ecu master digital tuner 3 on 7MGTE

sheedy126

Boost Addict
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
717
Likes
2
Location
kennewick
#81
I was running speed density (no afm) but I did not have the table setup for the gm iat. I added a resistor I believe it was the 2.2k, between the factory temp sensor on the afm.
Then you just wire up to whatever extra input on the det3, other to ground on det3. The wires are not polar. After that's all hooked up you should be able to load the gm scale, then assign the correction for the input you're using in the table setup menu iirc.
It's been awhile since I looked at the software I believe I have a picture of the setup on my laptop


Sent from my LG-LS980 using Tapatalk
 

ihiryu

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
209
Likes
0
Location
TX
#82
Oh, so the resistor goes to the STOCK harness? Pretty much to keep it from throwing a code I'm assuming. What about the factory AFM? Is the signal from the DET3 enough to keep it from going nuts?
 

sammy1j

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 15, 2015
Messages
7
Likes
0
Location
phoenix
#83
Im planning on going with the det3. I currently have a neo. Is there a big difference between them? Im not a tuning expert but just wondering if i can get more out of the det3?
 

sheedy126

Boost Addict
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
717
Likes
2
Location
kennewick
#84
I couldn't tell you the difference between a neo but from what I've heard and experienced, the det3 is one of the best piggybacks you can get so far. Along with a very affordable standalone ecu that I have switched to.

Sent from my LG-LS980 using Tapatalk
 

sammy1j

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 15, 2015
Messages
7
Likes
0
Location
phoenix
#85
Waht standalone? All iv seen is +1000 bucks. The neo only controls fuel i believe and the det3 can control timing. So im assuming its alot better for tuning?
 

sheedy126

Boost Addict
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
717
Likes
2
Location
kennewick
#86
The ecu master emu is 1275 iirc and does a bunch of things. The det3 does fuel and timing along with boost control. To me, the ease of being user friendly was the main reason to upgrade at the time from my maft pro. I only knew a little bit about tuning and with Zacks awesome tech support, I was able to get my car tuned and running in no time on the det3

Sent from my LG-LS980 using Tapatalk
 

sammy1j

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 15, 2015
Messages
7
Likes
0
Location
phoenix
#87
Ok cool ill be looking to get this soon. I have a 1j so hopefully its not going to be a pain. Ill most likely have the shop install it and tune it. Having launch control would be nice. When funds are availabe ill be looking to go the standalone route. Plan on selling the new and buying the det3 with that money. I made 350whp i was limited due to fuel cut
 

sheedy126

Boost Addict
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
717
Likes
2
Location
kennewick
#89
I installed it right after my intercooler about a foot/2 from my throttle body . Just don't place it on the 3000 pipe otherwise it will heat soak being directly above the engine

Sent from my LG-LS980 using Tapatalk
 

momodragon

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
11
Likes
0
Location
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
#90
Got the unit in the mail a couple days ago and i fed it 12v and ground and lil red light came on then i tryed connecting it to the computer but i always get the cannot connect in the det3 program! I installed the drivers and the latest program just not working!! Any tips would be cool
 

sheedy126

Boost Addict
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
717
Likes
2
Location
kennewick
#91
Got the unit in the mail a couple days ago and i fed it 12v and ground and lil red light came on then i tryed connecting it to the computer but i always get the cannot connect in the det3 program! I installed the drivers and the latest program just not working!! Any tips would be cool
I had a similar problem when I first tried hooking my laptop to my ecu.

I tried a second cord and it then connected. You may try another cord between the two and see if that helps

Sent from my LG-LS980 using Tapatalk
 

sheedy126

Boost Addict
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
717
Likes
2
Location
kennewick
#93
I made it work! I had to click update firmware!
Glad you figured it out man! I don't know that I'll be much help anymore since Im running the EMU now. We'll, if I did help out anyone that is.. [emoji12]

Sent from my LG-LS980 using Tapatalk
 

TheMR2Guy

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 30, 2008
Messages
14
Likes
0
Location
Lakeland, FL
#94
Have a quick question. I have a MapECU that I want to swap out for a DET3 but I don't have a AFM for it to learn off of since I'm using the MapECU to translate. Am I up a creek? Or could I probably (and terribly) run them in parallel until the DET3 learns how to translate the AFM signal?
 

sheedy126

Boost Addict
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
717
Likes
2
Location
kennewick
#95
Have a quick question. I have a MapECU that I want to swap out for a DET3 but I don't have a AFM for it to learn off of since I'm using the MapECU to translate. Am I up a creek? Or could I probably (and terribly) run them in parallel until the DET3 learns how to translate the AFM signal?
I haven't ran the det3 for a awhile but iirc, the det3 creates a fuel map based off the afm signal. Once you've ran the car with the afm, there's a menu to select to convert from maf to map.

