AR5 Trans Take Two: The Solstice Solution

Hotcakes0007

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 6, 2014
Messages
5
Likes
0
Location
Tampa Fl
yea i think im just going to stick with the r154 stuff since i still have some of it left. Do you know if the toyota pilot barring needs to be changed or do i have to get a different one? Still trying to figure out what i need to do for the back input shaft of the trans i seen that you took off that end piece and got something different to work with a toyota yoke?

Heh, you don't know how seriously I considered busting out the MIG :)

I wound up getting a smiple Chevy slipe yoke that fit the same diameter as the stock Supra pinion flange. Cost me $275 at some hole-in-the-wall in Livonia. Still way too much for a stupid shaft, but better than $1200.

Is that chevy yoke something a drive shaft shop would have in stock or would i have to find it in a junk yard?
 
Last edited:

andresz28

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
14
Likes
0
Location
san salvador
limequat, how´s your ar5 holding? how much hp/tq on your car?

I just bought a 2007 solstice trans and im planing on installing it on my turbo lq4 firebird... i know it has nothing to do with supras but its the only thread on the internet where people are using that trans... i just broke my aston martin t56 but it was because the driveshaft was shit and broke taking everything with it... so i want to know if that trans will hold it or if I have to go auto wich is like my last option

my car has 567whp @8psi dyno couldn´t read the torque but i assume is like 550ft/lbf
 

limequat

Dissident
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
533
Likes
0
Location
Detroit
yea i think im just going to stick with the r154 stuff since i still have some of it left. Do you know if the toyota pilot barring needs to be changed or do i have to get a different one?
Yes, you'll need a new pilot bearing. You can get one in Mcmaster carr. The dimensions are somewhere in this thread.

Still trying to figure out what i need to do for the back input shaft of the trans i seen that you took off that end piece and got something different to work with a toyota yoke?
Not following.
 

limequat

Dissident
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
533
Likes
0
Location
Detroit
limequat, how´s your ar5 holding? how much hp/tq on your car?

I just bought a 2007 solstice trans and im planing on installing it on my turbo lq4 firebird... i know it has nothing to do with supras but its the only thread on the internet where people are using that trans... i just broke my aston martin t56 but it was because the driveshaft was shit and broke taking everything with it... so i want to know if that trans will hold it or if I have to go auto wich is like my last option

my car has 567whp @8psi dyno couldn´t read the torque but i assume is like 550ft/lbf
I only put about 5 psi on it which is probably around 400 lb-ft. You're making a lot of torque, don't know. There's a few R154s that have taken more torque than that, but I don't think anybody has stressed an AR5 that much. Good luck.
 

andresz28

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
14
Likes
0
Location
san salvador
I only put about 5 psi on it which is probably around 400 lb-ft. You're making a lot of torque, don't know. There's a few R154s that have taken more torque than that, but I don't think anybody has stressed an AR5 that much. Good luck.
jajajajaajaa for your videos i suspected you were like 700whp/500 lb/ft well ill let you know if it holds right... i hope it does
 

limequat

Dissident
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
533
Likes
0
Location
Detroit
Mill those 3 lips off so that you have a flat surface and then drill in a toyota 4x4 pattern.
 
Last edited:

andresz28

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
14
Likes
0
Location
san salvador

grifter679

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
74
Likes
0
Location
San Francisco
im looking for part numbers for the ar5 front bearing retainer as well as the gxp slave cylinder. i need to convert y r154 to an internal slave cylider due to lsx and long tubes being in the way. does anyone have any leads on these numbers?
 

grifter679

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
74
Likes
0
Location
San Francisco
never mind i was able to get a hold of a pontiac parts directory, i will post up the numbers for people interested in a factory internal slave setup
 

andresz28

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
14
Likes
0
Location
san salvador

PontiacPwr

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jan 24, 2014
Messages
3
Likes
0
Location
Akron, OH
1) Mine came from my stock trans: 1987 Supra Turbo. It should be the same part for any Supra turbo 1987-1992.
2) You'll have to pull of the tail shaft which isn't that big of a job.
I ended up getting off ebay a R154 kit that had the arm and a new top cover. and another ebay find getting the Supra (86-92) shifter.
- that works great.

