (bunch of corrupt junk at the top, but scroll down, it's still there...

Pictures (including the corrupt ones) are here: http://idriders.com/Supras/MAFT/manual_files/

I'd fix this, but I don't have the MAFT anymore, so new pictures are kind of a moot point.
 

GrimJack

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
12,377
Likes
0
Location
Richmond, BC, Canada
#36
They tell you different things.

Use vf to tune low to mid range, where your ECU is still running in closed loop.

Use your wideband to tune WOT.
 

Nghty89

Zombie Chicks Are Hot
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
978
Likes
0
Location
7 Cities, VA
#37
How many shops know how to tune with the maft? Is it a universal type thing, or specific program?

Edit: I am planning on using the maft ($199), not the maft pro
 

GrimJack

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
12,377
Likes
0
Location
Richmond, BC, Canada
#38
Not many - your best bet is to find a shop that specializes in the DSM cars - Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser. That where this idea originated from, and it's been available (and popular) for those vehicles for a lot longer. Just remember that they can't tune by knock on the Supra like they do on the DSMs.

That said, it's not rocket science, any shop that understands tuning should be able to deal with this device if they are willing to read the instructions.