2JZGTE MKIII Swap Info

eman2289

Noob..but not incompetent
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
618
Likes
0
Location
Jersey
#1
I have compiled a list of everything that I have purchased in order to swap a 2JZGTE into my 88 mkiii with a 7MGTE and R-154. I have seen threads like this, but most of them are unorganized and there is info all over the place. I have decided to make one that is well organized, since I was having a little bit of trouble finding everything needed in order to complete this swap.

I will eventually update it to the point that part numbers, places to buy, and prices will be included. (maybe even pictures)

PLEASE READ THE ENTIRE THREAD BEFORE POSTING A QUESTION!

If the mods feel that this is redundant and decide to delete it, then ok, but I
think that this thread can be a valuable tool to everyone.

All info here is what I have learned through reading and asking others who have done the swap before. If anyone notices wrong info, please let me know right away and it will be fixed ASAP.

The firewall will need to be "beaten" back anywhere from 1/2" to 1 1/2" from what I have heard/read in order to keep the stock twins. I am going single, so i have not researched much into this subject.

All part numbers are courtesy of Curt at Elmhurst Toyota and my uncle who used to work at Hudson Toyota.

Here are some links that may also be of some help:
Keeping A/C and Power Steering:
http://www.supramania.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66700

Where to buy a motor:
http://www.supramania.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66744

Dealing with the harness:
http://www.supramania.com/forums/showthread.php?t=65536

Well, here is what I have so far.

-Motor - $2200 from jdmenginedepot.com
(it comes with uncut wiring harness, ecu, and ignitor. I was unaware so I purchased an ignitor)

-Wiring Harness - ~$490 Sent to Dr Tweak to mate the one from the 7M and the one from the 2J (+150 for priority service)(+200 because of missing/ broken plugs)

-J- Spec ECU - comes with motor but can be found in the classifieds. For the J-Spec ECU, m/t and a/t do not matter (from what I was told by Nick Stonawski)

-1J Bellhousing - $350 from Driftmotion.com

-1J Ignitor - $130 Driftmotion.com (comes with motor, but if the motor you order does not come with one, you can get one new)

-2J Engine Swap Brackets- $175 from Driftmotion.com (There are 2 different sets, 86-early 89 and late 89- 92)
This info was be found here under the 1989 category: http://www.supramania.com/forums/showthread.php?t=58

-2J Throttle Cable- $65 from Driftmotion.com

-1J lightweight flywheel - $270 from Driftmotion.com
this link may be of some help: http://www.supramania.com/forums/showthread.php?t=65797

-1J ARP flywheel bolts - $32 from Driftmotion.com

-Intercooler - $180 from Driftmotion.com

-1J oil pressure sender adapter – $20 from Driftmotion.com

-Pulley Set- $50 from Driftmotion.com
The reason for buying the pulley set is because the Aristos run a Hydrofan set-up and when you get rid of that and use a USDM water pump, the pulley is not the same. It is actually a bit smaller.

-Greddy BCC- $88 from titanmotorsports.com

- Walbro 255LPH Fuel Pump w/ Install Kit- $131.17 from horsepowerfreaks.com

-Upper and Lower Oil pans w/ required bolts – From Elmhurst Toyota
12111-46052 Pan Upper List 358.79 Cost 273.94 X 1
12102-46031 Pan Lower 127.81 Cost 97.59 X 1
90430-12031 Drain Plug Gasket List .98 Cost .73 X 1
90341-12012 Drain Plug List 3.66 Cost 2.71 X 1
96721-24031 O Ring List 2.54 Cost 1.88 X 1
91512-b1055 Bolt List 1.18 Cost .87 X 6
91511-j0820 Bolt List .71 Cost .53 X 16
90116-06127 Stud List .71 Cost .53 X 4
90119-06624 Bolt List .80 Cost .59 X 23
90182-06257 Nut List .49 Cost .36 X 2
00295-00103 Fipg Pan Sealer List 12.78 Cost 9.36 X 2

-Oil pan baffle – 12121-46030 List 13.83 Cost 10.57 from Elmhurst Toyota

-Oil Pickup tube w/ gasket & bolts - from Elmhurst Toyota
15104-46030 List 48.93 Cost 37.36
90182-06005 Nut List .55 Cost .41 X 2
91621-60612 Bolt List .60 Cost .44 X 1
15147-ad010 Gasket List 2.40 Cost 1.77 X 1

