**How to wire a soarer 1JZ into MA70**

supra_mk3

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
13
Likes
0
Location
Sweden
#41
Hi I have connected everything like this but where should i connect: Black/yellow - from old alternator plug?? And Brown - from EB1?
Right now my car wont crank it just click from starter?



Wiring the M1 plug is mainly for your gauges
• Brown – Brown from IK2 (ground for cluster)
• Yellow/Black – Yellow/Black from IK1 (Oil pressure gauge)
• Grey/Green – Blue/Yellow of IK1 and Yellow/Green Is This From Altenator? from IJ1 (Engine Light)

• Purple – Black/Yellow And is this also from altenator? from IJ2 (12v switch, alt to charge batt)

• Red/Black – Red/Black from IK1 (Reverse lights)
• Yellow – Yellow from IJ2 and Red/Blue IJ1 (Speed sensor)
• Yellow/Green – Yellow/Green from IK1 (Water Temp Gauge)
• Pink – Pink from IJ2 (Speed)
• Black – Black from IK1 (Tach)


// Rasmus
 

swordofdoom

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
17
Likes
0
Location
Arkansas
#42
OK I understand the MA70 Plugs, but.....what about the 1J plugs. There are like no info that are present at the sites you linked about the soarer plugs.
I'm so lost now. Just take some pictures or get something to show us wat the IJ plugs and etc look like.

If You can do this I can link some photos on HOW to actually wire it up since im doing this right now and im kinda lost in your explanations.
 

AF1JZ

Almost civilian status...
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
3,109
Likes
0
Location
Fredericksburg, VA
#43
swordofdoom said:
If You can do this I can link some photos on HOW to actually wire it up since im doing this right now and im kinda lost in your explanations.
Sorry, can't spoon feed everyone. I'll see what I can do about getting some pics of the plugs. Been really busy for a while and don't have much time to toy with the supra.
 

Slow_Sc3

I beat bikes dude
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 2, 2005
Messages
401
Likes
0
Location
Maryland
#45
this thread is for pre 89 supra's....


and btw you might have wired the soarers coolent vsv up to the ma7x secondary o2 (7m-ge only) sensor not that it will hurt anything.
 
Last edited:

Topaz

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Sep 24, 2007
Messages
8
Likes
0
Location
Eidsvoll Norway
#47
Slow_Sc3,...you`re right. This thread including its links just wont cut it when it comes to the B1 and B2 plugs on the 89+ harness.

Color codes on the 89+ plugs are as follows:

M1 plug:
Same wire colors as the pre 89

B1 plug:
-Black/blue (big)
-Black/blue (medium)
-Black/orange (big)
-Black
-Yellow
-Red
-Black/red (medium)
-Blue/red
-Red/yellow
-Red/white
-Violet
-Green
-Yellow/blue
-Gray
-Black/yellow (medium)
-Black/yellow (small)
-Black/red (small)
-Light blue(ish)/red

B2 plug:
-Black
-Red/black
-Yellow
-White/red
-White/green

How did you 89+ folks do it?
With my newb skils, it seems like the only option is to ship the harness to get it done......Unless someone has info on which wires are to be mated with which wires from the IJ plugs and the IK plugs...color wise, plus the one wire from the VSV Water? If so, I would be grateful....actually,...I`d be like a kid when santa comes knocking.
 

Attachments

Cya

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
628
Likes
0
Location
Columbia, S.C>
#48
Are the chaser and soarer harnesses similar? My guy is having trouble completing the swap with the chaser harness.
 

customs

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 29, 2008
Messages
175
Likes
0
Location
Edmonton Ab
#50
I need to find the EB1 and EB2 plugs in the car.

There are supposed to be located on the drivers side near the junction box #2
Does anyone have a picture of where these plugs would be exactly and what they look like in the car? I know this is supposed to be for an 87 but how can these two plugs just not be used at all haha.
 

92TealSupra

Supramania's Parts Man
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Sep 2, 2008
Messages
1,584
Likes
2
Location
Great Lakes State
#52
I need to find the EB1 and EB2 plugs in the car.

There are supposed to be located on the drivers side near the junction box #2
Does anyone have a picture of where these plugs would be exactly and what they look like in the car? I know this is supposed to be for an 87 but how can these two plugs just not be used at all haha.

For the complete details go to my site I created. This will better help you understand everything and I have detailed instructions and about 65 hours of work into the process, I really didn't have any help, I had to figure this out for myself.

