If your looking to put 2JZ cams into your 1JZ, look at this

Bigzavs

86.5 1JZ Single Turbo
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
2,267
Likes
2
Location
Arlington, TX
#1
being that im now gonna be machining the 5th set of 2JZ cams, just wanted to put this out to you guys out there. if you dont wanna go through trying to find a shop to machine them, i can get them done for you for a pretty good price.

$100 to get them machined, and shipped back to you

$130 for the machining, shipping, and a new set of cam seals

thanks for looking guys, and just let me know if your interested

also, forgot to put this, youd have to provide the cams, and ship them down to me
 
Last edited:

speed

Gone. Email me.
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 27, 2006
Messages
1,045
Likes
0
Location
not here
#2
Bitchin. thanks for the headsup, might have to take you up on this in a few months.
 

86_sports_1jz

slow 700hp build...
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
1,217
Likes
0
Location
OK
#4
hey man sounds good, now i just have to find a set of 2jz cams but wait what kinda gains will i see when dropping in some 2jz cams?
 

Bigzavs

86.5 1JZ Single Turbo
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
2,267
Likes
2
Location
Arlington, TX
#5
theres a dyno graph on the site somewhere, forgot the numbers, but andrew (AF1JZ) might be able to take some vids before and after swapping his out, i did a set for him a month or so ago
 

AF1JZ

Almost civilian status...
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
3,109
Likes
0
Location
Fredericksburg, VA
#6
Bigzavs said:
theres a dyno graph on the site somewhere, forgot the numbers, but andrew (AF1JZ) might be able to take some vids before and after swapping his out, i did a set for him a month or so ago
Here's the link to the thread that I started that has some dyno graph's of other members before and after. http://www.supramania.com/forums/showthread.php?t=48095

I will be installing mine very soon. I have to get an alternator to get her running first. Then I'll do a before video with stock cams and an after of the 2jz cams installed.

I can personally vouch for Ben (bigzavs) with getting the machining done. It was a VERY quick turn around.

Maybe we can get this stickied since this topic has been brought up a lot recently.

Ben- Feel free to put the link that I posted in your original post.
 

AF1JZ

Almost civilian status...
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
3,109
Likes
0
Location
Fredericksburg, VA
#7
86_sports_1jz said:
hey man sounds good, now i just have to find a set of 2jz cams but wait what kinda gains will i see when dropping in some 2jz cams?
I'm sure you can find a set very easily over on SF (the darkside). I bought mine from Ric back in Feb for like $50 shipped.
 

86_sports_1jz

slow 700hp build...
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
1,217
Likes
0
Location
OK
#8
alright thanks, but which cams do you guys usually use for this? the 2jzge cams or 2jzgte cams?
 
Last edited:

Bigzavs

86.5 1JZ Single Turbo
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
2,267
Likes
2
Location
Arlington, TX
#12
i just got owned

which link to be exact, i just woke up and i cant really think straight right now
 

86_sports_1jz

slow 700hp build...
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
1,217
Likes
0
Location
OK
#14
o... damn thats right for got about that, but lets say we could use them do you think the ge cams would produce more power or the gtes?
 

86_sports_1jz

slow 700hp build...
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
1,217
Likes
0
Location
OK
#16
hmm... for some reason i just thought that since its n/a the cams, they would open longer, so if the ge cams are put on a gte, the cams would opened longer to bring in more air. but i guess i'm wrong?
 

becauseican

Supramania Contributor
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
1,451
Likes
0
Location
Vancouver
#17
Thats a good deal, I paid like $150 just to machine my cams locally. Its a good upgrade, I picked up about 20 hp in the top end.
 

rakkasan

Currahee!!
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
2,997
Likes
0
Location
Fort Campbell, KY
#20
becauseican said:
Thats a good deal, I paid like $150 just to machine my cams locally. Its a good upgrade, I picked up about 20 hp in the top end.
I put in a set, along with HKS cam gears & Stinger ECU, & went from 427whp to 472whp. Granted, I picked up some from the Stinger, but undoubtedly the 2J cams are a good source of power.

Unfortunately, after playing with the cam gears, the best setting for my car was 0 degrees on both cams.... No gains for a lot of money.
 

Ric

Setting the standard
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 22, 2007
Messages
1,432
Likes
0
Location
Central Florida
#21
rakkasan said:
Unfortunately, after playing with the cam gears, the best setting for my car was 0 degrees on both cams.... No gains for a lot of money.
Thats actually quite amazing... most 2jzgte stock cams work good -4 exhaust and +2 intake.

becides, titan 2jzgte cam gears are actually quite cheap, just ask for the used ones :)
 

Kosh

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
144
Likes
0
Location
Edmonton
#22
Just curious if someone could now throw up some comparison graphs for other cams and see what the diff is between stock, 2jz modded, crower, hks, JUN, etc and a lil price comparison. I tried searching for some comparison graphs of jun and hks but couldn't find any.

Thanks!
 

AF1JZ

Almost civilian status...
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
3,109
Likes
0
Location
Fredericksburg, VA
#23
Here's a link for the crower's posted up by Zazzn in a group by. There is a graph in the first post.


I really doubt that you are going to find a comparison of all those different cams with the exact car for the dyno run.
 

Kosh

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
144
Likes
0
Location
Edmonton
#24
Well, this post has pretty much already covered the diff between stock and 2jz and crowers, i'm just trying to figure out the diff between those and the big $500+ cams out there and y they're that much more expensive.
 

Kosh

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
144
Likes
0
Location
Edmonton
#27
If i were to upgrade to better cams that can bring out my power curve a lil further. How do i know when i am getting to the limits of my valve train. How can i tell when i'm starting to get valve float and how i determine a safe limit to red line at?
 

Bigzavs

86.5 1JZ Single Turbo
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
2,267
Likes
2
Location
Arlington, TX
#29
Kosh said:
If i were to upgrade to better cams that can bring out my power curve a lil further. How do i know when i am getting to the limits of my valve train. How can i tell when i'm starting to get valve float and how i determine a safe limit to red line at?
when i posted this question about a week ago, i was told that on the stock valvetrain, float would occur at 7K according to the guys that were responding.
 

Kosh

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
144
Likes
0
Location
Edmonton
#30
well thats shitty considering stock red line is 7500....pretty much have to upgrade valve train right away then...but does anyone know any actual physical indication or is it just spring rate and velocity calculations. I could use theory and calculate the theoretical acceleration of the spring, and knowing the distance it moves, get the max limit of how fast it can fully compress and uncompress thus giving me max rpm before float. but thats theoretical and we all know how real world is always different than on paper.(unless ur NASA, but then u just end up turning mars landers into craters...) lol
 

AF1JZ

Almost civilian status...
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
3,109
Likes
0
Location
Fredericksburg, VA
#31
I'm pretty sure that it will be in the 8000 range because of the 1jz redline being in the mid 7000's already.

Ric- What do you know? I remember you saying something before about where the 1jz valves float.
 

Kosh

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
144
Likes
0
Location
Edmonton
#33
How do you get rid of the rev limiter and how do you know that you don't have valve float?
 

86_sports_1jz

slow 700hp build...
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
1,217
Likes
0
Location
OK
#36
doesn't the size of the turbo play a role in when valve float occurs besides cam size?
 

Bigzavs

86.5 1JZ Single Turbo
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
2,267
Likes
2
Location
Arlington, TX
#38
well, im about to be getting a set to work on from a guy on here, and ill take some before and after pics with a digital mic, just to let you guys see