Help cure cancer for free, join the Supra’s Folding Team!

outofstep

Senior Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
364
Likes
0
Location
fwb
#1
What’s all this folding business about? Proteins fold (it’s what they do), and when they mis-fold it causes all sorts of nasty diseases; Cancer, Alzheimers, Huntingtons, Osteogenesis, Parkinsons, etc etc.

Calculating Protein folding helps resreachers to understand how the process went wrong, and how it can be fixed. But it’s very calculation intensive. What researchers at Stanford did, was wrote a program that distributes the calculation load to many computers. This is where you come in. You install the client, and your computer will work on a little bit of the calculation then upload the results to Stanford. In essence all of our computer combined make up several supercomputers working on curing Cancer.


What’s the great thing about the Folding at Home software? It only uses CPU clock cycles that your computer isn’t using at the time. That means you will never notice it because it isn’t actively running while you are using your computer.


So how do you jump on board? Just download the client http://folding.stanford.edu/download.html , put in your name and the team you’re folding for (our Supra team is 43596) and then you’re done. It’s as simple as that.


Check out the progress that F@H (folding at home) has brought about: http://folding.stanford.edu/papers.html Over 40 breakthroughs directly attributed to the F@H project.

How is the Folding Supra's team doing? Click on this link to see the chart, and to see who all on Supraforums and Supramania are already folding: http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/team_summary.php?s=&t=43596


===================
Specific Clients, more information, etc
===================

Multi-Core Client: If you have a dual or quad core CPU, you can run the new SMP (symetric multi processing) client. This version utilizes both or all four of your cores at once. It is a massive point producer. With this client on my core 2 duo rigs, I'm pulling in over a thousand points a day since getting it running.

SMP FAQ at Stanford: http://folding.stanford.edu/FAQ-SMP.html
SMP Client Download: http://www.stanford.edu/~kasson/folding/Folding@Home Windows SMP Client.EXE

Playstation 3 Client: If you've got a PS3 Client you can join the folding too. As of system update 1.6 on your PS3 you will be able to fold. There will be a little icon for the folding that you can click to download and install the folding client. Then it's as simple as putting in your name and our team number and you're good to go. The client will in no way interfere with your gaming.

PS3 FAQ at Stanford: http://folding.stanford.edu/FAQ-PS3.html


Video Card Client: If you thought the SMP and PS3 clients were points monsters, this one is the biggest baddest one out there. If you have a ATI x1600 card or greater you can run this client. Though Stanfords recommends x1900 and above.

GPU FAQ at Standford: http://folding.stanford.edu/FAQ-ATI.html
GPU Client Download: http://folding.stanford.edu/release/FAH5.91beta4-GPU.zip
GPU Client Download for multiple GPUS (if you're running a crossfire setup): http://folding.stanford.edu/release/FAH5.91beta3-console.exe
 
Last edited:

Junior

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
143
Likes
0
Location
Ontario, Canada
#4
I fold, but sadly I'm already dedicated to another team :(

it's all good tho, inter-team competition curers the world faster.
 

Clip

The Magnificent Seven
Authorized Seller
Joined
Oct 16, 2005
Messages
2,739
Likes
1
Location
North Carolina
#5
thanks for posting this OoS, ive heard about it but never found a link where i could participate. ill be getting my new comp up and running in about a month, i dont think mine right now will be able to handle this.
 

JMDigital

Supramania Contributor
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jun 2, 2006
Messages
976
Likes
0
Location
Tampa, Florida
#6
Cool, Alltogether I have about 7 computers I can add.. I will set them up over the next few days...
 

5uprahboy

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 22, 2005
Messages
343
Likes
0
Location
Auckland
#7
JMDigital said:
Cool, Alltogether I have about 7 computers I can add.. I will set them up over the next few days...
I'm going to install this on all the MacPro's at work - quad core 2.66 zeon's must be able to churn through some good numbers.
Should have 8 of these up and running by week end :)
 

mkIIIman089

Active Member
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,061
Likes
0
#8
If anyone has a PS3, they are pretty much as good as it gets for folding.

IIRC, the [H] guys are way up top on the leaderboard.
 

masterchief819

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
258
Likes
0
Location
us
#10
Oooh I did this for a few years back in the day. Might set it up on my main comp again once I get a stable psu to handle it :p
 

SupraOfDoom

Starcraft II ^^;;
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,341
Likes
0
Location
Milwaukee, WI
#15
mkIIIman089 said:
If anyone has a PS3, they are pretty much as good as it gets for folding.