-Water Pump w/ gasket- 16100-49846 List 161.70 Cost 123.46 from Elmhurst Toyota

-Timing Belt – 13568-49036 List 32.94 Cost 25.15 from Elmhurst Toyota

-Hydraulic Tensioner – 13540-46030 List 68.53 Cost 52.32 from Elmhurst Toyota

-Cam Shaft Seals – 90311-40020 List 6.80 Cost 5.19 Each (2 are needed) from Elmhurst Toyota

-Valve Cover Seals
11213-46020 Gasket, List 13.69 Cost 10.45
11214-46011 Gasket, List 13.69 Cost 10.45 from Elmhurst Toyota

-MKIV Power Steering Reservoir- from Toyota
The MKIV one is not necessary, but I think it looks a lot better.

-Serpentine Belt- from Toyota

- Valve Cover Bolt washers- if needed (thanks tlo86) 90210-07001 X 16 $26.40

- Thermostat w/ Gasket - from Toyota

- Intercooler w/ custom piping-
 
Last edited:

eman2289

Noob..but not incompetent
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
618
Likes
0
Location
Jersey
#3
yay! now i feel important. lol.

Also, If anyone has any questions, feel free to ask in the thread and I will update the first post with a Q&A.
 

tlo86

Ninja Editor 'Since 05'
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 24, 2005
Messages
3,914
Likes
1
Location
Colorado
#4
90210-07001 Valve cover bolt washers x16 26.40
serpentine should be around 57$ i went with a power enterprise for 90$ and a gates timing belt for 75$
i would also do front and rear main seals (mine were bad) and water neck o-rings (buy them from toyota or spend 2 hours trying to smash the pipe down with the junk from a parts store hehe)
thermostat+seal
spark plugs
i would suggest a bolt upgrade from twinsturbo.com for the coil packs (its like 10$)
want to also throw out there the marlin crawler bushing and shifter socket upgrade(or at least buying new ones from toyota, my bushing was trashed and no shiftersocket)
fuel pump

just things i might be helpful ;)

edit: emissions hoses between valve covers as i keep forgetting to buy mine... they will be rock hard when taking them off and a straight hose just wont work it really should be shaped or it will kink
 
Last edited:

eman2289

Noob..but not incompetent
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
618
Likes
0
Location
Jersey
#6
Go for it. I cant wait for mine to done.

A little info was added to the first post.
 

Poptart

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
14
Likes
0
Location
Iowa
#7
Hey, I have a 1990 Toyota Supra with a 7MGE in it..

I am planning on dropping in a 2JZ-GTE in the next month.

I just have 2 questions..do I need to get a new oil pan and Drive Shaft?

Other than that..I have everything else needed.

Thanks,
Ken
 

crazysupra2JZ

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
740
Likes
0
Location
Georgia
#8
Hey, I have a 1990 Toyota Supra with a 7MGE in it..

I am planning on dropping in a 2JZ-GTE in the next month.

I just have 2 questions..do I need to get a new oil pan and Drive Shaft?

Other than that..I have everything else needed.

Thanks,
Ken

you have to get a supra mid sump oil pan setup. not sure about the driveshaft. i don't know much about the W58 bolting up to the 2jz. you might be able to get a mkiv 5spd bellhousing and use it, then yes you can use your stock driveshaft.

i switched to the R154, so i ended up buying a new 1 piece

if you bought a R154, then you cannot use your stock shaft, it has different spline count
 

Poptart

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
14
Likes
0
Location
Iowa
#9
Well, I got the 2JZ and everything on it, wiring harness, ECU and all..that needs.

Automatic transmission came with it..so I am leaving it auto
 

Poptart

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
14
Likes
0
Location
Iowa
#10
Unless it is easier to convert it to a manual..but then I think I would be spending more many then I want to..

So far, I have..

* Motor (2JZ-GTE)
* Automatic Transmission
* Engine Wiring Harness
* All required Cables
* Turbos
* ECU
* Distributor
* Complete Intake Manifold
* Alternator
* A/C
* Power Steering Pump
* All Brackets and Sensors connected to the engine
 

eman2289

Noob..but not incompetent
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
618
Likes
0
Location
Jersey
#11
Im not sure about the w-58, but if you have the r-154, you do not need to change the drive shaft, only the bellhousing. I will try and find out about the w-58.
 

