Fresh build problems! Need help

shadowman1977

Authorized Seller
Hey all. So I’m a tech, but this is my first ground up restore.
It is now all together, bought it not running.
I know before I pulled the motor and trans. that the clutch worked and I could run thru all the gears smoothly. During the restore, trans. sat drained and wrapped, tailshaft facing up, for 2 years.
New clutch and parts, fidanza aluminum flywheel, slave and cylinder. Bled the system. Than visually insured clutch plate moves with pedal... about 2,3 16’s of an inch.
So my problem is the shift gate is in neutral but wont go into any gears on the floor or in the air. When I turn the crank frowards the wheels go in reverse. And when I press the cluth pedal with the car on the floor it wont roll.
And I just got to the point where I was able to turn the key and give it a few spins to circulate the new fluids and was hoping the trans would pop out of fucked, got 4 seconds and the starter died. Bench tested it bad solonoid. FML! Waiting for a re-built.
I don’t know what to do at this point, any info would be greatly appreciated.
I am at my wits end and super frustrated. Got so much in this car in time and cash it’s nuts.....but I love it.

Last edited:

hvyman

Dang Dude! No Way Man.
Staff member
Authorized Seller
Pull trans. Reverse idler gear dropped down while it was standing on end.

Can try tipping it tail shaft down and bell housing up and see if it will pop out. Or pull tail shaft housing and pull it out.

shadowman1977

Authorized Seller
Pull trans. Reverse idler gear dropped down while it was standing on end.

Can try tipping it tail shaft down and bell housing up and see if it will pop out. Or pull tail shaft housing and pull it out.
I’ve had the tailshaft housing off and felt like a monkey with a wrench. Don’t know what I’m looking at...

shadowman1977

Authorized Seller
I’ve had the tailshaft housing off and felt like a monkey with a wrench. Don’t know what I’m looking at...