F@$K win vista

Mk3runner

Supramania Contributor
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Nov 19, 2006
Messages
2,033
Likes
0
Location
Nor Cal
#1
so since me and my girl moved into a spot we only been using my laptop, well she has a cool gateway desktop we go to use it and it locked us out, password had a shit fit when we went to change it due to dickhead roomies she had. so I reinstall vista last night and just 20 min ago it said some crap that it wasn't valid when it worked fine last night... had to call the stupid automated line to get the code to make this bastard work...

vista is cool, I like what it does. but leaves no room to play in a sense. I like my xp!

this concludes my rant, thank and have a nice day :icon_bigg
 

selfinfliction

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 11, 2007
Messages
434
Likes
0
Location
ky
#2
you can get in there and change the pass, you just need the ERD from winternals, its a simple start the computer up, click on the locksmith button and change the password :)
 

foreverpsycotic

Back in the game!
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 16, 2006
Messages
3,154
Likes
0
Location
Norwalk, CT
#4
You boot ERD Commander off of a CD, and it uses the backdoors in all windows systems (98 and up IIRC) and it allows you to change the password. It is also nice that you can use it to recover data if you cant boot into windows.
 

miekedmr

mkiii in hibernation
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
511
Likes
0
Location
Upstate NY
#6
I keep xp around on one pc for games / audio apps.
other than that I use fedora. I don't spend a lot of time dicking around with it either, I installed it and it works.
the fedora box is a web server / team fortress 2 server / VNC remote desktop (for when I'm somewhere else and want access to my crap, to check my aim messages, etc. anything with a java-enabled web browser can control it)

anyways, vista is way too bloated for no good reason IMO.
 

Piratetip

Far From Maddening Crowds
Staff member
Super Moderator
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
1,502
Likes
89
Location
MKE, WI
#7
I dual boot XP and Vista Ultimate.
XP for daily use,
Vista to show people how many resources it uses with high settings on ie. aero glass ect......

Vista really is crap.
 

GrimJack

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
12,377
Likes
3
Location
Richmond, BC, Canada
#8
Oh cripes, here we go with the M$ bashers again.

Vista is not 'crap'. Vista is new, and needs more hardware than XP did. It also needs more hardware than Win98, Win95, Win3.11, Win3.0, and Win386. Big surprise there, folks. :rolleyes:

In my house, I run Vista, XP, & Ubuntu, on several different machines. At my office I have to support Apple as well.

My Vista box at home plays games and does graphic work. It works FINE. I play all my games at 1920x1200 with all the eye candy turned on. I get an average of 60fps, which is plenty.

With that said, there is no good reason to switch to Vista at this time. The new version of DirectX isn't supported by squat, and everyone claiming they will release a game to support it has so far backed off. This will not last forever, of course, sooner or later someone will start releasing software to take advantage of the new features in Vista, and then it will start to become more advantageous. Until then, stick with XP or get some half decent hardware and run Vista, your choice.

In the meanwhile, stop whining about how it uses more system resources than XP. Of course it does, it's 5 years newer, and computers are nearly 10 times more powerful now than when XP was released.

Next, we'll have people crying about how their Sony Playstation 3 games should run just fine on their original Playstation.
 

Mk3runner

Supramania Contributor
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Nov 19, 2006
Messages
2,033
Likes
0
Location
Nor Cal
#9
I like vista as I said before just xp is where its at for the moment. kinda just had me irritated this morning.

now it says that it isn't a valid windows program, at least it works now.
 

foreverpsycotic

Back in the game!
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 16, 2006
Messages
3,154
Likes
0
Location
Norwalk, CT
#10
fuck vista i have an apple LOLOL
Have fun with your overpriced PC (provided it is newer than a G4) with a Unix OS. I don't have to pay 200 for my Lenovo to come in black :)
BTW, at my office in my school, I have an apple running vista :biglaugh:

Vista is more powerful than XP can ever be, hence the more system resources thing.
 

Mk3runner

Supramania Contributor
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Nov 19, 2006
Messages
2,033
Likes
0
Location
Nor Cal
#11
hell on my dell desktop and lap, theres a jumper on the board to erase passwords, not in this case.... ehh, too late now.
 

