3P's TCCS Disassembly/Analysis

Piratetip

Far From Maddening Crowds
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
1,210
Likes
31
Location
MKE, WI
How do I get in on the testing?
I am up and running again.

Otherwise I am going MS3 Pro Ultimate Standalone.
 

Zazzn

OLD school
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
996
Likes
10
Location
Toronto / San Francisco
I don't consider beta testing for 3 years beta testing. I call it you guys got the first batch but no one has done anything since :(

I've PM and emailed 3P with no response.
 

3p141592654

90T
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
3,932
Likes
27
Location
Thousand Oaks, CA
Yeah its true, this project has gone too slow. My day job became a big time suck plus family commitments put a dent in things for the last few years. With one kid now in college this may be a good time to see what can be done.

I do have parts on hand to make 25 boards which is a good thing because a lot of the 5V ICs are getting hard to find. What I don't have is boards because I need to finish the CAD for the rev 2 design.

I have been running one of the ECUs in my daily driver 7MGTE for 5 years now. Been as reliable as stock and is using the Lex AFM and stock 440s with the Lexus software calibration so drivability is perfect. It has passed Cali smog test a couple of times now with no issues. My Blitz SBC is set to 0.9 bar and that is as high as I can go without a fairly big software mod because at 0.9 bar the 16 bit load variable is maxed out.

My goal has always been to offer the ECU with the Lex AFM and Bosch EV14 injectors. I've already written the code that can use modern injector cal parameters and so there are just a few missing pieces to make this the best option for the 7M. As I write this I can feel my energy level going up.
 

turbotoy

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 4, 2005
Messages
67
Likes
0
Location
NY
Perhaps to keep the energy level on the rise, I too have been running the 3P ECU in my car for the last two years. I'm also running the Lexus AFM with software calibration but with RC 550 cc/min injectors (and many other modifications). The car runs flawlessly, to the point that I can't remember the last time I had the laptop hooked up. And that is exactly the point of this project.
 

Piratetip

Far From Maddening Crowds
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
1,210
Likes
31
Location
MKE, WI
So 13psi is a hard cut with the current setup.

Is everything about the fueling / timing / calibration tables accessible and able to be modified?

Pi - How can I get the hardware / software to get this working on my 87'?

What work remains to be done besides getting new boards made?
 

3p141592654

90T
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
3,932
Likes
27
Location
Thousand Oaks, CA
Hmm, seems like we lost a bunch of recent posts in the server switch over. A quick update, I should have the CAD for the production board done this weekend. It is very close.
 

Piratetip

Far From Maddening Crowds
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
1,210
Likes
31
Location
MKE, WI
Shooting for ~350 hp initially.
Nothing too crazy.
My goals are reliability as I plan to drive it daily once everything is completed. (weather permitting of course)
The focus will be drive ability - usable power, not a huge useless peak of HP @ 6000RPM.

Currently the injectors are 550 RC's paired to a Lexus AFM.
Have not yet calculated or tested the boost levels needed with my current turbo.
~14psi should flow enough CFM's to reach my target, but that has yet to be determined.
 

andrew_mx83

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
127
Likes
2
Location
Melbourne
Hi 3p, amazing work on this project mate. Well over my head but I can respect and appreciate the knowledge and work you've put in.

Having seen the maps, how do you think the stock GTE ecu would go running a GE? Obviously there will still be a tune for vacuum, just curious if you think it would be close enough to run a high comp NA motor?
 

3p141592654

90T
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
3,932
Likes
27
Location
Thousand Oaks, CA
The GTE ecu requires the Karmen-vortex AFM and waste fire ignition and corresponding wiring harness of the GTE engine. If you have a GE with a distributor ignition and flapper style AFM then you will need the GE version of the ECU. Besides, I think the ignition timing in the GTE ecu would not be appropriate for the GE, as it assumes a lower compression ratio.
 

3p141592654

90T
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
3,932
Likes
27
Location
Thousand Oaks, CA
@Pirate, you are right at the limit of where the current ECU runs out of load. It is trivial to do what Techtom did and just delete the fuel cut completely, but to me that is not acceptable. I think you are a good candidate for the revised code that will double the load.... but I need to write it first!
 

GC89

BoostRodeo
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jun 13, 2007
Messages
975
Likes
5
Location
Spokane, WA
I would be interested as well. I am currently running a 57 trim with denso drop in 660cc injectors on a maft-pro. If your next revision could accommodate this I would love to switch back to a Lexus AFM from speed density and drop the maft pro.
 

