2JZGTE MKIII Swap Info

Kristian_Wraae

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 18, 2007
Messages
715
Likes
4
Location
Aarhus
Custom driveshaft: like shaftmasters.com - email them.
Electric to mechanical speedo converter : like the cable-X or grafting in the Aristo/Supra mkIV electronic speedometer
Sort out ABS sensor if you have/want to keep ABS. Can be done with transplanting the pickup wheel from the 7M automatic gearbox to the driveshaft flange on the Aristo transmission and fabricating a bracket for the ABS sensor. They need to be appr 1 mm apart.
 

KingCobra

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
8
Likes
0
Location
Melbourne, FL
Are you saying you can run the 2JZ-GTE with a 1JZ-GTE ecu? Or running the A34x with the stock 2JZ-GTE ecu?
The Aristo tranny is a A34x series tranny. The problem is it has a tailshaft with a 3 prong yolk (it isn't even compatible with the MKIV Supra hahhaha) ... The Soarer and Chaser use the same series tranny but they have the slip yolk tailshaft just like the 7M/A340 which allows you to use the stock driveshaft, and the port for the speedo cable to drive the speedo gauge.

Worst case, you might have to drop the pans on both trannies and swap out the electronic solenoids... but as far as I know in that generation (non-vvti), the JZS147 ecu should be able to control a Chaser or Soarer tranny with no problems.

No need to make custom driveshafts and have to spend money and wire up extra electronics to make the speedo work when it's just a matter of mixing and matching the right parts from Toyota.

It's when you get into the VVT-i hardware that keeping the auto tranny starts to get a bit tricky (my MK3 is running a JZX100 Chaser tranny and it is controlled by the JZS161 Aristo ECU) ...

... and yes you could control a 2JZ with a 1JZ ecu ... but I don't know anyone that has done it ... :icon_razz
 

kneedragger85

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
363
Likes
0
Location
Boulder, CO
I am 99% finished with the swap and I've come across a few items that no one else has ever mentioned before;

1) When swapping a front sump for a rear sump oil pan, the turbo drain mount piece will not be in the same location. You will need to shorten the rear drain hose and find 7/8" oil line for the front drain to add to as well as bend the piping. I found the 7M crankcase ventilation hose fit perfectly after some cutting and bending.

2) You definitely need to hammer your firewall to help you drop the engine in due to the intake portion of the rear twin. On top of hammering the firewall, you need to drop your ABS lines as low as possible by removing all the mounting tabs.

3) If using the BIC brackets, they are way too thin to use with the stock engine bracket bolts. You'll need to find some 20mm length bolts to use with those brackets. I ended up using the auto flexplate bolts which fit perfectly with washers I had laying around. You also use the rear most bolt holes on both sides. The intake side requires unbolting the fuel pressure dampener and using it's bolts for the bracket.

4) Obvious but never mentioned, you have to extend your alternator wiring due to the 7M being on the driver's side and the 2JZ being on the passenger's side.

5) The Aristo uses some other pump for the brake booster so you need to remove the vacuum fitting from your 7M intake manifold, bend the arm flat to clear the 2JZ manifold and bolt it down. Also, you need to buy some longer vacuum hose as the factory hose is too short to reach the location of the newly mounted fitting.

That's about all I can think of at the moment. I figured it's worth mentioning to those of you who are not expecting it like I did.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

sttt11

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Sep 14, 2010
Messages
11
Likes
0
Location
AZ
I have a question. I have read this post several times and haven't seen any information about my problem. I had a shop do a 2JZ-GTE with a W58 and it seems that the shift handle is so far back that they cut the console and the boot kit won't fit. Is there any way to remedy this with a different shifter? Bye the way the car is a 89 Supra!
 
Last edited:

kneedragger85

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
363
Likes
0
Location
Boulder, CO
I have a question. I have read this post several times and haven't seen any information about my problem. I had a shop do a 2JZ-GTE with a W58 and it seems that the shift handle is so far back that they cut the console and the boot kit won't fit. Is there any way to remedy this with a different shifter? Bye the way the car is a 89 Supra!
Sounds like they gave you a MKIV W58 which has an extension linkage for the shifter.
 