Mk3runner

Supramania Contributor
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Nov 19, 2006
Messages
2,033
Likes
0
Location
Nor Cal
#17
no, not yet. I live off my laptop for media, only turn the tv on for games or dvds.
 

annoyingrob

Boosted member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 5, 2006
Messages
2,304
Likes
0
Location
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
#20
the fedora box is a web server / team fortress 2 server / VNC remote desktop (for when I'm somewhere else and want access to my crap, to check my aim messages, etc. anything with a java-enabled web browser can control it)
I have a MythTV backend with 300gb of storage working as a PVR, and several frontends :)

Fedora 8.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
4,245
Likes
0
Location
Alachua, FL
#23
I have a MythTV backend with 300gb of storage working as a PVR, and several frontends :)

Fedora 8.
My MAN! I've got a Hauppage 250 I'm getting ready to try either MythTV or Freevo (going to play with both)

Fedora 9 here ;)

Quick OT question - with the HP 250, think a dual 650 P3 w/ 512Mb ram, and a 6 disk Raid 5 array (SATA I) will handle back end duties? I could potentially upgrade (it's an old Precision 410) to dual 1 ghz. I just love the case, and the fact it has a PCI-X slot (where the adaptec sata controller resides)

OP:

Vista sucks, because of UAC. It's Microsoft's pathetic attempt at Linux-style security.

Apple computers = Fisher price computer systems. Even better than the lack of functionality (unless doing graphic design-type work), is the ridiculous expense of out-of-warranty work. I'll stick with my PC x86 architecture, and easily replaced components, thank you.

Linux is where it is at. Seriously guys, if you haven't tried Linux yet - download a Live CD, and play with it. As a matter of fact, you can convert a Fedora Live CD to a USB drive, and it will boot loads faster than from CD. I recommend the Gnome desktop for new users to Linux.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
4,245
Likes
0
Location
Alachua, FL
#25
Doward, I hope that you know you can turn UAC off... Those boxes get so damn anoying.
Certainly can. But did you know there is a bug that will kill your networking center, if you disable UAC and install AIM?

I use Trillian myself, but the wife uses AIM - and guess what, after 2 months, she had me remove Vista and install XP.
 

foreverpsycotic

Back in the game!
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 16, 2006
Messages
3,154
Likes
0
Location
Norwalk, CT
#26
Certainly can. But did you know there is a bug that will kill your networking center, if you disable UAC and install AIM?

I use Trillian myself, but the wife uses AIM - and guess what, after 2 months, she had me remove Vista and install XP.
Maybe that was you. I installed aim after disabling UAC on my old setup, networking was fine, I did not lose anything network related. I use Pidgin or meebo anyway.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
4,245
Likes
0
Location
Alachua, FL
#27
Maybe that was you. I installed aim after disabling UAC on my old setup, networking was fine, I did not lose anything network related. I use Pidgin or meebo anyway.
I've repeated it in the PC shop, on a Dell M1210, M1330, Optiplex GX260, Optiplex GX270 ;)

I tried a GX150, but that was painfully slow, so I left it alone. :3d_frown:

http://www.networkworld.com/community/node/21927

A little bit on it ;)
 

GrimJack

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
12,377
Likes
3
Location
Richmond, BC, Canada
#28
My MAN! I've got a Hauppage 250 I'm getting ready to try either MythTV or Freevo (going to play with both)

Fedora 9 here ;)

Quick OT question - with the HP 250, think a dual 650 P3 w/ 512Mb ram, and a 6 disk Raid 5 array (SATA I) will handle back end duties? I could potentially upgrade (it's an old Precision 410) to dual 1 ghz. I just love the case, and the fact it has a PCI-X slot (where the adaptec sata controller resides)
Maybe... as long as you keep away from ad skipping tech, that eats a fair bit of CPU cycles.

Remember, you're going to want a second tuner card in short order, too. I didn't last long before the wife's complaints that she couldn't watch one channel while recording another got through to me.
 