Piratetip

Far From Maddening Crowds
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
1,210
Likes
31
Location
MKE, WI
@Pirate, you are right at the limit of where the current ECU runs out of load. It is trivial to do what Techtom did and just delete the fuel cut completely, but to me that is not acceptable. I think you are a good candidate for the revised code that will double the load.... but I need to write it first!
Sounds good.
Yeah from what I have been reading the hard cuts start happening right around these levels.
Then people start tricking the ECU to get past it and that sounds like a bad method to achieve the goal.

I have played around with some Subie ECU remapping in the past, those guys have it easy compared to these 1980's Toyota ECU's!

So are you expanding the memory with external IC's and enlarging the tables that way?
I am trying to catch up on what had already been done on this project, I am way behind. :D
 

andrew_mx83

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
127
Likes
2
Location
Melbourne
The GTE ecu requires the Karmen-vortex AFM and waste fire ignition and corresponding wiring harness of the GTE engine. If you have a GE with a distributor ignition and flapper style AFM then you will need the GE version of the ECU. Besides, I think the ignition timing in the GTE ecu would not be appropriate for the GE, as it assumes a lower compression ratio.
Yes exactly, I'm trying to gain waste spark and the KV maf (plus the larger injectors), that's the whole reason to consider the GTE ecu.
It would be a stepping stone to get the car running and registered before installing an aftermarket ecu. Standard ecus are much easier to get passed here, no smog tests if it's all "stock"

So you would think the timing map would be more aggressive in the GTE ecu compared with the GE?
Obviously I can adjust base timing at the CAS, I'm curious about how the rest of the map would look, do they throw lots of advance in to bring it up on boost?
I would expect that even on the GE ecu I'll have to pull a lot of base timing to keep it from pinging under load at 12.4:1CR, just not sure how the GTE would go in that regard.
 

rolla03

New Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2017
Messages
1
Likes
0
Location
METRO MANILA
hi need help making the tccs reader? checked out the schematics and seemed like it is a double sided board. can anyone pm me photos of the finished tccs reader ? also parts list.

thanks
 

Zazzn

OLD school
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
996
Likes
10
Location
Toronto / San Francisco
M0ar updates, I'd like to get something running on my 91. Which is currently stock except for DP/Catback. I have a BOSS JR turbo waiting to go on, and waiting for more boost. I'm planning on using an Emanage ultimate as my stepping stone if this never happens as I delete the AFM and use a map sensor and map the map volts to HZ for the AFM if I go that route. At worse I can clamp the stock AFM and use a map based fueling solution for anything above the load clamp.
 

mentat-vvo

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 23, 2013
Messages
19
Likes
0
Location
Vladivostok
I've recently received the chipped JZA70 ECU. The mines board is based on 74xx series of ICs:
mines_board.jpg

The board is being reversed:
mines_reversed.jpg

Also, I've found some rare ECU from ST205 Celica with EEPROMed version of MCUs:
st205_3S-GTE_HKS.jpg

The 4-bit Fujitsu (detonation DSP) MCU was decapped. I'm waiting for an access to a good scope to read out the maskrom.
IMG_4059.JPG

And the last news: the Toshiba MCU after decapping. Microscope photoes are pending.
toshiba_8x.jpg
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Piratetip

Far From Maddening Crowds
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
1,210
Likes
31
Location
MKE, WI
Is there going to be another run of parts needed to program the stock TCCS system?

Otherwise I will be picking up a MS3Pro Ultimate Standalone shortly.

My build should be progressing quickly as spring comes around.

Trying to find out if the programmable TCCS system is going to happen or not.
 

andrewp724

Back from the Suby
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 5, 2006
Messages
7
Likes
0
Location
Greenville, SC
I’m really interested in this as well. I have an 87 7M-GTE 5spd that I’d like to run a 57mm CT and stock injectors or RC 550’s. I have a 1UZ AFM housing I could use as well if necessary. I’d love to have a tuning option like this more similar to Accessport or DSMLink.
 

Nick M

Established 1994
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Sep 9, 2005
Messages
8,795
Likes
6
Location
U.S.
My goal has always been to offer the ECU with the Lex AFM and Bosch EV14 injectors. I've already written the code that can use modern injector cal parameters and so there are just a few missing pieces to make this the best option for the 7M. As I write this I can feel my energy level going up.
Sometimes I rethink this. I want to remove some of the safety margin with heat. In addition to the 550s and Boss Jr with the 1UZFE meter. My car also idles and drives like normal, but I don't have the screw all the way out like some do.
 

mentat-vvo

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 23, 2013
Messages
19
Likes
0
Location
Vladivostok
memo_black_and_blue_wide.jpg

Here's the news from the evil_empire: the Toshiba 5A41/5B25/7433 MCU is all mine. JZX100 (1JZ-GTE, VVTi) is running (Sard Analyze copy, 3 MCU for a while); 3S-GTE is running (Mines Copy soon, simple boost-up for now, no restrictions on boost value) and many others. Every entity of the D8X ECU is running: 42-pin, 64-pin, 68-pin MCUs; that is: every supported ECU can be potentially chipped. Even JDM diesel 2C-E engines, et al. I did not write my own software like 3P did. I just used TunerStudio instead. The results are collected here. Also, you can find me @ Utube.