Now the problem is the driveshaft conversion.
- i'm running a ford 9" out back, and need u-joint to u-joint driveshaft.
- bit the "yoke" on the Solstice trans needs changed.

Anybody know of a specific make, model & yr rwd yoke that fits my tailshaft?

 

PontiacPwr

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jan 24, 2014
Messages
3
Likes
0
Location
Akron, OH
hope it helps, i search for the toyota 4x4 driveshaft and i thought it would be a little dangerous mostly because of centering everything, but i luckily found a volvo s70 driveshat and it fits the ar5 rear yoke it looks like this http://www.ebay.com/itm/Volvo-AWD-o...e:Volvo|Model:S70&hash=item258c49446e&vxp=mtr tomorrow ill send the driveshaft to be weld and post some pics
saw your pics, are you going to a live axle or is it an independent rear?

I am going to run a short driveshaft back to a ford 9" and I'm concerned the cv joint might not have enough motion range for my install.
- plus I'm sure I need a custom line, with a slip joint as well.

I was curious how your's is holding up.
 

525gte

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Sep 19, 2011
Messages
450
Likes
0
Location
hoquiam
I have been reading threw this . I may have missed the answer tread got off topic and I skipped a few pages. does the ar5 output yoke have the same spline as the r154 slip yoke? I really want ar5 cv joint yoke on the output of my r154
 

andresz28

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
14
Likes
0
Location
san salvador
Mánaged to drive my ar5 with the stock output yoke but didn't give me the security feeling of a slip yoke, removed it and it uses a chevrolet 27 spline but the Chevy slip yoke is 38mm and the seal is for a 40mm slip, so either you change the rear seal or you find a yoke with that width don't know if the Colorado yoke would be correct...
limesquat didn't you have any problems with your drive shaft? The solstice trans only has 1.75 inch depth before hitting the mainshaft bearing...
 

andresz28

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
14
Likes
0
Location
san salvador
And found this adapterhttp://www.driftmotion.com/Solstice-Sky-AR5-Transmission-Flange-Adapter-p/dm3119.htm There is a drag race event this weekend and will test the drive shaft with the Volvo yoke , and will let you know
 

limequat

Dissident
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
533
Likes
0
Location
Detroit
Mánaged to drive my ar5 with the stock output yoke but didn't give me the security feeling of a slip yoke, removed it and it uses a chevrolet 27 spline but the Chevy slip yoke is 38mm and the seal is for a 40mm slip, so either you change the rear seal or you find a yoke with that width don't know if the Colorado yoke would be correct...
limesquat didn't you have any problems with your drive shaft? The solstice trans only has 1.75 inch depth before hitting the mainshaft bearing...
In theory the ~1.75 should be sufficient, as you only need to account for compliance in the trans mount and diff mounts. As opposed to a live axle where you need to account for the entire rear suspension travel. Nonetheless, I was not comfortable doing this either, and wound up switching to a 4x4 truck shaft with an internal slip joint.
I was leaking at the output yoke, but I thought it was due to rust on the yoke.
 

limequat

Dissident
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
533
Likes
0
Location
Detroit
And found this adapterhttp://www.driftmotion.com/Solstice-Sky-AR5-Transmission-Flange-Adapter-p/dm3119.htm There is a drag race event this weekend and will test the drive shaft with the Volvo yoke , and will let you know
Wow! Good on driftmotion for putting stuff out for this swap. Now if we could get a bolt-in shifter housing, the R154 would be obsolete.
 

andresz28

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
14
Likes
0
Location
san salvador
There is.... The Colorado transmission has it but I read somewhere long time ago that the solstice had a heat treatment or something that made it better, and the hummer has carbon fiber syncros, but is something I remotely remember, and using the Colorado trans you can use a regular slip yoke and avoid all the shit we have been through
 

limequat

Dissident
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
533
Likes
0
Location
Detroit
There is.... The Colorado transmission has it but I read somewhere long time ago that the solstice had a heat treatment or something that made it better, and the hummer has carbon fiber syncros, but is something I remotely remember, and using the Colorado trans you can use a regular slip yoke and avoid all the shit we have been through
The problem with the Colorado trans is that it puts the shifter way too far forward for Supras.