Kevin S. OG

SF what a waste of supras
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
1,382
Likes
0
Location
SoCal
#29
The software Validation Crap Is way over strict if you change hardware or re-install you have to contact MS blah

I use XP & backtrack2 or various other linux OS
 

GrimJack

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
12,377
Likes
3
Location
Richmond, BC, Canada
#30
OP:

Vista sucks, because of UAC. It's Microsoft's pathetic attempt at Linux-style security.
May not be up to Linux standards - yet - but it's a whole lot better than what's available for XP.

Certainly can. But did you know there is a bug that will kill your networking center, if you disable UAC and install AIM?
There's a bug that makes it rather difficult to install Adobe Reader with UAC disabled, too. Is it worth chucking the entire OS over? No. At least not for the vast majority of the installed user base.

The software Validation Crap Is way over strict if you change hardware or re-install you have to contact MS blah
Agreed, however, this is NOT new to Vista, it's technology imported from XP Home.


I've said this before, and I'm sure I'll say it again. Most of the people screaming bloody murder about how Vista sucks fit into a few categories.
- The people who don't use it. These are the Linux / Unix / Mac / BSD / whatever else guys, and as a rule they think everything from M$ sucks. Sometimes they are right, but only sometimes. If they could convince the game manufacturers to move away from M$ wholesale, they would have me on their side. Until then, I'll keep using Windows, because PCs *whip* consoles, hands down, and Tux racer is only cool for about 7 minutes.
- The hardware misers. These are the guys who don't think they should have to buy new computer hardware more than once every 10 years. Screw Moore's Law, the guy was obviously an idiot. After all, I can drive a car from the 50's, why can't I use a computer from the 80's?
- The "I hate change" crew. Most of these guys should still using B&W picture tube televisions with rabbit ear antennas and film cameras. If they ever do get dragged into this century, there will be a lot of kicking and screaming.
- The script kiddie pie rat crew. They're bitter that Vista isn't as easy to steal as XP was, and why the hell hasn't anyone posted a simple, easy to use crack on the internet yet? It should have a pretty interface and play neato music while thumbing it's nose in Redmond's direction.
- The guys who actually have a valid complaint. Most of these are the folks that got screwed over buying a 'Vista Ready' machine with pathetic specs, and discovered after the fact that the ability to run Vista does not necessarily translate into the ability to run Vista *well*. There are a few more guys who are still waiting for updated drivers to work with their specialty hardware.
 

foreverpsycotic

Back in the game!
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 16, 2006
Messages
3,154
Likes
0
Location
Norwalk, CT
#31
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
4,245
Likes
0
Location
Alachua, FL
#32
Grim, you forgot a very large group of people -

The IT support guys that are SICK of hearing the same complaints over and over from end-users.

Seriously. I don't care how awesome Vista is under the hood - if the end user can't use it, it is worthless in the business world.
 

annoyingrob

Boosted member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 5, 2006
Messages
2,304
Likes
0
Location
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
#35
Quick OT question - with the HP 250, think a dual 650 P3 w/ 512Mb ram, and a 6 disk Raid 5 array (SATA I) will handle back end duties?
Shouldn't be a problem. I run a PIII 800 backend with 512mb, and it's doing hi-def recording, and it barely stresses it. Granted, guide searches are a little slow, but recording and playback are flawless.

Edit: I know Fedora 9 is out now. I should really get around to upgrading. My fileserver is still running Fedora 3!
 

Poodles

I play with fire
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 22, 2006
Messages
16,757
Likes
0
Location
Fort Worth, TX
#37
The reason I hate Vista is for a number of reasons.

- You can't streamline it down to using barely any resources like other OS's (like for example Windows Server 2003)

- Can't effectively used over 2gig of RAM (on a 32 bit install at least), but has a HUGE RAM footprint.

- Still not any more secure than older versions.

- Still not fully supported.


I WILL be using Windows Server 2008 soon though. It's like 2003, it's a different kernal from XP/Vista, but will run anything from XP/Vista, and it can be stripped down to be fast as hell. All the good things are still included (like DX 10).