Figgie's build: Project Rodknox

figgie

Well-Known Member
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
5,455
Location
Shakopee, Minnesota
Ok, took some time to do some polishing.


Here we have an ATI Clear cover, not sure what was drug across the face but it was definitely abrasive

As you can see, the top part is clear, not the lower part.

20200319_132425_copy_3024x1431.jpg

This is after 1st pass on 500 grit

20200319_140506_copy_3024x1431.jpg

2nd pass at 800 grit

20200319_141757_copy_3024x1431.jpg

3rd pass at 3000 grit wet sanding

20200319_145421_copy_3024x1431.jpg

Final pass with rubbing compound

20200319_151518_copy_3024x1431.jpg

I think this would have benefited from a 5000, 8000 and 12000 pass before that but looks heaps better

Now to seal it and that is done.
 

figgie

Well-Known Member
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
5,455
Location
Shakopee, Minnesota
My OCD could not leave well enough alone...

I went to 12000 and used wolfgang uber all in one to cut, polish and seal.

20200320_095434_copy_3427x1622.jpg
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: suprarx7nut

figgie

Well-Known Member
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
5,455
Location
Shakopee, Minnesota
This is the next project for the supra I am working on. Yes I designed them myself :)

It is just a rough idea for the dash.

C1812Demo.png
 

A70nut

Active Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Sep 21, 2018
Messages
183
Location
Lexington, Ky
This is the next project for the supra I am working on. Yes I designed them myself :)

It is just a rough idea for the dash.

View attachment 83208
It would be super cool if someone could make an LCD or led screen that could take up the whole stock gauge cluster and digitize it all, but I know the stock shape would make it difficult.
 

figgie

Well-Known Member
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
5,455
Location
Shakopee, Minnesota
It would be super cool if someone could make an LCD or led screen that could take up the whole stock gauge cluster and digitize it all, but I know the stock shape would make it difficult.
That would be damn sweet.
The bad part is size needed which means price.

You are talking what Mercedez Benz uses on their current model line up which is big and then you need a way to program it (now you need programming, uix design etc).

Would be cool regardless but the Lexus UIX design is compact and works really well.

For my car, this will be the only thing for didplay. There will not be additional gauges of any sort.
 

Piratetip

Far From Maddening Crowds
Staff member
Super Moderator
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
1,993
Location
MKE, WI
Sounds like a good plan.
I tend to only really use gauges when there is an issue I am trying to diagnose or keep an eye on something I know might be failing.
Otherwise once the car is dialed in I use pretty much nothing but vehicle speed.
I like to turn off the radio, crack the windows and just hear the RPM, and engine overall.

Similar sidenote:
I wish the Tesla had a way to hide the gigantic distracting screen.
The driving experience would be that much better to just be able to drive and enjoy, minimalism.
I feel like Tesla is really missing the point on this.
The only closest way I found was to put the screen into cleaning mode, but that's not ideal.
I don't get the need for all the screens these days.
Incredibly distracting.
 

A-to-the-J

Panda™ and Pre-89 Gracer™
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
1,086
Location
Irvine, CA
Guess I’ll stop lurking. LoL. Awesome build figgie. I think I would definitely take my time if/when I pick up another A70. Probably make it a project for me and my daughter.

Have you seen the Defi Super Sports Cluster?Its pretty minimal and might be up your alley, possibly cheaper than a custom screen. It just has boost and a tach with a pretty damn customizable screen.

B1E7C548-E7E9-4FE5-B8B5-D42236C0388F.jpeg
 

3p141592654

90T
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
4,122
Location
Thousand Oaks, CA
If anything screens are getting bigger. Like this new interior from VW.
Back in 2005 I wanted to patent a configurable dashboard screen because I could see it was definitely the future. Unfortunately I found out Delphi had already patented it a few years earlier.

1585502727767.png
 

figgie

Well-Known Member
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
5,455
Location
Shakopee, Minnesota
Guess I’ll stop lurking. LoL. Awesome build figgie. I think I would definitely take my time if/when I pick up another A70. Probably make it a project for me and my daughter.

Have you seen the Defi Super Sports Cluster?Its pretty minimal and might be up your alley, possibly cheaper than a custom screen. It just has boost and a tach with a pretty damn customizable screen.

View attachment 83209
Thanks for that.

I actually put the order in for the dash already. :)

I do appreciate the input though!
 

figgie

Well-Known Member
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
5,455
Location
Shakopee, Minnesota
If anything screens are getting bigger. Like this new interior from VW.
Back in 2005 I wanted to patent a configurable dashboard screen because I could see it was definitely the future. Unfortunately I found out Delphi had already patented it a few years earlier.

View attachment 83210
Yeah, MB started the big screen thing with the s500 and now it is just going in all the cars.

Intresting that vw did it but Audi is still dragging feet.
 

figgie

Well-Known Member
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
5,455
Location
Shakopee, Minnesota
direction getting clearer as I progress on the dash design

this is pretty involved. Left to add

Oil Pressure and Temp
Coolant Temp (with homage to the MKIII for the Bird cage)
Fuel Pressure and Fuel Temp
E85 %
Throttle Position

optional that I am debating in putting in.
Brake Pressure
G Meter
Outside Temp
Turbo Speed

Dash_v2.png
 

Piratetip

Far From Maddening Crowds
Staff member
Super Moderator
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
1,993
Location
MKE, WI
Gotcha.
So that sensor outputs digital square wave, nice.
 