Freewebs.com/1jz-gte


I have a picture for you my friend
http://www.freewebs.com/1jz-gte/UNDER DASH PLUGS 008 ik1 ik2 ij1 1j2.jpg

http://www.freewebs.com/1jz-gte/UNDER DASH PLUGS 006.JPG

http://www.freewebs.com/1jz-gte/1jz issues 002 eb1 eb2.jpg
http://www.freewebs.com/1jz-gte/c1 PLUG.jpg

I hope this helps all of you!!
Pm me if you have any more questions, I would be glad to help anyone.
 

mk3design

The Name is Snakes
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 1, 2006
Messages
398
Likes
0
Location
Arizona
#53
I have a auto 88t Im putting a soarer 1jz into. I dont have my origional harness, do I need to find a pre 89? And does it matter if its from a Turbo or NA? And Im staying Auto, do I need a auto harness?

Oh and the plugs what are suppose to have 3/7 wires... mine has 4 and 8 wires! help

Thanks
 

Cya

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
628
Likes
0
Location
Columbia, S.C>
#55
Are you saying you have the soarer 1jz harness? Have you confermed that it is a soarer motor? Im saying that because the chaser has two body plugs missing for the ecu, or have the been cut? Im personally more familier with the chaser swap but im sure it applies to the soarer as well.
 

92TealSupra

Supramania's Parts Man
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Sep 2, 2008
Messages
1,584
Likes
2
Location
Great Lakes State
#57
It came with the oem jzz30 tags and it was rear sump so yeah its a Soarer engine
If you need ehlp go here

Freewebs.com/1jz-gte

This shows you what wires you will need to use and from what plugs, make sure the first thing you do is label the plugs, if you have a 'pre '89 wires will be on different plug and it is slightly harder.
 

mk3design

The Name is Snakes
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 1, 2006
Messages
398
Likes
0
Location
Arizona
#58
Well im just confused...

For the plugs by the fuse box..
The description says "1 plug has 3 wires and one has 7"
Im pretty sure these are them...1 has 4 wires(with different colors as described) and the other has 8 wires..Has the same colors but also has an extra tan/brown wire.

Then...they wire into what? One of the wires coming off the fuse box?

3 wire plug EB2

• Black – Yellow/Green from old Alternator plug and black from EB1
• White – White from Old Alternator plug
• Black/Red – Black/Red from C1 plug and Black/Red from EB1

7 wire plug EB1

• Blue –Blue from old AC connector
• White – White of C1 plug
• Black/Red – Black/Red of C1 plug and Black/Red of EB2
• Black – Black of EB2 and Yellow/Green of old Alternator plug
• Black/Orange – Black/Orange of C1 plug
• Black/Yellow – Black/Yellow of C1 plug

Does this mean what connects from one to the other such as:
Soarer wire - ma70 wire
?

Thanks for helping..sorry in advanced for being a moron
 

Attachments

JDM CRESS

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 29, 2005
Messages
80
Likes
0
Location
brooklyn, ny
#59
hey i just swapped a 2jzge from an sc300 into an mk3 and i wired it using this guide since the pinouts of the sc300/soarer body plugs seem to be the same. my problem is the car is dumping way too much gas.... its first start up it idled a bit hight but smooth... after about 30seconds the idle dropped and started surging.... i've messed around with the timing and tps since then and have gotten very frustrated over this. long story short and my current status.... the timing is correct on the car (10 degrees) the idle still surges... im able to rev somewhat but it backfires like crazy.... and for some reason when the car is cold(first start up of the day) its able to rev.

i was told that because the sc300 uses that gay ass fuel computer i would need to use a SAFC to turn down the fuel. the fuel pump in this car is gettin 12v direct with ign on.

any help will be very much appreciated

thanks
 

Kevin S. OG

SF what a waste of supras
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
1,382
Likes
0
Location
SoCal
#60
I am working on way more information on this I am swapping a soarer engine into an SC400 the connectors reach with out extending the harness also.
Here is my Doc

Let me know what you think fill in any voids in the spread sheet thanks!

UPDATE: It is nearly entirely filled out the specs of the engine is I am guessing 1992-1994 soarer engine automatic, still twin turbo no traction control & no VVTI single turbo.

If anyone could help me by filling out or telling me the last blank or two thanks!

