Does the madness ever end?!

thedave925

Since 9/16/05
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 9, 2005
Messages
626
Location
East Bay, Cali
Nice rats' nest. Some stuff is missing, funny location for intake/BOV/vacuum, umm care to share what exactly determines said nature of luck?
 

turbotrev

Goin WEEEEE on my gsxr600
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Aug 7, 2006
Messages
311
Location
Clinton, MO
heh i think my supra has a grudge against me or sumtin cuz im with in 1 year of ownership ive ::bhg:: and melted a piston:cry: and im about to go on 2 years of ownership nxt month woohooo:nono:
 

suprahero

naughty by nature
Staff member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
15,169
Location
Roll Tide
JustAnotherVictim said:
I've never been strucken.
It has already been broughten!!!!!

I've been strucken with a 1jz swap....................:biglaugh:
 

pimptrizkit

thread killer
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
1,572
Location
vancouver Wa


of course this never end's, it's a ever lasting battle between me and my car!


i swear, i barely have owned this car for a year, and i have had my motor out almost 10 times.. between hg's and other things.. sheesh.


any ways, i have big plan's for this motor, weather it's in a celica or a supra....

i just found rapidchimp makes an mk2 celica supra down pipe for a 5/6/7 turbo .. and i have been dweling on this swap and i think it's going to happen.. i just need to find a junk 7mge and im set. maybe a rod knockin 7mgte?? any one in vancouver / washington with a bad 7m? need space? :biglaugh:
 

JoeC

Banned
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
338
Location
Vancouver, Washington
we do have a GE in the garage, but I took 3 or so of the rods for my car. Any ways.. The celica we have got rod knock and is losing 2 quarts of oil a day.. figures. The battery still wont hold a charge. And after 500 miles of driving the red car since it was rebuilt, it got rod knock.
 

Facime

Leather work expert
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
2,716
Location
Corvallis OR
JoeC said:
And after 500 miles of driving the red car since it was rebuilt, it got rod knock.
Sounds like someone forgot to do something inside that motor. :aigo:

Sorry to hear that. too bad you didnt need a chassis instead of a motor. I still got that white junk in the back. *Sigh*
 

loki2043

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
645
Location
Portland, OR
JoeC said:
we do have a GE in the garage, but I took 3 or so of the rods for my car. Any ways.. The celica we have got rod knock and is losing 2 quarts of oil a day.. figures. The battery still wont hold a charge. And after 500 miles of driving the red car since it was rebuilt, it got rod knock.
i know it leaks oil, james left a nice puddle in my driveway when we were doing the clutch lol. my moms bitched me out about it, somehow it was my fault:biglaugh:
 

Turbo. Targa. Life.

SupraMania Shirt Slinger!
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 16, 2005
Messages
1,709
Location
O'Fallon, MO
I've got a 7mgte laying around that is completely seized. probably a melted piston or something. Previous owner ran it about 4qts low on oil :D

$200 and it's YOURS!! (you pay shipping lol)Actually hell I REALLY need it gone...$150, have it shipped.
 

pimptrizkit

thread killer
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
1,572
Location
vancouver Wa
well it took me 2 days to pull the motor, and disassemble the sucka,

turns out rod 1 was the culprite, the bearing was pretty nasty but not garbage..

any ways, im going to put all new rod bearings in, and have the rod's resized,

destress the rod's , maybe beam polish, and shot pen, (ballpen)

then im going to have the crank lightened, my machinest said it's possible to remove 4 lbs of material of the 6m crank. i figured i would take upto a pound off. and see if i like it.

~mod, can you move this thread to the build thread's~!

im also looking at a 60-1 ct26, and some 550's on the rebuild... it's about all i have left before i make the 400 horse club!
 

Reign_Maker

Has cheezberger
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Aug 31, 2005
Messages
5,767
Location
Florida
JoeC: looks like yur motor hates yur car, it just jumped right out of the bay!!! ;) Rod knock after a rebuild? Or right after have a HG swap?

Pimp: cant move it unless Joe asks, he's the thread starter... :)

BigUnit: lmao, you kill me man! :D:D:D
 

pimptrizkit

thread killer
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
1,572
Location
vancouver Wa
Reign_Maker said:
JoeC: looks like yur motor hates yur car, it just jumped right out of the bay!!! ;) Rod knock after a rebuild? Or right after have a HG swap?

Pimp: cant move it unless Joe asks, he's the thread starter... :)

BigUnit: lmao, you kill me man! :D:D:D

lol it's actualy my car... the motor's been out almost 10 times this year..
 

JoeC

Banned
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
338
Location
Vancouver, Washington
Haha, Yeah.. go ahead and move it to the build thread please.

The motor is pimps, i just started the thread cause he's too lazy :biglaugh:

Any ways.. it got rod knock after a bottom end rebuild + mhg. I guess (from what pimp told me), he never had the rods resized or something and it went.

Bigunitpitcher, How much for the GE? we need one to put into our celica :biglaugh: Im at work right now but im leaving in a few minutes, send me a PM

TTL, we don't need another GTE motor yet. lol Thanks though
 

pimptrizkit

thread killer
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
1,572
Location
vancouver Wa
cool thanks!


well i droped the crank and rod's off at the machine shop
i'll be taking the flywheel intomorrow after class. i need to replace the fristion disk before it's balenced
 

pimptrizkit

thread killer
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
1,572
Location
vancouver Wa
well it's been twenty four days, but , i do bring good new's!





i have been collecting items through the snail mail, along with getting my crank and engine internals back, with decent pic's too!

group uy goodie~


the clutch set up im going to install, any one have an idea what pressure plate this might be? and lbs rating?
i do know it's stiffer then the stock clutch i put back inot my brother's car..


new frictions came in the mail, should help stop the chatter~!


old one.. next to new one..


also afpr kit,


the crank made it back aswell,
dan removed 1.25 lbs, rebalenced the entire engine assembly, cleaned the crank oil jurnals, he put the crank on the leth to remove the weight, which made the crank round, so it roll's on the wood floow rather well now. and off tables if your not careful
i also asked him to knife edge the crank if needed to remove the weight.

im over all pretty satified with it and cant wait to get the motor running again!





the rod's i had re-sized, destressed and beam polished, and rebalenced,

actualy, this is the second time the motor has been balenced by 2 different shops, i feel the second time was by a better shop, here are some pictures..

i kinda just started clickin...






 

JoeC

Banned
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
338
Location
Vancouver, Washington
Since Jim hasnt updated because he's busy like a mad man. I felt the need!

About an hour ago he got the crank into the block and got the mains tightened up and torqued to spec. Now he is currently downstairs in the kitchen assembling the rods and pistons. He hopes to have the pistons in and the pan on by 4 o clock when he goes to work at 5 I believe. Hopefully we get his motor in the car by Monday..
 

pimptrizkit

thread killer
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
1,572
Location
vancouver Wa
well joe's time line was drasticaly off!

around 2 or so i was finished with the crank, and had started heating the pistons and freezing the lubed pins, for assembly.

realized i didn't know where my ring compressor was so ran out to the part store with joe, work calls, and wanted me in, i agreed to come in an hour earily, and when i went it they were dead..


well being i wanted more done, when i got off work at 9:30, i came home and installed all the pistons and torqued them over 3 passes, 10-25-47 , and the mains where 10-30-52-75

i have already shimmed the pjmp so no need their, im going to purchase a oil filter relo kit tomorrow or on monday and hopefully get a decent set up with a thermostat in it..

i have som pic's but i'll post in the monring since the camera seems to be missin at the moment..

agenda for tomorrow~!