SupraClaou

Member
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Sep 1, 2006
Messages
840
Likes
0
Location
Athens,Greece
#12
You forgot to add the front and rear engine main (crank) seals,since the
engine is out of the car is a good idea to replace them with new ones from
toyota.
Also you will need custom made aluminum IC pipes,6 silicon hoses,
industrial heavy duty clamps for the hoses...trust me on that,otherwise
you'll have to deal with loss of boost and blown hoses!
Last a custom down pipe and an aftermarket intake filter :icon_bigg

I have finished my 2jz swap and I will post a thread with pictures soon!
To tell you the true the 2jz-gte twin turbo looks almost stock engine
on the mk3 MA70 engine bay...like it was meant to be!!!!

If Toyota didn't put it on our vehicles,then the mk3 guys are doing it...
Don't forget guys,that JZ motor type technology was first given to our
cars "A70 Supras" :biglaugh:,with the 1jz-gte :sarcasm:
 

90supradrvr

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
20
Likes
0
Location
oak harbor, wa
#13
ok so let me get this straight. i have a 90 supra im getting the full complete motor and either a 5sp tranny or a 6sp (depends on money). now if i understand correct. im gonna have to send both wiring harness in to get them put together? and the whole sump thing was confusing me. will i need to do diff. motor mounts as well. the noob needs help. ill be buyin the motor and tranny within the month
 

eman2289

Noob..but not incompetent
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
618
Likes
0
Location
Jersey
#14
There are diagrams on here about wiring the 2jz into the mkiii, but it is very time consuming. Dr Tweak recieves both complete harnesses and mates them into one harness so it is essentially plug and play.

Most 2jz that you buy are out of a toyota aristo. The sump is the lowest part of the oil pan, which on an aristo is towards the front of the motor. You will need a rear/ mid sump pan off of a USDM 2jz from an mkiv.
 

eman2289

Noob..but not incompetent
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
618
Likes
0
Location
Jersey
#16
No, just buy the motor mount brackets from Driftmotion. And yes the beating back of the firewall is true, im just not sure on how much. But that is only if you keep the stock twins.
 

tlo86

Ninja Editor 'Since 05'
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 24, 2005
Messages
3,914
Likes
1
Location
Colorado
#19
depending on what transmission you are using...

from a 2jzgte auto (they are different than ours) you will need what appears to be an mkiv driveshaft and have it made at a local driveshaft shop...

getgrag v160 mkiv 6 speed - speculation as to if it will physically fit into the tunnel (i have seen mkivs, especially n/a that needed to be modded) and speculation about how well it will work with our differentials... and the driveshaft will be a hybrid unit. needless to say it is not worth the money..you are better off with a built automatic transmission or a r154 and a great clutch as they will be cheaper

W58 you will need a manual MKIII 1986.5-1992 n/a supras driveshaft. yes believe it or not its the same size.... and a 2jzge manual bellhousing. easiest place to find is off a manual sc300 that i have seen or buying a new one. plenty of clutches out there for the non turbo mkiv supra...

R154 you will need an r154 driveshaft from a manual turbo mkiii supra 1987-1992.... yup it is a direct fit my car is proof... you will need a 1jz bellhousing everything after that is a 7mgte clutch deal.

a340e from our cars... if your supra was auto and you dont want to deal with the 2jzgte's auto or your 2jz didnt come with a transmission you will need a auto sc300 bellhousing (or the many other 2jzge auto bellhousings) and the driveshaft will be the same from the mkiii supra 1986.5-1992 AUTO driveshaft. a340 from a 2jzge might be a better choice its a slide in type as well (not sure on abs location on these transmissions though)

remember the newer cars did not have an ABS sensor on the transmission but rather had it on the rear wheels themselves. (not sure about the non turbo engines but its not as big of a deal as you can put the sensor on them easy enough or use a transmission with it as n/a trannys are cheaper)

if your car is Pre 1989 you will need the BIC brackets the 1jz ones will not work.. on post 89 cars you can either buy the bic or use 1jz ones. the round mounts are all the same (and you can get them from most cars such as the sc300, 89+ mkiiisupra, etc) and the square mounts i would buy the poly ones from BIC.

as for the mounting location they will be different comapred to the 2jz aristos location but its not hard to figure it out (especially if you have BIC brackets) the bolt locations are the exact same as the 1jz...

If you cant figure something out, look at the 1jz thats what i always say.


 
Last edited:

90supradrvr

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
20
Likes
0
Location
oak harbor, wa
#20
so since im gonna do the 2jz i just need a r154 tranny (im not doing auto) and then get a drive shaft from a mkiv turbo. and a bell housing off a 1jz. is that right?
 