I can do a little looking on my laptop and see if I have my original fuel map that you can use that has already been "learned" for map based setup.

I don't think you can run both ecu in parallel, I just don't see how that would work.

Sent from my LG-LS980 using Tapatalk
 

laxboy36

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
284
Likes
0
Location
Chesapeake, Virginia
#97
Hey guys got a question is the 88 ecu have the same pins and everything when installing the det3? and if they are different which wires and pins are different
 

Tnice17

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 26, 2014
Messages
121
Likes
1
Location
CT
I made this with some info i found online, tried to piece all the best info into one.

i have a 87 7mgte, yellow plug. Let me know what you guys think!

Going to try and wire mine up this weekend. My laptop is from 2007 and has window 7/vista. The CD didnt work so i had to download it onto my desktop, transfer to USB, then it worked with no issues. Hopefully it will communicate ok and i dont have to buy another lap top.



DET3 Wire 87-88 supra.jpg
 
Likes: 7Mlife

supranaut

Rock'n Death with Spikes
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
98
Likes
1
Location
STL
I made this with some info i found online, tried to piece all the best info into one.


Nice diagram!

I have yet to mess with the program to see if it's the route I want to go...after learning the AFM output, I'm looking to ditch the AFM. What is the process of going from stock 440cc injectors to 750cc or more? Is there a drop down menu to change injector size or what? I currently am using an ancient Rebic LC with 550's which still retains the AFM...
 

momodragon

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
11
Likes
0
Location
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
finally running on map sensor! my unit blew up and i had to send it over to poland for repair (ign out stopped working)

now im looking for settings for launch control got the unit wired to the clutch pedal (12v)

any suggested settings

thanks all
 

Tnice17

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 26, 2014
Messages
121
Likes
1
Location
CT
Hey Guys,

so the DET3 is running, trying to work out the MAF-MAP. For those who have the 2.5 bar built in map sensor, what are you choosing for the Analog 2 Scales Configuration? Seems like the 4bar/400kPa is available for the DET3 but no 2.5bar...?

Right now i feel like the stock ecu is readjusting any fuel modifications i make. Would this not happen when I am on the MAP set up? Currently still running on the MAF
 
Last edited:

Tnice17

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 26, 2014
Messages
121
Likes
1
Location
CT
Ok so it seems lie the option for the 4bar/400kPa still works. I filled in some black areas, and it runs/drive great on the MAP setup.

I am still fighting fuel cut though, how can i get around this?
 

spddm0n

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 14, 2015
Messages
2
Likes
0
Location
.
After months of messing around with this device, I think my on-board 4 bar MAP is dead. Dead out of the box perhaps. If I'm getting no signal from Input #2, is there any other explanation?
 

Mikael_7m

Built 7M
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 26, 2009
Messages
283
Likes
0
Location
Australia
Does anyone know or have experience Going straight to a map based tune on the DET3? My AFM has failed and it is quite hard to find a working replacement in Australia.
 

nixon662

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 21, 2014
Messages
8
Likes
0
Location
alberta
Hey guys, I installed the DET3 and everything was working awesome until I set up launch control. I had it wired to a pushbutton next to my shifter with a 5V analog input. Everything worked great until I would reach 4200 rpm full throttle ( right around where my launch was set at) and the engine would break up (spark/timing not sure). As soon as I would turn the feature off everything worked fine again. Pretty sure I did some damage to the engine and had to rebuild it after. Could this be a wiring issue? Should I get the is300 coils? I am still on MAF and had a base tune with wideband. I have ditched the DET3 for now and gone back to SAFC until I can figure this issue out and re-install on my new engine.

I tried logging the symptoms but It never saved and seemed really hard on the engine when it happened.

This thread is awesome btw. Helped me out a lot during install and setting up all the tables. Hope you guys are still following it haha.

Thanks!
 

Acido

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 5, 2016
Messages
25
Likes
0
Location
Italia
Hello everyone, sorry, where are the parameters set to not cut the fuel? thank you :icon_bigg

111.jpg




222.jpg
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2018
Messages
1
Likes
0
I need some help... I cant get it to rev past 1500rpm... I'm getting code 31 on my 90 7mgte. This is how I have it wired up. Any help would be nice. Thanks guys. urmWh10I.jpeg
 

nixon662

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 21, 2014
Messages
8
Likes
0
Location
alberta
Going to be reinstalling my unit before spring, how is everyone's holding up? No problems with the launch control / misfiring on stock ignition system?
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2019
Messages
1
Likes
0
Looking to buy a det3 (using neo now and not happy with it). How do u choose which bar 2.5 or 4?

Figured it out, its how much boost you plan on running. 2.5 bar is 22 pounds and 4 bar is up to 40 pounds.
 
Last edited: