Archive: AFC/SAFC/II/Neo Questions

turbotrev

Goin WEEEEE on my gsxr600
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Aug 7, 2006
Messages
311
Likes
0
Location
Clinton, MO
#1
my mods SAFC2, 640cc injectors, MBC 14psi, walbo, adj-FPR, AEM wideband, and forged internals .20 over.

i recently got it back together and was wandering if there is some settings on the SAFC2 to get it to run not so lean? it will be good when i first start the car up at like 11.3-11.6 AFR. then i will drive it for about 5mins and it will spike up to off the charts then to 15.5-15.9 and i will let it sit and idle at that AFR and try to adjust the FPR and nothing happens and this is driving it at under 2100rpms the whole time before i try to adjust the FPR.

it will stay at good AFR in the real low rpm range in 1,2, and 3 gears which 3 was the highest gear i went to and sometimes it will spike up to 15-17's.

what could i do or try to get it to safe AFR's as i break the motor in?

any and all help is very welcomed :)



trev
 

drjonez

Supramania Contributor
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
3,061
Likes
0
Location
the motor city
#2
Re: SAFC-II adjustment?

1. what's your base fuel press set @?

2. you're not that lean....should be fine for break in (though that depends on how you're breaking it in). i'm surprised you're that lean given your HUGE injectors....

to me, you've got a problems somewhere. check codes, check SAFC setup, etc. something is wrong- w/that size inj and normal fuel press you should be crazy rich....
 

turbotrev

Goin WEEEEE on my gsxr600
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Aug 7, 2006
Messages
311
Likes
0
Location
Clinton, MO
#3
Re: SAFC-II adjustment?

as it sits its at 5psi but when i turn the car off its at like 20psi.

the afc settings are at ?????? b/c i had a shop do my tuning and they screwed me over :(.

i have not gotten any boost while driving b/c i keep it under 2500rpms the whole time.

i have never checked codes for the supra so is it just plug in the reader or what?

and i dont have the manual for the safc2 and can dl it b/c adobe is f ed up.
 

drjonez

Supramania Contributor
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
3,061
Likes
0
Location
the motor city
#4
Re: SAFC-II adjustment?

turbotrev said:
as it sits its at 5psi but when i turn the car off its at like 20psi.
what?!?!? that can't be right....

turbotrev said:
the afc settings are at ?????? b/c i had a shop do my tuning and they screwed me over :(.
not so good. you really can't get it tuned until you break it in anyway....

you can easily look @ the SAFC's settings...read the manual and learn how to use it!

turbotrev said:
i have not gotten any boost while driving b/c i keep it under 2500rpms the whole time.
good.

turbotrev said:
i have never checked codes for the supra so is it just plug in the reader or what?
www.cygnusx1.net

goto the TSRM

goto the EFI section

read.


turbotrev said:
and i dont have the manual for the safc2 and can dl it b/c adobe is f ed up.
i suggest you find a to read a .pdf....there are many other viewers other than adobe. w/o a manual you're shooting in the dark.
 

1jzneil

1jz destroyer
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
91
Likes
0
Location
warren, michigan
#5
Re: SAFC-II adjustment?

sorry to butt in but did you say your base fuel is only at 5psi ? and 20 psi when you shut it off? its supposed to be around 43-46psi if i remember correctly. i have been wrong before . hope i helped and didnt just waste your time.
 

turbotrev

Goin WEEEEE on my gsxr600
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Aug 7, 2006
Messages
311
Likes
0
Location
Clinton, MO
#6
Re: SAFC-II adjustment?

ok i just took it out awhile ago and i did notice it threw a code so im gunna check that tomorrow.

i got the manual finally so i saved it and printed all 64 pages of it.

the fuel was at 15psi right after i turned the car off

and now itll die on me when i let off the gas in 4th gear. i think it is b/c it overloads it with fuel and kills the spark but im not to forsure on that.

is there a way to reset the safc2 to start fresh? im gunna read the manual tomorrow and see if there is a way.

trev
 

drjonez

Supramania Contributor
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
3,061
Likes
0
Location
the motor city
#7
Re: SAFC-II adjustment?

1jzneil said:
sorry to butt in but did you say your base fuel is only at 5psi ? and 20 psi when you shut it off? its supposed to be around 43-46psi if i remember correctly. i have been wrong before . hope i helped and didnt just waste your time.
exactly. here's the TSRM page for it:



turbotrev said:
ok i just took it out awhile ago and i did notice it threw a code so im gunna check that tomorrow.
the check eng light doesn't need to be on....it can store codes w/o turning the light on.

turbotrev said:
i got the manual finally so i saved it and printed all 64 pages of it.
good!

turbotrev said:
the fuel was at 15psi right after i turned the car off
eh, not really useful. what is it w/the car running and the vac line off?

turbotrev said:
and now itll die on me when i let off the gas in 4th gear. i think it is b/c it overloads it with fuel and kills the spark but im not to forsure on that.
no way to know, you need to sort out everything else...

turbotrev said:
is there a way to reset the safc2 to start fresh? im gunna read the manual tomorrow and see if there is a way.

trev
sure is. see the manual for the reset procedure.
 

1jzneil

1jz destroyer
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
91
Likes
0
Location
warren, michigan
#8
Re: SAFC-II adjustment?

i think they call it initialalize. i know on my safc 1 it has a mode that just says initialize and when you do it it erases it and its reset.
 

7mge-t_cressida

1/2na-t cressida FTW!!!
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
38
Likes
0
Location
Hawaii
#10
NA-T SAFC correction levels anyone?

I got a 7mge na-t with the following:

-stock ct26 turbo, mani, dp, and exhaust
-stock 7mgte 450cc injectors
-7mge electronics
-7mgte intercooler w/ piping
-safc 1

now what i need to know is what correction levels have you na-t with the same or similar setup have you set? low throttle and high throttle if you got them. also while on the subject what % did you guys set your throttle low and high levels at? im not gonna leave this i just want more info on what people have been successful with... just as a starting point to tune off of.
 

drjonez

Supramania Contributor
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
3,061
Likes
0
Location
the motor city
#11
Re: NA-T SAFC correction levels anyone?

i cannot recommend attempting to use anyone else's settings....you're just asking for trouble.

no mention of any sort of mixture monitoring device in your list. get a WB, learn to use it.

likewise, no mention of any sort of timing retarding device....the GE's timing tables are far too advanced for any sort of real boost.
 

7mge-t_cressida

1/2na-t cressida FTW!!!
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
38
Likes
0
Location
Hawaii
#12
Re: NA-T SAFC correction levels anyone?

drjonez said:
i cannot recommend attempting to use anyone else's settings....you're just asking for trouble.

no mention of any sort of mixture monitoring device in your list. get a WB, learn to use it.

likewise, no mention of any sort of timing retarding device....the GE's timing tables are far too advanced for any sort of real boost.
yeah i'm currently looking for a wb. i've used it before but it wasn't mine lol. and what do you consider to be "real boost"? i plan on running stock 6 psi thats why.
 

drjonez

Supramania Contributor
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
3,061
Likes
0
Location
the motor city
#13
Re: NA-T SAFC correction levels anyone?

good! a WB is incredibly valuable...

eh, you MIGHT be OK on premium fuel @ 6 psi....
 

silverkill

SILVERKILL
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 10, 2005
Messages
16
Likes
0
Location
FL
#14
Anyone running the new safc neo? I'm thinking about getting one soon. Is it the same as the older one, wiring anyways? Or should I just get the older one?
 

drjonez

Supramania Contributor
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
3,061
Likes
0
Location
the motor city
#17
Re: SAFC NEO

what exactly are you looking for? it's a SAFC....similar to the prev. models...just w/a fancy color screen.
 

RTA Supra

MA70 Enthusiast
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
469
Likes
0
Location
Tampa, FL
#19
Re: SAFC NEO

As taken from Apexi-usa.com

- Completely new case design
- Compact design
- Incorporates both AFC and VAFC functions in one unit
- 16 point fuel correction
- Color FED display
- User defined button and background colors
- Inverted "anti-glare" screen
 

silverkill

SILVERKILL
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 10, 2005
Messages
16
Likes
0
Location
FL
#21
Re: SAFC NEO

Alright it's ordered. I hope it doesn't take a while to figure out how to use it? $291 shipped ebay :icon_bigg 2-3day shipping:naughty:
 

silverkill

SILVERKILL
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 10, 2005
Messages
16
Likes
0
Location
FL
#23
Re: SAFC NEO

I didn't really know anything about the maft pro. But now after reading about it, I guess it would be the better buy. Just know it's going to cost more$$$$.
-MAFT Pro unit: $400

Parts needed if you want to just use it as a MAF translator
-GM 3.5" MAF sensor: $80
-6' MAF extension harness: $18
total: $88

Parts needed to go speed/density:
-IAT: $12
-MAP sensor: $70
-9' speed/density harness: $30
total: $112

Parts needed for boost control (requires MAP sensor and harness):
-high boost solenoid: $70
-9' boost solenoid wiring harnes: $25
total: $95

Optional/Extra Parts:
-6' IAT extension harness: $23
-6' speed/density harness: $25
-6' boost solenoid wiring harness: $25
-Innovate Wideband products: $150 - 400
I'm cheap and on bugget. Maybe buy it later when I get more mods done. I guess safc neo will have to do for now.
 

logan

3 laws safe
Authorized Seller
Joined
Oct 4, 2005
Messages
109
Likes
0
Location
U.S-U.K
#25
Re: SAFC NEO

silverkill said:
I'm cheap and on bugget. Maybe buy it later when I get more mods done. I guess safc neo will have to do for now.

Maft gen II ? It has wide band tracking and it's under 300 bucks .
 

drjonez

Supramania Contributor
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
3,061
Likes
0
Location
the motor city
#26
This thread will serve as an archive of all AFC/SAFC/II/Neo questions asked in this forum. I will leave individual threads up for a few days and then merge them into this thread.
 

Insidious Surmiser

<i>Formerly 89jdm7m
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
2,172
Likes
0
Location
Oceanfront
#27
well then... i've looked high and low, and can't find the wiring diagram for the safc for a 87 7m-gte :(.... not even on apex-i's web site??? anyone know where to look?
 

Insidious Surmiser

<i>Formerly 89jdm7m
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
2,172
Likes
0
Location
Oceanfront
#29
drjonez said:
learn to look harder. from apexi's site:

http://www.apexi-usa.com/pdfWiring/7.pdf

you want diagram T2-b.
:icon_conf I found that page, and about 10 other links to it before I posted. It appears this is for the 1st gen afc, not the 2nd?

My posts wouldn't even show up last night, so I went ahead and figured it out on my own. Thanks for the help, but i found a safc2 diagram for a sr20, and looking at my ecu pin-out, I figured it out. All I really needed to know was what each wire was for. The manuals also give specific instructions for installation, so it's as straight as straightforward can get. One more question though... Will the knock monitoring function work on our cars?
 

drjonez

Supramania Contributor
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
3,061
Likes
0
Location
the motor city
#31
89jdm7m said:
:icon_conf I found that page, and about 10 other links to it before I posted. It appears this is for the 1st gen afc, not the 2nd?

My posts wouldn't even show up last night, so I went ahead and figured it out on my own. Thanks for the help, but i found a safc2 diagram for a sr20, and looking at my ecu pin-out, I figured it out. All I really needed to know was what each wire was for. The manuals also give specific instructions for installation, so it's as straight as straightforward can get. One more question though... Will the knock monitoring function work on our cars?
no real diff in wiring between SAFC 1, 2, neo, AFC. same functions, etc.

yeah, the knock monitoring will work....but as to what a useful level is, i have no idea.

89jdm7m said:
argh... my posts are being moderated????? I also tried to edit in safc 2, but of course the mod chose to leave that part out :(
ALL posts in the SME forums are moderated.
 

87soup

F*CK SMOG CHECKS!!!
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
864
Likes
0
Location
Sacramento
#35
OK i jumped on the wagon... Got my Neo a week ago, installed and love what i know about it so far....
I have a 1JZ stock injectors and turbos, previously if i tried to up boost it would hit fuel cut;
My question: Can the SAFC help me trick my ecu into accepting more boost or are my stock injectors just maxed out?!?!?!?

Also i have read the thread and found out i DO need a WB sensor to tune...

really, I just want some pointers/ direction to take in for my Neo setup...
Thanks!!!
 

al lewis

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 3, 2007
Messages
102
Likes
0
Location
dominica
#36
Hey guys i have a question to put out there does anyone have a wireing diagram to wire a SAFC to a HKS PFC F-Con or can someone tell me if this can be done. please reply!!. Because i would like to tune down the Fuel on the F-con cause it's a bit to rich at 13psi this is why i would like to know if i could integrate and use my SAFC with my F-con to tune.
 

hvyman

Dang Dude! No Way Man.
Staff member
Super Moderator
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 17, 2007
Messages
12,744
Likes
27
Location
Orange, CA
#39
OK i jumped on the wagon... Got my Neo a week ago, installed and love what i know about it so far....
I have a 1JZ stock injectors and turbos, previously if i tried to up boost it would hit fuel cut;
My question: Can the SAFC help me trick my ecu into accepting more boost or are my stock injectors just maxed out?!?!?!?

Also i have read the thread and found out i DO need a WB sensor to tune...

really, I just want some pointers/ direction to take in for my Neo setup...
Thanks!!!

Afc is not going to allow to raise fuel cut.