SupraClaou

Member
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Sep 1, 2006
Messages
840
Likes
0
Location
Athens,Greece
#21
so since im gonna do the 2jz i just need a r154 tranny (im not doing auto) and then get a drive shaft from a mkiv turbo. and a bell housing off a 1jz. is that right?
You need a drive shaft from a mk3 turbo with r-154 trans and not from
mk4 turbo!
If you keep the twin turbos you'll have to punch/hit the firewall exactly
1 cm and slightly relocate the ABS lines without their heat shield.
That is what I did but I used the 1jz motor brackets not BIC brackets...
 

tlo86

Ninja Editor 'Since 05'
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 24, 2005
Messages
3,914
Likes
1
Location
Colorado
#22
so since im gonna do the 2jz i just need a r154 tranny (im not doing auto) and then get a drive shaft from a mkiv turbo. and a bell housing off a 1jz. is that right?
and i quote what i just wrote

" R154 you will need an r154 driveshaft from a manual turbo mkiii supra.... yup it is a direct fit my car is proof... you will need a 1jz bellhousing everything after that is a 7mgte clutch deal.
"

the 1jz brackets will work with supras 89+ not pre 89 unless you swap the crossmember to a 89+ because of the square and round mount difference. thats where the BIC mounts come in handy because you dont need to swap the crossmember... i opted to get the BIC ones because i could get them faster than if i was trying to source 1jz ones because at the time noone was selling them :)
 

eman2289

Noob..but not incompetent
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
618
Likes
0
Location
Jersey
#24
I went to the place and picked out my motor. It was an overall good experience.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2008
Messages
51
Likes
0
Location
Michigan
#26
Question, Can I use the wiring harness from the 2jz that comes with engine and hook it into my car, it says you had it mated tot he 7m one? also why do you need 1jz components like the 1jz igniter, can this work with a a70 auto in my mkiii also does the firewall have to be pushed back. I saw you needed new brackets fro teh engine to mount on can you use the stock ones somehow? I may buy a 2jz and swap it into my mkiii i have 3400.00 is that enough.
 

eman2289

Noob..but not incompetent
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
618
Likes
0
Location
Jersey
#27
Question, Can I use the wiring harness from the 2jz that comes with engine and hook it into my car, it says you had it mated tot he 7m one? also why do you need 1jz components like the 1jz igniter, can this work with a a70 auto in my mkiii also does the firewall have to be pushed back. I saw you needed new brackets fro teh engine to mount on can you use the stock ones somehow? I may buy a 2jz and swap it into my mkiii i have 3400.00 is that enough.
I am going to answer your questions in list form.
1)No, you must mate the 2J harness and the 7M harness.
2)You need an igniter because the 7M one will not work with the 2J.
3) I am not sure if the auto trans will work.
4) The firewall needs to be pushed back if you are keeping stock twins.
5) No, that is why you need the brackets.
6) I doubt that is enough. Even doing the work yourself.
 

tlo86

Ninja Editor 'Since 05'
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 24, 2005
Messages
3,914
Likes
1
Location
Colorado
#28
Question, Can I use the wiring harness from the 2jz that comes with engine and hook it into my car, it says you had it mated tot he 7m one? also why do you need 1jz components like the 1jz igniter, can this work with a a70 auto in my mkiii also does the firewall have to be pushed back. I saw you needed new brackets fro teh engine to mount on can you use the stock ones somehow? I may buy a 2jz and swap it into my mkiii i have 3400.00 is that enough.
every question you have asked was answered but i'll answer them again.

the only reason you would use 1jz electronics is if you are wanting to use a 1jz harness and ecu so you dont have to do the wiring as much and its similar to a 1jz swap - you would need something else to tune the car. i honestly would get your 2jz harness to work with your car because the 2jz ecu's have a better reputation.

the auto will work.

the firewall question has been answered MANY times if you want the stock twins you need to push it back a bit

for the love of god read the thread the bracket question has been answered. YOU NEED BRACKETS. THE BRACKETS FOR A 7M ENGINE WILL NOT WORK.

3,400 total to buy the engine and everything? no. re read the thread
 

tlo86

Ninja Editor 'Since 05'
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 24, 2005
Messages
3,914
Likes
1
Location
Colorado
#29
hi guys i'm new here.i just wana know if a w58 from a 7mge gearbox can be used with the 2jzgte??
so i guess being new doesnt mean you have to read the thread?

you need a 2jzge bellhousing, flywheel, clutch. if your supra had the w58 driveshaft it will work fine.
 