I will modify any ECU of some enthusiasts before World War 3 begins for FREE. Just because some free modules of intermediate version are available.

You send me the ECU :: I modify it for FREE ::

p.s. I use wireless tech - bluetooth only

p.p.s. postage is paid by the customer.

#russiansdidit

the photo: latest module for the sDIP64: EGT amplifier, 8 outputs for ignition, 8 analog inputs, 2 serial ports, i2c, 4 PWM/MISC outputs.
"wide" version. "Thin" version for 3S-GTE ST205 is tested to be OK.
 
Last edited:

Alexf

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 16, 2015
Messages
1
Likes
0
Location
Voronezh
I will modify any ECU of some enthusiasts before World War 3 begins for FREE. Just because some free modules of intermediate version are available.

You send me the ECU :: I modify it for FREE ::

p.s. I use wireless tech - bluetooth only

p.p.s. postage is paid by the customer.

#russiansdidit

the photo: latest module for the sDIP64: EGT amplifier, 8 outputs for ignition, 8 analog inputs, 2 serial ports, i2c, 4 PWM/MISC outputs.
"wide" version. "Thin" version for 3S-GTE ST205 is tested to be OK.
Hello.

Sorry for little offtop. Already running my 3S-GTE with ECU modified by mentat-vvo . It works with online via bluetooth. So I think it's amazing offer :)
 

suprarx7nut

YotaMD.com author
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
3,875
Likes
12
Location
Arizona
Without going back a dozen pages, any chance of this working for ~500 ftlbs torque? The simplicity intrigues me, but it seems a very modest gain over the stock ECU if ~13 psi is the limit.

Really cool work, either way!
 

mentat-vvo

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 23, 2013
Messages
19
Likes
0
Location
Vladivostok
Excellent. Have you had any success with the Fujitsu processor used in the A/T ECU and supermonitor?
The MB88572 MCU is EPROM-based. Maybe, some day Mikhail will tear this ECU down. I've sent him samples.
Or, I will accidently find MASKROM version. However, there's also a 3rd way: the 26-pin connector, for MB88572 ISP programming, I suppose. Never looked into it yet.

I've shifted my research efforts to 16-bit Toshiba MCUs.
 

Zazzn

OLD school
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
996
Likes
10
Location
Toronto / San Francisco
Hello Mentat, are you saying you can reprogram any of the ECU's to follow one of the tunes you already have on file? I'm guessing there is no ability to modify the fields still?

I ended up buying an MS3 PNP, because I felt like I've waited for this to come to light, and I don't think it will ever do so. 3P would you be able to dump the timing maps and the load maps out to an excel sheet I would LOVE to use factory timing maps as a base for my tune. (although overly aggressive)
 

mentat-vvo

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 23, 2013
Messages
19
Likes
0
Location
Vladivostok
Hello Mentat, are you saying you can reprogram any of the ECU's to follow one of the tunes you already have on file
Yes. Potentially, any supported ECU can be modified. Any "field" or parameter or table that is found in stock ECU could be modified. I prefer speed-density based ECUs. The well-studied ECU for 4E-FTE engine is now able to send online data to TunerStudio, write logs, edit two main maps. I've even found how the knock sensor is being monitored. The noise from knock sensor is a key variable (together with a knock-retard variable) for online tuning. The maps are extended to the top of MAP-sensor range 220 kPa of absolute pressure. The JZX90 1JZ-GTE twin turbo ECU is also well enough studied. Since I have copies of the boost-up JDM ECUs, I can just simply download those advanced firmware images into my devices directly. In this way JZX100 1JZGTE VVTi was boosted up: runs well on stock setup @ 190 kPa of absolute pressure. The acceleration test 100-200 km/h is 14.5 seconds.

If you are using speed-density algorithm in MS3PRO, the stock maps are useless. Some pages up I've posted 7M-GTE file (for IDA disassembler), dumped from JDM 7M-GTE Supra MA70. The IDA file contains those load-based maps and code, of course. However, the exact equation of turning 8-bit values into degrees is unknown and 3P did not post it. It's like ign_adv=TableValue/4.25-10 or close to this. However, 3P has YouTube channel. And as far as I remember, some of his videos contain ignition advance map in degrees.