Kristian_Wraae

Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 18, 2007
Messages
715
Likes
4
Location
Aarhus
How many have had issues with the 2JZ-GTE hitting the drivers side bolt for the steering rack?

I have used the Toyota 1JZ brackets with the stock round motor mounts and the engine is hitting the rear bolt that fastens the bracket that holds the steering rack on the drivers side. It has notched the edge of the lower oil pan.

Do you grind down the bolt a bit or what could be wrong? I'm considering solide mounts or a torque damper to over come this. Do you know if the BIC torque damper will work with the 2JZ?
 

1jzer

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
1
Likes
0
Location
New York
is this everything that is needed for the 2j? i was planning to a 2j swap but hit a few bumps and postponed the project do to money issues but it seems more affordable than i thought!
 

dubsupra209

CENCAL SUPRAS
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 6, 2009
Messages
1,811
Likes
0
Location
Merced, CA
is that pump listed in the list on the 1st page for a usdm pump if you don't want to do the hydro fan set up?

also what about clutch dick can i use a 7m clutch disk or whats my options?

also anybody have pics of the how close the fit is with the abs lines and the twins...? thanks
 

kneedragger85

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
363
Likes
0
Location
Boulder, CO
is that pump listed in the list on the 1st page for a usdm pump if you don't want to do the hydro fan set up?
Yes, use the USDM water pump.


also what about clutch dick can i use a 7m clutch disk or whats my options?
Use a 7M-GTE clutch disk and pressure plate if you're using a R-154 with a 1JZ flywheel.

also anybody have pics of the how close the fit is with the abs lines and the twins...? thanks
No but you need remove the protective plate and move them down/out of the way to hammer your firewall in about an inch for the rear twin's intake to clear the firewall.
 

dubsupra209

CENCAL SUPRAS
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 6, 2009
Messages
1,811
Likes
0
Location
Merced, CA
o ok so i just need 1j flywheel i don't need a 1jz disk and pressure plate?

is there any little thing you might have missed when you were getting your 2j swap done or any more advice..my buddy is going come from socal to help me do the swap so i want to make sure i got everything there

thanks for answering my questions
 

kneedragger85

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
363
Likes
0
Location
Boulder, CO
o ok so i just need 1j flywheel i don't need a 1jz disk and pressure plate?

is there any little thing you might have missed when you were getting your 2j swap done or any more advice..my buddy is going come from socal to help me do the swap so i want to make sure i got everything there

thanks for answering my questions
A 1JZ and 7M-GTE disk and pressure plate are the same thing since the 1JZ came with a R154 for a manual. Only difference is the bellhousing.

For non-mentioned items, look back one page for my post.
 

K_SHAN

don't taze me bro!
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 3, 2009
Messages
357
Likes
0
Location
eagle, IDAHO!
i am doing a usdm 2jz-gte with a jdm supra harness with aem.. does anyone have the diagrams for the jdm SUPRA harness? i need one asaapp
 

K_SHAN

don't taze me bro!
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 3, 2009
Messages
357
Likes
0
Location
eagle, IDAHO!
MY instructional to routing a jdm supra or aristo 2jz-gte engine harness..


routing the engine harness.. was a bitch when using a JDM supra engine harness because its 18inches shorter.. so you can either lengthen it or.. cut a new hole and reroute it.. i chose rerouting, but it was a huge pain in the ass lol

in through the hole.. right behind the fuel rail (driver side. 1inch below and to the right of the throttle body cable


slide past the pedal linkage..


up and under the defrost vent


then finally droping down in stock location.. althought the AEM EMS does not fit since its much larger.. fuu



 

xzeror

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Oct 18, 2009
Messages
1,355
Likes
1
Location
Miramar, FL
alright guys i tried dropping in my 2jz and had fitment issues, first i didnt hammer out the firewall as im not sure exactly where i have to hammer it out any pics would help i went through this whole thread and only saw 2 pics which didnt help much. Also my driftmotion brackets did not work because i was trying to use the stock oem location, as someone said in a previous post u have to use the holes for the fuel damp then it will work.

So if someone could help me out by posting pics or linking someones thread about making the engine fit, that would be much appreciated.

This is a rear sump jdm supra 2jz, with usdm twins if that helps.