-instal pan,
-flip motor, clean sruface install mhg & head,
- new ss oil lines for turbo,
-debate weather or not to attempt to start the car today or not..


part of debating is ill be finished with my 5spd here on monday or tuesday and still need to have my 1pc fabbed up, other then that it would be sweet to just drop my motor in with my 5spd, but i'll see how my crazy ass thinks..

i very well might run autp for a few days to put a coupel houndred on the car and swap the trannies out at school (lift's are the shit)
 

pimptrizkit

thread killer
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
1,572
Location
vancouver Wa
well looks to me like im gona shove install another week, im gettin to the point where i feel like i best make sure i do the last few things right..

i need to helicoil the exhuast mani well if i dont thats superb, but i forgot to put the water pipes back on the block before i droped the head with every thing attached, so the exhaust mani must come off,

if one stud pull's on me im going to do them all just like i did my brother's , took me 3 plus hour's atleast it felt !

and i have to replace the new rear main seal i put in 600 miles ago since it was leakin..
which kept me from putting the pan on. but the pump is in, the valve cover's are on and tight,

oh yeah, using n/a valve covers.
i need to finished extending my wire's before this car will run so till i do that no use in rushing the motor install!
 

JoeC

Banned
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
338
Location
Vancouver, Washington
Well, From 10 am my bro was putting things back together and getting every thing tight. About 4 o clock we threw the battery on charge and tried cranking it up.

Fuel pressure was at 25 and it just wouldn't start. Cranked the fuel pressure up to 33 and tried and tried.. Nothing. A few times it would start up but run rough and die 2-3 seconds later.

Hopefully tomorrow we will find out whats wrong with it and try to get it started.
 

bkma71

supra coupe
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 7, 2005
Messages
91
Location
troutdale, Oregon
you guys are crazy. blessed by bad luck man.. I got a couple gte blocks and parts laying round if your looking.
 

pimptrizkit

thread killer
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
1,572
Location
vancouver Wa
found out why she wouldn't start, i had plug wire's 2/5 crossed with 3/4 straitened that out and she fired right up.


i was happy and had a shit eatin grin on my face till my dad came out and asked me to fire her back up (just now) and i did so, she took a few cranks to fire up. but eventrulay did so, letting her run for a minute i start checking things out seeing if i noticed any leaks, and bingo i have a huge leak coming down off my turbo or oil filter.. well, i hope this is an quick easy fix, really pisses me off..

talk about having a mood swing and quick! i have ran into so many little problems that i dont even want to run this car as an auto any more and jsut want to convert,
 

JoeC

Banned
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
338
Location
Vancouver, Washington
Well, we just got back from a little short cruize to the gas station then the parts store.. Sounds like his motor is knocking :(.. Could be piston slap, we arent sure... Just very upset that his motor is doing this to us..
 

kylefoto

I am not ASIAN!
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
May 7, 2006
Messages
1,674
Location
Lynnwood, WA
JoeC said:
Well, we just got back from a little short cruize to the gas station then the parts store.. Sounds like his motor is knocking :(.. Could be piston slap, we arent sure... Just very upset that his motor is doing this to us..
ASKGJSDKGJDSGSDG
UGH!
Please tell me you don't have to do this AGAIN!
 

Facime

Leather work expert
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
2,716
Location
Corvallis OR
What are you guys doing wrong? no assembly lube? bad torque wrench? crappy parts? I want to know so that I can avoid that pitfall when I do mine.
 

Deevious

teh wobble.
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 13, 2006
Messages
9
Location
127.0.0.1
wow that sucks big time, just when I was about to tear into my block this week I see your guys effed up situation. are supras cursed or something haha
 

JoeC

Banned
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
338
Location
Vancouver, Washington
Weezl, man I don't know! I watched him put it together and he used gobs of lube, torqued every thing down according to DIRECT TSRM spec.

the only difference between his motor and mine is his crank is lightened, and my shortblock was Assembled by the machinist. I'm not saying he is putting it together wrong, but it could be a secret touch or something :(.
 

pimptrizkit

thread killer
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
1,572
Location
vancouver Wa
i hope my torque wrench isn't off, if it is then all the vaules of the motor are out of spec.
and i use gob's of lube.. i used assembly lob on the bearingsa and lubbed the ring's with royal purple gear lube. drizzle to each ring and smeared around the piston so they wouldn't stick and slide into the cylinders nice and easy.

i really doubt it's rod knock it's been eating at me all night, i even came home and started her back up and took her for a trip around the block.
for an intsense, it took 600 miles of driving on distored rod's to creat knocking noise from new bearings. , i replaced all the rod bearings with clevetes and re-used the main bearings.

the noise seems to be louder in gear vs nuetral @ idle, cant notice it while driving.

and it's a noise you really have to pay attention to, with the loud exhaust, what sound's like a tight belt or maybe some thing rubbbing?

i do noticed i think the afpr is making alot of noise, i dont under stand that but im pretty sure it's makng some sort of squeeking sound..

i raist my fuel pressure to about 40psi at idle with hose off i belive, while cruising the fuel pressure drops to around 35ish, and then boost i suspose it goes up?

i did notice i had the fp set at 33ish and when it started sucking vac real haqrd during cruise it droped fp to 25ish and my car would run like crap, also noticed the wb go to 3 volts, a bit on the lean side for me,

i just wired up my turbo timer and wide band the stock ecu is doing a fine job at idle pulling out a 2.5v reading, ps, i hooked up a wire wrong on the maft pro and it's reading my w/.b as my o2 sensor right now, i dont have a stock on so i'll either be using it as both my narrow band or i'll be doing part throttle tracking and have the computer deal with idle and what ever..

]


i guess my plan of action is just drive the son of a bitch for the next couple weeks put some miles on her and keep my ear tunned, im going to be doing my 5spd swap before summer

i keep telling my self next week but im not sure i want to go through tearing the motor out,---which leaves me the possiblity to yank my trany while the car is on the lift at school, and not have to deal with the wiring bs or taking my intercooler apart,

i do want to yank my oil pan off and check my rod bearings when i do my 5spd swap so maybe i'll convince my lab partners droping my subframe would be the best way to do the tranny swap :)


i do notice that it takes very little time for my motor to rev out to redline, it feels like half the time it takes my brothers motor to rev out that far.. and his is a fresh balence..

i guess the next couple of things i'll be doing are,
leak down and compression test, ` see if things rings are seated well.
saving for a drive shaft..
 

Facime

Leather work expert
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
2,716
Location
Corvallis OR
well I know you probably just had it out, but did you check for a cracked flex plate?
 

pimptrizkit

thread killer
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
1,572
Location
vancouver Wa
i didn't search it, but i eye over every thing a bit while im installin it, i didn't notice any thing i was starig at it for awhile while installed the tq bolts too,
i ha questioned weather i installed it backwards or not, but i remember i couldn't get on of the spacers to line up and i flipped it over and it worked, so that sorta rules that out.. reason i thought that was each time i cranked the motor over to put the next tq bolt in, it would be hard, then pop and i would hear the flex plate ring, i then pulled the starter out (it was held in by one bolt and was crocked,) and that noise from the flex went away but the poping and effort to turn was still there.

turned out it was my cam gears had binded with the bolts beind them. o shaved the bolts down and fitment it good but i feel a discomfort with them being there, almost like i hear one rubbing maybe and it's driving me nuts.,

im gona check belt tension on every thing tomorrow it's possible their to tight or lose.. more so tight i might have those suckers humming, ....
 

pimptrizkit

thread killer
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
1,572
Location
vancouver Wa
well it's been alittle while since i have posted, been rather busy.

but i have made good progress with the car and had a couple dumb founded learning curves i had to hurdle.

well i left off saying i was going to do some test's on my motor,

i had a nasty miss and car ran lean,

well to fix the lean problem at the moment i upped the fuel pressure and checked to see if the car was road worthy,
now pig rich the car drove,

i fought a day or two tring to get the car to run great, and the miss really bothered me, so i checked all my plug wire's boots and connections & siliconed all the rubber to the wire's doing my best to seal them.
i had done a leak down test, and put 100psi to each cylinder, there was less then 15% loss between all clinder's, and they where at 8-10 for most, and the worst being 12. so i must have good compression abilities.

during the course of this, i had been searching for the required files to update the maft pro to the next version i was done with 4.67 and was having alot of problems tring to figure out why it wasn't running right,

so i found the files, and flash the maft pro, only to have the computer freeze while flashing the pro.. so for a week i battle with a bad laptop to load the files, with no avial, i hieve my desktop out side and start hooking it up, power cord to extention to wall, fuck it wont power on!
finaly my bro jason let's me use his new deltop. and the files flashed first try with out a problem.

i got my boost gauge hooked back up, it was reading 16inhg, which didn't make pefect sense for the leak down results, but i also had a miss. and thought that possibly the scavenging effect from the hot exhaust leaving might change the idle vaccume. so this miss might be hurtting it..

so i continued to search for the miss, i found while cleaning& sealing my wire's that my coil pack for plug's 1/6 has a dirty ,corrided terminal, i couldn't clean it very well so removal and coil swap was inorder.
well due to relocation of coil pack's it made this a bit tricky, but having a lift at school make it simpler, well my instructor had to leave early this day and told us all we must leave the shop so stuck with my wire's off and coil pack unbolted from the mani and engine mount, i was stuck i couldn't get the packs out with out removing my brake master, atleast not in 15 minutes he gave me.. so it went back together... shitty i still have the miss..

i get home limping the car as she is running rich, then lean and just not responding while to any thing i tell it to do.. bordom over comes me and i decided to change the plugs since i had them,

as i start pulling plug's they look good, then i come across one that has a smaller gap , and the next has a smaller gap, and then i found one with no gap.. so bingo, i finaly figured it out, plug's were gapped to tight and the spark wasn't hot enough to ignite the fuel.

when i flashed to 4.8 i went through the setting's and set them up to my prior knowlegde about setting up the pro, well, i made a mistake, and learned that after a few days of killing my self tring to tune this . it turned out i was using the ve table for gn buicks, and needed to change it ve 2
once i did this i tell you i was never happier to fire her up and listen to her idle so smoothly..

i have realized my connections for the map sensor and air temp sensor must be loose, i am able to wiggle the wire's and my afr will change about 2 points usualy to the rich side, i have fiddled with it, and make sure if it changes on me to only tune when i know it's reading right,,
but for the most part i have the car idling around 14.5/15 light throttle accle sticks in the 14's hiway cruise is 14's then some days i think the pro wiggles and she drop's to twelves.



right now the car is still hittin fuel cut, and running way right when i start boostin,

and im not even going to explain why i hooked the pcv right to the throttle body and didn't give it a relife, i was kicking my self thining i lost my turbo seals, but turned out i was puttin 10psi to my crankcase, and then off boost pulling 22inhg out of the crank case to the intake, cause a powerful suction of about 30 psi differnce causing oil to burn rather long long time on decle, what got me thinking though was on decel, i didn't smoke all that bad if any at all, so once i thought about the logic of my mistake i laughed and poped the hose off the throttle body....

well im done ranting.. had a bad valintines day, ended up having my brothers exhaust come off on my during a delivery in an apt complex, on my 3rd delivery, so i ran open down pipe for the rest of the night, which was for another 4 hours.. 15 deliveries or so latter...
i offered to fix it for my brother at school today but he opted to want to drive his car this weekend like that...
 

supra90turbo

shaeff is FTMFW!
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
6,108
Location
MA, 01440
Holy f'n post man! Hope you get that thing straightened out... I really do.