Hey Just to let you know also this worked out great not only did I map the wires redo the harness with out extending the harness the engine is running great you have to redo the alternator wiring and add a black-orange wire for IG2 then the ca starts right up ! Here is the video thanks for your help if anyone here did & enjoy!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Il0C_cRMEG8
 

Attachments

iskrem

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Oct 1, 2008
Messages
73
Likes
0
Location
Norway, Gardermoen
#61
Does anybody have any idea where the problem is when the fuel pump does not engage when connected like the guide suggest? Is it a broken relay, fuse or something? When I connect the wires directly to 12v the fuel pump activates and works, but when I connect them the way they are suppose to they do not react at all. Any ideas?
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2009
Messages
4
Likes
0
Location
Warsaw
#62
Does it mean anything if my EB1 plug has 8 wires instead of 7...and what is the difference between all the 1jz motors like soarer and how do i tell what mine is?
 

Kevin S. OG

SF what a waste of supras
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
1,382
Likes
0
Location
SoCal
#63
Read my post?
http://www.supramania.com/forums/showpost.php?p=1381029&postcount=61

The Blue-Red wire is the traction control ECU the soarers dont have it in some cases where the sc tend to have it more offten.

I am looking into the possibility that ABS systems may still need the power somehow because it looks like some SCs have different types of ABS systems based on if it had traction control or not.
 

iskrem

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Oct 1, 2008
Messages
73
Likes
0
Location
Norway, Gardermoen
#64
I have now wired everything related to ignition and fuel. I have just started on the gauges and wired them accordingly but I get none of them to work at properly. The only thing that I can get to work partially is the tachometer, it shows 500 RPM on idle but when I press the pedal and rev to what hears like 5000-6000 RPM the tachometer displays only 1000-1200 RPM.

Anybody else had any problems with the gauges and know what I am up against? I am thinking maybe it is bad ECU or something, but I have no way to diagnostic what is wrong as I do not know how to proceed after this bump. Anybody please?!
 

Kevin S. OG

SF what a waste of supras
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
1,382
Likes
0
Location
SoCal
#65
The tach is different between supras & SCs etc. changing the resistor in them can help.
 

skefro

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2009
Messages
11
Likes
0
Location
Coeur D' Alene ID
#66
I'm working on wiring up a soarer engine into my 87 non turbo. I'm having a problem with the C1 connector. Mine is a yellow plug and has the following wires:

Black with red stripe
Black with orange stripe
Black with yellow stripe
Solid white
White with black stripe

Is this the right connector? Should I just wire up to the top 4 wires and leave the white with black stripe wire alone? Thanks in advance to anyone who can help me.
 

Kevin S. OG

SF what a waste of supras
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
1,382
Likes
0
Location
SoCal
#69
The traction control TB haves two tps sensors and a stepper motor to shut off a throttle plate causing the engine to bog down when wheels spin.
I dont know for sure but maybe the TPS might have a slightly different resistance not 100%

I am in the proccess of deleteing traction control on a 1UZ its pretty much the same as the JZ because they both where installed on the same chassie SC300/SC400 wise.

I need to delete traction control because for off roading when you hit mud or air I dont want the engine booging off or down when wheels slip very bad.
 

Mr dude

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 10, 2007
Messages
17
Likes
0
Location
Rijssen
#70
I used this guid to wire in a soarer jzz30 1jz in my 89'. Most of the wires are correct. But it seems to me that there are still some funtions unused. There are a lot of unused wires on the jzz30 harness.
E.G. what about ABS and A/C? is it working when I finish this?
And I cant find the B2 plug in my old 7m engine harness. It is in the clovebox, but it wasn't connected at the engine harness. I do have a weird wiring, because I have the grey plugs but with the pinouts from the pre <88. So that might be the reason?
 

Kevin S. OG

SF what a waste of supras
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
1,382
Likes
0
Location
SoCal
#71
Yea 89 changed the connector color
Around late 89 they changed the connectors & wiring layout.
 

ssb360

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 13, 2008
Messages
12
Likes
0
Location
Corvallis, Oregon, United States
#72
having trouble with wiring up the M1 plug it says the i need the yellow from the IJ2 and red/blue from IJ1... i looked and looked but my IJ2 dosent have a yellow wire but has a brown/yellow. would trc be part of no wire in the plug of did the color of the wires change with the years like the 7m's did?
 

92TealSupra

Supramania's Parts Man
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Sep 2, 2008
Messages
1,584
Likes
2
Location
Great Lakes State
#73
having trouble with wiring up the M1 plug it says the i need the yellow from the IJ2 and red/blue from IJ1... i looked and looked but my IJ2 dosent have a yellow wire but has a brown/yellow. would trc be part of no wire in the plug of did the color of the wires change with the years like the 7m's did?
I found this thread a little confusing before, if I get a soarer harness ever or someone ends me there's I will do a full write up on what to wire.
 