I also saw the other day that you can bolt a JDM Soarer shift housing to the solstice version and eliminate the remote shifter. It would still be too long for a Supra, but could be just right for other swaps.
 

Zazzn

OLD school
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
1,048
Likes
14
Location
Toronto / San Francisco
Lime first thanks for continuing this post. in an effort to summerize everything everyones benifit.

To swap an AR from a SKY/SOLSTICE into a supra which already has a R154 (but borken)

Swap tail housing
Swap shifter housing
7M clutch with GM spline count due to GM spline count (26) on AR5 (unless you swap input shafts)
DS adapter (Drift motion sells this adapter) or isuzu rodeo stub, with new holes drilled for toyota DS, may still be too long though.
DS or at least the first half of the DS if you use the adapter
JZ bellhousing for JZ swaps
Transmission mount (might be able to swap the R154 one?)


How to resolve the mechanical speedo?

What else am I missing?

For JZ engines in mk3's you will also need the R154 -> JZ bell housing


More info here (good info)
http://my.is/forums/f114/ar5-swap-progress-thread-447981/
 
Last edited:

andresz28

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
14
Likes
0
Location
san salvador
I installed the driveshaft but had some troubles, first ordered the gt500 DS and the yoke is a lot bigger than the stock ar5, so i needed to make some adapters
11026297_10156104578890157_1402211341013172583_n.jpg
11880409_10156104578695157_8216554798945898272_n.jpg this black spacer came with the DS as was useful for making a model for the adapter
11059957_10156104579490157_2624627219097133521_n.jpg
11891262_10156104624570157_6818864759274063405_n.jpg i made a spacer from 3/8" because the DS was sitting to far and was on its limits of stretching so much... but i has been working fine so far...
11899913_10156104579310157_3941182165233364977_n.jpg
11870836_10156104579845157_3971606014218696842_n.jpg
11891145_10156104579690157_4056521250283801409_n.jpg
havent tried it with slicks

https://video-mia1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/h...=34e463d5262c326f4a894ac51421a797&oe=55D4CD1A let me know if you see the vid (sorry the quality I downloaded it from my fb page and didnt find the original file)
 
Last edited:

Carlos Brown

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Aug 6, 2015
Messages
1
Likes
0
Location
Indianapolis, IN
andresz28,

I had read over 100 pages on the AR5 swap recently, but I am still not sure about the output shaft depth on the Solstice tranny. Can you confirm the depth of the output shaft or how deep a yoke can be inserted over the shaft? Thanks for your assistance...

Regards,

Carlos
 

andresz28

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
14
Likes
0
Location
san salvador
andresz28,

I had read over 100 pages on the AR5 swap recently, but I am still not sure about the output shaft depth on the Solstice tranny. Can you confirm the depth of the output shaft or how deep a yoke can be inserted over the shaft? Thanks for your assistance...

Regards,

Carlos
I dont remenber exactly but is a little less than 2 inches, is not worthy to use a slip yoke, it has to be very long so it doesnt hit the threaded part were the locking nut goes and you will only have less than 2 inches of support ... the chevy yoke fits, but the rear seal is larger so you will need to replace it... my advice, depending on the car use the r154 tail housing or the colorado... i used the soltice remote shifter and it feels great on my firebird, better than the t56 i previously had
 

Greg55_99

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 2, 2005
Messages
55
Likes
0
Location
MA

madsupra88

BoOoOoST
Authorized Seller
Joined
Sep 17, 2005
Messages
1,245
Likes
0
Location
Detroit,MI
finally got around to tig welding the shifter retainer. If anyone is interested i have 3 more flange plates that was cut out with a water jet. i will sell for $50. each 1 - 5/16" and 2 - 1/4".
PM me if your interested.
Im planning on doing the same thing, does this put it in the stock location for the MK3 supra?

Thanks