IIRC, the [H] guys are way up top on the leaderboard.
I had 2 running when I had mine and my roommates.... Needless to say I was folding more then EVERYONE, even the #1 guy, on the Supra team when they were on.

I'll fold more when I get another PS3.

http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/user_summary.php?s=&u=136474 look at my stats on 3.07

btw ps3 just hit a petaflop folding
http://www.qj.net/Folding-Home-hits-the-Petaflop-milestone-thanks-to-PS3/pg/49/aid/102856
 

outofstep

Senior Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
364
Likes
0
Location
fwb
#16
oh snap! Thanks whoever stickied this! If you've got a PS3, make sure you join up. They are folding monsters!
 

OneJoeZee

Retired Post Whore
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
5,721
Likes
0
Location
aboard the Argama
#17
outofstep said:
oh snap! Thanks whoever stickied this! If you've got a PS3, make sure you join up. They are folding monsters!
It's probably safe to say this thread won't get unstickied either in favor for some gun thread or calender thread.
 

gtsfirefighter

SM Expert on White trash
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
2,964
Likes
3
Location
Paradise, Texas, United States
#22
Am I the only one who is paranoid about this? I guess I don't understand it because I'm afraid somebody somewhere will be able to hack my computer or watch my browsing. Can I be assured this is not another "tool" for the gov't to track what I do?:biglaugh:
 

Kai

That Limey Bastard
Staff member
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 18, 2006
Messages
3,136
Likes
2
Location
Portslade, England
#27
Just to let you know, the nVidia client for the G80/G9x and GT200 GPU's has been leaked!

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=JIZ4RHN5

You need to install the latest WHQL 177.35's with the modded inf, the CUDA 2.0 BETA toolkit and the F@H app. All you have to do is follow the readme then.

I'm doing two workunits PER HOUR! The speed of this thing is INSANE! :D
 

Kai

That Limey Bastard
Staff member
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 18, 2006
Messages
3,136
Likes
2
Location
Portslade, England
#29
Have you seen our team scores recently? We're STEAMING through WU's now - i'm guessing some more people are using either a GPU or PS3 client?
 

flight doc89

Registered Murse
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 21, 2006
Messages
227
Likes
0
Location
Bessemer, Alabama, United States
#30
my computer must be made of pure fail. you guys hitting two per hour, and here I am, after running for 24 hours nonstop, I'm at 34 percent. Too bad I can't run this through my Geforce 7600's. they nothing fancy, but there are two of them :D
 

gixxer750

2jzget comingsoon!
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
2,333
Likes
0
Location
Mississippi
#31
a ps3, a quad core processor, and a dual core running at the house... I should start in on this... how much does it affect internet connection?
 

Kai

That Limey Bastard
Staff member
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 18, 2006
Messages
3,136
Likes
2
Location
Portslade, England
#32
I've had to stop running my GPU client....the GPU2 client doesn't make much use of my Crossfired Radeon's - its too buggy and produces less than my CPU in terms of WU's/day.
 

MK-111

Supramania Contributor
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Sep 17, 2007
Messages
44
Likes
0
Location
Wigan
#33
a ps3, a quad core processor, and a dual core running at the house... I should start in on this... how much does it affect internet connection?
got the gpu2 client running and the smp client on the same box, don`t even notice any change as far as the web is concerned.
 

Kai

That Limey Bastard
Staff member
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 18, 2006
Messages
3,136
Likes
2
Location
Portslade, England
#34
Bought a PS3 for folding on the Team - i'm back in the game, and once the new FAHCore comes out, i'll have two GPU's on it as well.
 

SupraMario

I think it was the google
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,462
Likes
1
Location
Nashville/Cookeville/Dickson TN
#36
well i am back on the band wagon now and Folding strong with a Core i7 and a 4870X2
I'm wondering something, how much trouble I would get in if I put folding on the open login computers in the computer labs here at school.:biglaugh::biglaugh::biglaugh::biglaugh: they are on all the time.
 

bobiseverywhere

bobb'n for money
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
1,991
Likes
1
Location
Montreal
#37
I'm wondering something, how much trouble I would get in if I put folding on the open login computers in the computer labs here at school.:biglaugh::biglaugh::biglaugh::biglaugh: they are on all the time.
they would first have to know you did it :evil2:
 

Kai

That Limey Bastard
Staff member
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 18, 2006
Messages
3,136
Likes
2
Location
Portslade, England
#38
Come on you guys - anyone here with a PS3 should set 'Life with Playstation' (Folding@Home) to be their default screensaver, so that when not playing games, it's doing something useful - like churning out WU's!

FOLD!