  • Like
Reactions: figgie

figgie

Well-Known Member
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
5,455
Location
Shakopee, Minnesota
My guess is maybe.

I have not tested the sensors. I can see hall effect having issues with trying to keep up at 100k RPM though on a VR based, i would have concerns on the voltage output at 100K Rpm. lol
 

Piratetip

Far From Maddening Crowds
Staff member
Super Moderator
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
1,993
Location
MKE, WI
I was just reading the Garrett documentation on the sensor itself for the GT series.

Says output signal just for the sensor is already conditioned. Outputs square wave at 1/8th the input speed.
So just a simple formula to adapt it to standalone or for different than 8 blade compressor wheels.
Looks simple.
 
  • Like
Reactions: figgie

figgie

Well-Known Member
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
5,455
Location
Shakopee, Minnesota
I was just reading the Garrett documentation on the sensor itself for the GT series.

Says output signal just for the sensor is already conditioned. Outputs square wave at 1/8th the input speed.
So just a simple formula to adapt it to standalone or for different than 8 blade compressor wheels.
Looks simple.
Well i am eyeing a Garrett Turbo as part of the refresh of this car so it should be a drop in ordeal.
 

figgie

Well-Known Member
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
5,455
Location
Shakopee, Minnesota
I can blow so much time with display layout. I have been using Adobe UI for the big image designs..

I got one alarm setup tied to the engine coolant. It actually turns on at 210F but I pegged it for testing to make sure the logic works.

I am looking for a sharp bird cage image to display. with the alarm.. but you get the point.


BHG_Imminent.png

SupraDisplay.png
 
  • Like
Reactions: 3p141592654

Piratetip

Far From Maddening Crowds
Staff member
Super Moderator
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
1,993
Location
MKE, WI
Oh no, you are carrying over the birdcage light!?
LOL, j/k

Way way back my friends riding with me would say. " Your birds got out of the cage"
 

figgie

Well-Known Member
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
5,455
Location
Shakopee, Minnesota
Oh no, you are carrying over the birdcage light!?
LOL, j/k

Way way back my friends riding with me would say. " Your birds got out of the cage"
I AM. That bird cage is the 7m staple... birdie is out of its cage!!!

But the bird cage is not tied to temp and instead just the sensor in the overflow bottle.
 

Piratetip

Far From Maddening Crowds
Staff member
Super Moderator
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
1,993
Location
MKE, WI
It is iconic. Probably should keep it.
Yeah I know it's just the overflow.
 
  • Like
Reactions: figgie

figgie

Well-Known Member
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
5,455
Location
Shakopee, Minnesota
Almost there!

Undecided if to show GPS or compass on upper right hand side.

and drawing a blank on what to put on lower right hand quadrant.

80_Complete.png
 

Enraged

A HG job took HOW long??
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
2,066
Location
Victoria, BC, Canada
Looks good, I second the compass on bottom right, it would match nicely with the g-meter.

Have you considered using the Supra font?
 

figgie

Well-Known Member
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
5,455
Location
Shakopee, Minnesota
Looks good, I second the compass on bottom right, it would match nicely with the g-meter.

Have you considered using the Supra font?
it crossed my mind, the bad part is that Supra font is a Toyota IP. If i was doing this just to mess around i would make those fonts but the company i am doing this for is a a full fledged MoTeC dealer and that is getting into murky waters.
 

Enraged

A HG job took HOW long??
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
2,066
Location
Victoria, BC, Canada
The Supra font I have was created by Grimjack years ago. "Inspired" by Toyota I'd imagine, but not their IP. I'm not sure if he posted a use license or not.
 

Nick M

Black Rifles Matter
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Sep 9, 2005
Messages
8,813
Location
U.S.
Well, I am using this as a place holder for pictures and information.

lets start with the basics.

Name: RODKNOX
MFG: Toyota
model: Supra
Body style: 2 door TARGA
YEAR: 1989

Patient Condition: the car is in ok shape. The car made 550 rwhp on E85 so the motor was in good form. No rust (amazing for a Minnesota car). The bad news is that the previous owner thinks it blew an HG. After hearing what happened and when it happened, I am thinking it might be something less ominous than the typical BHG (it has a MHG and ARP studs along with a built bottom end). It is on an AEM but unsure of version but of course I need the patient under the knife to really tell. The car is currently not running and it also suffers from vampiric battery drain (most likely culprit will be the stereo system).
Good to see you around. I sold my most recent in 2018. I doubt I will try again.
 
  • Like
Reactions: figgie

figgie

Well-Known Member
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
5,455
Location
Shakopee, Minnesota
Good to see you around. I sold my most recent in 2018. I doubt I will try again.
Yeah,

this time just taking my time. amazing what some perspective in ones life does for some of the hobbies :D

BTW, I get it! it is overwhelming if scope creep rears it's ugly head. :(