I am 99% finished with the swap and I've come across a few items that no one else has ever mentioned before;

2) You definitely need to hammer your firewall to help you drop the engine in due to the intake portion of the rear twin. On top of hammering the firewall, you need to drop your ABS lines as low as possible by removing all the mounting tabs.

3) If using the BIC brackets, they are way too thin to use with the stock engine bracket bolts. You'll need to find some 20mm length bolts to use with those brackets. I ended up using the auto flexplate bolts which fit perfectly with washers I had laying around. You also use the rear most bolt holes on both sides. The intake side requires unbolting the fuel pressure dampener and using it's bolts for the bracket.


That's about all I can think of at the moment. I figured it's worth mentioning to those of you who are not expecting it like I did.
Lol i was freaking out when the brackets didnt work then i called aaron at driftmotion and he told me about using the fuel damp bolts for the bracket, do u have any more pics of the hammering of the firewall?
 
Last edited:

cklynboyz

Building A Beast!
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 24, 2012
Messages
68
Likes
0
Location
Brooklyn
Hey guys!
I am planning on dropping a 2JZ into my 92 MK3.
Just wanted to find out what sump pan do I need?
Any other info would be appreciated.

Thx in advance!
 

AE86BLISS

Oldschool FTW!
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 19, 2011
Messages
128
Likes
0
Location
MI
I ran into a little problem with my 2jz swap and didn't see it covered on here.
The upper oil pan when doing a 2jzgte swap in my 89 MK3 I noticed there is a flange with 2 oil lines going to it.
I went to swap the old one off the Front sump pan and noticed the housing/flange didn't line up and that the 2 lines that go to it must me differant as well.
If any one knows?,.... What is the flange part # and the part # for the two lines?
 

tlo86

Ninja Editor 'Since 05'
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 24, 2005
Messages
3,914
Likes
1
Location
Colorado
I ran into a little problem with my 2jz swap and didn't see it covered on here.
The upper oil pan when doing a 2jzgte swap in my 89 MK3 I noticed there is a flange with 2 oil lines going to it.
I went to swap the old one off the Front sump pan and noticed the housing/flange didn't line up and that the 2 lines that go to it must me differant as well.
If any one knows?,.... What is the flange part # and the part # for the two lines?
where are these located? the only oil lines i remember are the oil pickup tube and the oil drain and dipstick
http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e239/tlo86temp/IMG_1120.jpg
http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e239/tlo86temp/IMG_1119.jpg

i do think you mean the dipstick and the dummy sensor, you leave the dummy sensor and well you make the dipstick work ;)
 
Last edited:

AE86BLISS

Oldschool FTW!
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 19, 2011
Messages
128
Likes
0
Location
MI
where are these located? the only oil lines i remember are the oil pickup tube and the oil drain and dipstick
http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e239/tlo86temp/IMG_1120.jpg
http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e239/tlo86temp/IMG_1119.jpg

i do think you mean the dipstick and the dummy sensor, you leave the dummy sensor and well you make the dipstick work ;)
In your second pic you can see the hole where it mounts up. its on the passanger side. In your pic with your rear sump next to your engine its right there in the pic next to your throttle body. I'll try and take some pic's.
 

AE86BLISS

Oldschool FTW!
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 19, 2011
Messages
128
Likes
0
Location
MI
Its the oil return line flange for the turbo's. Sorry for having a brain fart and not knowing what the name was. Does any one know the part # for the flang and the 2 turbo oil return lines?
This should also be added to the swap notes for others so they don't run into this problem like I did.
 

AE86BLISS

Oldschool FTW!
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 19, 2011
Messages
128
Likes
0
Location
MI
I also wanted to know what did most of you do for coolent lines to and from the fire wall?
Kinda looking for Ideas and resorces don't know if maybe this may help others with there swaps.
 
Last edited:

AE86BLISS

Oldschool FTW!
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 19, 2011
Messages
128
Likes
0
Location
MI
Ok. What about the water temp sensor in a MK3 swapped with 2jz-gte vvti ? I have the 2 wire sensor that go's to the ecu, but I do not have the one pin sensor for the water temp gauge in the car. Any one have a part number for the right sensor? My coolent water neck has a bung for the sensor next two the two wire temp sensor for the ecu.