Mark3Supraholic

Zero State
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
57
Likes
0
Location
California
#30
oOoOh... Great thread. I've been recently looking into doing a JZ swap since my car has not run for some 5 years now. Long time ago, in a galaxy far far away, I wanted to keep it 7M. I tried picking up parts over the years, piecing things together and all that, we all know how this ends up. I take the motor apart, but all I did was look at it, and everything just looked harder and harder to rebuild as the days, months, years, went by. It seems now I just want to go the JZ route. Probably because 5 years ago, not much information was so readily available on JZ swaps. Looks pretty too.

By the way, if you use the JZ auto trans, wouldn't you need the trans computer too? I was looking for that Suprastick a couple months ago, but the website, latentsolutions.com, looks like its expired now. Out of business?

I would like to keep mine Auto, preferably the one that's in there, but am having trouble deciding between 1JZ and 2JZ. The 1JZ looks about $3-500 cheaper for just the engine. But I think if I can find a 1JZ A70 front clip it would have everything I need to do the swap, save the harness splicing. A 2JZ would require the rear sump parts unless I got one out of a MK4 Supra, as well as mounts, and the possibility of a big headache, but added oomph straight from the box. I like the prospect of the 2JZ, but the 1JZ is very tempting, especially if I can find a front clip, which would make things waaay simpler. I guess I can always flip a coin for it... Right??? :biglaugh:
 

tlo86

Ninja Editor 'Since 05'
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 24, 2005
Messages
3,914
Likes
1
Location
Colorado
#31
oOoOh... Great thread. I've been recently looking into doing a JZ swap since my car has not run for some 5 years now. Long time ago, in a galaxy far far away, I wanted to keep it 7M. I tried picking up parts over the years, piecing things together and all that, we all know how this ends up. I take the motor apart, but all I did was look at it, and everything just looked harder and harder to rebuild as the days, months, years, went by. It seems now I just want to go the JZ route. Probably because 5 years ago, not much information was so readily available on JZ swaps. Looks pretty too.

By the way, if you use the JZ auto trans, wouldn't you need the trans computer too? I was looking for that Suprastick a couple months ago, but the website, latentsolutions.com, looks like its expired now. Out of business?

I would like to keep mine Auto, preferably the one that's in there, but am having trouble deciding between 1JZ and 2JZ. The 1JZ looks about $3-500 cheaper for just the engine. But I think if I can find a 1JZ A70 front clip it would have everything I need to do the swap, save the harness splicing. A 2JZ would require the rear sump parts unless I got one out of a MK4 Supra, as well as mounts, and the possibility of a big headache, but added oomph straight from the box. I like the prospect of the 2JZ, but the 1JZ is very tempting, especially if I can find a front clip, which would make things waaay simpler. I guess I can always flip a coin for it... Right??? :biglaugh:
both are great engines. just have to remember to throw a 2jz in a mkiii supra its practically buying a 2jzgte and a 1jzgte. if price is an issue go 1jz because you can always go 1.5jz later on. i am doing a 2jzgte -> into an sc300 W58 and its easy compared to my mkiii one even though im still swapping pans you dont have to go through the hassle of sourcing other parts

you can use your trans ecu or whatever its considered you just have to wire it in right.
 

EdgeSupra

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
506
Likes
0
Location
New Jersey
#32
Ok guys, look, being new isn't an excuse to ask dumb questions. We know everyone is excited that we have a good thread started here, but let's not ruin it with the same 4 questions being asked over and over.
If a new issue rises, then the answer will be added to the information in the first main post so we have one collective, easy-to-use topic. From now on READ THE WHOLE THREAD before posting a question.

eman - Seeing as it's your thread, would you be able to keep your original post up to date? (not saying that it isn't right now, just later on down the road, lol)
And I ask that a mod delete all the repeat questions that have been thoroughly answered.
Thanks

-Justin
 

eman2289

Noob..but not incompetent
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
618
Likes
0
Location
Jersey
#33
eman - Seeing as it's your thread, would you be able to keep your original post up to date? (not saying that it isn't right now, just later on down the road, lol)

-Justin
Yea, definitely. I have been very busy between my car and school, and I have been sick for the past few days and its kicking my ass. I ask that whoever wants something added to the first post, such as parts to name the part, part number, and price, this way I can just copy and paste it into the first post.
 

tlo86

Ninja Editor 'Since 05'
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 24, 2005
Messages
3,914
Likes
1
Location
Colorado
#34
Ok guys, look, being new isn't an excuse to ask dumb questions. We know everyone is excited that we have a good thread started here, but let's not ruin it with the same 4 questions being asked over and over.
If a new issue rises, then the answer will be added to the information in the first main post so we have one collective, easy-to-use topic. From now on READ THE WHOLE THREAD before posting a question.

eman - Seeing as it's your thread, would you be able to keep your original post up to date? (not saying that it isn't right now, just later on down the road, lol)
And I ask that a mod delete all the repeat questions that have been thoroughly answered.
Thanks

-Justin
yeah really :biglaugh:
 

Mark3Supraholic

Zero State
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
57
Likes
0
Location
California
#35
both are great engines. just have to remember to throw a 2jz in a mkiii supra its practically buying a 2jzgte and a 1jzgte. if price is an issue go 1jz because you can always go 1.5jz later on. i am doing a 2jzgte -> into an sc300 W58 and its easy compared to my mkiii one even though im still swapping pans you dont have to go through the hassle of sourcing other parts

you can use your trans ecu or whatever its considered you just have to wire it in right.
Hmm. If putting a 2JZ-GTE into a Mark 3 is equivalent to buying both the 1JZ-GTE AND 2JZ-GTE, financially 1JZ-GTE makes sense. So 1JZ-GTE for me it is. Just gotta get all the funds together and source it. I assume a 1.5JZ is a 1JZ-GTE with a 2JZ-GE block or something to that effect?

Oh, and latentsolutions is back up, looks like his webpage expired temporarily. It says it fits any A340x, so I'd probably want to go that route instead, barring a full manual swap. Thanks!
 

LilRedSupra

Soupy
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 8, 2006
Messages
198
Likes
0
Location
Louisville, Ky
#36
:biglaugh:
every question you have asked was answered but i'll answer them again.

the only reason you would use 1jz electronics is if you are wanting to use a 1jz harness and ecu so you dont have to do the wiring as much and its similar to a 1jz swap - you would need something else to tune the car. i honestly would get your 2jz harness to work with your car because the 2jz ecu's have a better reputation.

the auto will work.

the firewall question has been answered MANY times if you want the stock twins you need to push it back a bit

for the love of god read the thread the bracket question has been answered. YOU NEED BRACKETS. THE BRACKETS FOR A 7M ENGINE WILL NOT WORK.

3,400 total to buy the engine and everything? no. re read the thread
 

tlo86

Ninja Editor 'Since 05'
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 24, 2005
Messages
3,914
Likes
1
Location
Colorado
#37
Hmm. If putting a 2JZ-GTE into a Mark 3 is equivalent to buying both the 1JZ-GTE AND 2JZ-GTE, financially 1JZ-GTE makes sense. So 1JZ-GTE for me it is. Just gotta get all the funds together and source it. I assume a 1.5JZ is a 1JZ-GTE with a 2JZ-GE block or something to that effect?

Oh, and latentsolutions is back up, looks like his webpage expired temporarily. It says it fits any A340x, so I'd probably want to go that route instead, barring a full manual swap. Thanks!
exactly :D
 

lost_as_hell

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 2, 2008
Messages
4
Likes
0
Location
texas
#39
so i know the following may sound dumb to you, but hence "lost_as_hell" why change the water pump? and what did you do for an exhuast prefab from 87 turbo or 92-98 turbo or custom pipe on a turbo muffler? im gettin there almost got all my parts together
 

tlo86

Ninja Editor 'Since 05'
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jul 24, 2005
Messages
3,914
Likes
1
Location
Colorado
#40
so i know the following may sound dumb to you, but hence "lost_as_hell" why change the water pump? and what did you do for an exhuast prefab from 87 turbo or 92-98 turbo or custom pipe on a turbo muffler? im gettin there almost got all my parts together
besides for maintenance reasons many people do not want to source the hydraulic fan setup, which is what the aristo 2jz is. now if you have a mechanical fan and clutch, like if you got the engine from an mkiv supra, then you dont need to worry about this step or do it only for maintenance reasons because you dont know how old it is and how old the coolant is thats inside of it sludgeing up.

for my 2jz i had a custom downpipe made to bolt to my cat. for the sc300 the downpipe off the engine bolted right to the cat. if you dont have an aftermarket exhaust already i would say have one built its the easiest and cheapest way.