Mr dude

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 10, 2007
Messages
17
Likes
0
Location
Rijssen
#75
having trouble with wiring up the M1 plug it says the i need the yellow from the IJ2 and red/blue from IJ1... i looked and looked but my IJ2 dosent have a yellow wire but has a brown/yellow. would trc be part of no wire in the plug of did the color of the wires change with the years like the 7m's did?
I noticed the same fault. It should be the yellow wire from IJ1. I figured out most of the wiring myself because most swap reports are still containing some mistakes/incomplete, and I want everything to work as it should (didn't test it yet though)
But yesterday I found this site http://1jz-gte.webs.com/soarerharnessintoma71.htm (I believe that is your site 92TealSupra?) That is the most complete swap report. Every wire/colour matches :icon_bigg

There's only 1 wire that I'm not sure of where to connect. It's the blue wire from EB1, it says connect to old AC connector. Do I connect that one to the blue wire from C1 (That wire goes to the A/C temp switch)? Or is there another blue AC connector wire?
 

92TealSupra

Supramania's Parts Man
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Sep 2, 2008
Messages
1,584
Likes
2
Location
Great Lakes State
#76
I noticed the same fault. It should be the yellow wire from IJ1. I figured out most of the wiring myself because most swap reports are still containing some mistakes/incomplete, and I want everything to work as it should (didn't test it yet though)
But yesterday I found this site http://1jz-gte.webs.com/soarerharnessintoma71.htm (I believe that is your site 92TealSupra?) That is the most complete swap report. Every wire/colour matches :icon_bigg

There's only 1 wire that I'm not sure of where to connect. It's the blue wire from EB1, it says connect to old AC connector. Do I connect that one to the blue wire from C1 (That wire goes to the A/C temp switch)? Or is there another blue AC connector wire?
I would have to look at it again at it. I didn't have the harness very long to really see that one, I am sure that one I did do though would be correct. If I can get a part number for a jza70 harness I may buy one do a wiring schematic and then just sell it to someone after I am done. I hope to find a part number and maybe in a month or so buy one and do it for everyone.
 

Kevin S. OG

SF what a waste of supras
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
1,382
Likes
0
Location
SoCal
#77
On the AC system of my SC400 a lot like the sc300 there is a blue wire for the clutch of the AC
Then there is two wires that go to an AC speed sensor on the pump.
If you car/chassie doesnt read the AC pump speed you do not need to hook these two wires up.

I am surprised how simple it is to wire the 1UZ into the 4runner I Imagine it would be even easier to install in a supra.

I had to modify the engine harness by adding two after cat O2 sensors the harness is normaly wired into the chassie of the sc400
I had to run the wires bolted into the middle of the intake runners around fallowing the injector harness to simplify things, this is the daignostic port 3 water temp sensors 1 ISCV.
I had to add the 4x4 transfer case stuff add 1 clutch speed sensor not hook up the extra line pressure control solenoid but add a load to the ecu for it so it doesnt throw codes.
Drill a hole halfway case in the a340 tranny for the clutch speed sensor 15mm its partialy cast in the tranny i am keeping the 3vz a340 because i dont want to gut it to change tail shaft.

Swap bell housing & pump with center shaft.

Finaly on the wiring the 4runner vs the supra most of the wires get feeds from the glove box only the 4 alternator wires & starter solenoid wire go into the front fuse box area other then the battery/starter ground power wires/cables.

I must say putting a 1UZ or Soarer into a supra is about 10 times easier.

The only hard part for 1UZ supra swaps is connecting a manuel trans to them need adapter kit or custom bellhousing / flywheel / clutch.
 

Kevin S. OG

SF what a waste of supras
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
1,382
Likes
0
Location
SoCal
#79
^There is only two connectors for the ignitor no 3rd plug.

However there is a noise filter that gets grounded and is next to the ignitor it haves 2 wires to it and gets grounded it keeps the feedback noise from the ignitors from getting into your sensitive signals like radio knock timming sensors etc..

so it gets grounded on the open spade then 2 wires one is ignition power other might be ground dont know its been a while.
 

87supraguy

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 4, 2010
Messages
808
Likes
0
Location
Tucson, az
#80
again it's been asked on here and not answered unless i missed it... it there a difference between soarer and chaser harness ? i've used this guide and i'm not gettign anywhere.. which leads me to believe i may have a chaser harness... but the ecu connected to it says jzz30 but my 1jz has TRC on the throttle body?