The "fuel maps" in 7M-GTE are strange. There are at least two 3D maps. I can not exactly tell how they work and unfortunately, their data is useless for MS3PRO. Maybe 3P would/will say more. But, I must inform that I'm going to record stock JDM ECU logs as soon as it possible to be done remotely. Since my device has some ananog inputs, MAP-sensor and hot-wire based MAF sensor could be easily wired. From the log file it is possible to calculate VE from injection timing and also ign_adv value in MAP/RPM coordinates.

My understanding of 7M-GTE ECU program is far from what 3P did.
 

Zazzn

OLD school
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
996
Likes
10
Location
Toronto / San Francisco
Yes, quite far, but this makes sense if you were to use the 2jz-gte JDM Speed-density system, which is what I was looking for before anyways.

I don't quite understand how you are connecting with tuner studio, I'm not sure if you are aware of the tool toyoobd1 it's a tool that can output many of the values of the stock ecu while running. However, it's very slow so it's not very accurate for trying to capture the timing etc. More for diagnostics.

Unfortunately, the 7m-GTE is not speed-density unless you are using a TURBO A model. Really is a shame that 3p let this die after all this work, especially since it didn't result in a product I wish he would release all the info as opensource.
 

mentat-vvo

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 23, 2013
Messages
19
Likes
0
Location
Vladivostok
Yes, quite far, but this makes sense if you were to use the 2jz-gte JDM Speed-density system, which is what I was looking for before anyways.
There's almost no difference between 1JZ/2JZ speed-density system for atmo/turbo. The code is almost the same. The TunerStudio's protocol is quite simple. It has logging, adjustable interface. I do not use TE2/E1 subsystem and do not use serial interface. All data exchange is being held @ full-speed parallel data buses. Thus, the data exchange speed is highest. However, there are some issues when data are being pushed into program area. I´m working on ´shadow´ direct memory access to write to the program area without halting the MCU.
 
Last edited:

3p141592654

90T
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
3,932
Likes
27
Location
Thousand Oaks, CA
Nothing is dead. I'm just slow and running into some assembly issues.

I've posted the stock timing map for the 7MGTE. Its in this thread. I've also posted the difference between the timing maps of the USDM and JDM maps since their has been debate about the effect of EGR on timing.

And just to be clear, there are 4 people on this planet running my modified ECUs. Two I have lost touch with, but the other I know is using it with the modified code for the Lexus AFM.

I think I've also posted the knock retard timing map and open loop enrichment maps.

And, I was able to get my hands on a 7M-GTEU Group A ECU running speed density and extract its code.

Only problem is it uses ECU hardware that is different from the standard ECU, and I have no way of figuring out other toyota engines of the same generation that were using that ECU hardware. If anyone knows speak up. If we can get our hands on the hardware I can provide the Group A code to run the 7M on speed density.
 
Last edited:

mentat-vvo

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 23, 2013
Messages
19
Likes
0
Location
Vladivostok
Only problem is it uses ECU hardware that is different from the standard ECU, and I have no way of figuring out other toyota engines of the same generation that were using that ECU hardware. If anyone knows speak up. If we can get our hands on the hardware I can provide the Group A code to run the 7M on speed density.
If I understood correctly, you have Turbo A ECU, but you can not extract the firmware from it? Does the thread contain a hires pics of this ECU?
 

3p141592654

90T
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
3,932
Likes
27
Location
Thousand Oaks, CA
No, I extracted the code without trouble . Its using a standard 64 pin CPU.

I do not know where to find any hardware to run it on. Its using a ECU with the MA ECU connectors, but a speed density board. Only thing I could think of was maybe a 1G GTE. But I don't have one to check.
 

mentat-vvo

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Dec 23, 2013
Messages
19
Likes
0
Location
Vladivostok
No, I extracted the code without trouble . Its using a standard 64 pin CPU.

I do not know where to find any hardware to run it on. Its using a ECU with the MA ECU connectors, but a speed density board. Only thing I could think of was maybe a 1G GTE. But I don't have one to check.
I have 1G-GTE ECU with the same connectors as MA70. But, it is flapdoor-based, I suppose.
Maybe, MA70 users should migrate to JZ-code speed-density. Turbo A fuelling/spark maps could be starting point for this.
I would like to have that Turbo A binary in exchange of some other one from my collection or ´for free´.
 

Nick M

Established 1994
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Sep 9, 2005
Messages
8,795
Likes
6
Location
U.S.
The low end cars were using speed density. I am not sure how useful something like a Corolla would be for you.