2jzge-T swap notes and pricelists

Supra_Villan

needs his car done
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 10, 2007
Messages
662
Likes
0
Location
Wellsville MO
#41
EPIC. Thanks josh!! Also.....i just took my head to the machine shop for a valve job, and i asked him to get rid of all the viton....and he took it off....the wrong way, its perfectly straight on the bottom there was a 3-4 thousandths variation towards the rear cylinder, so he took some off of the head, 8 thousandths to be exact. He said he used 120 grit sandpaper to do it. I'm using a cometic 1.2mm hg, will it seal still? If not what can i do to get it to the correct smoothness?

---------- Post added at 05:04 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:02 PM ----------

My engine came from a GS300, not an SC, will this affect the wiring? I'm on clublexus and club na-t and no one seems to be much help.....
 

dok33

My fuel pump precedes me
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 16, 2005
Messages
934
Likes
0
Location
Austin, TX
#42
No prob bob. Don't think the GS and SC are any different wiring wise, only things you really have to splice are the alt and tps anyways unless the GS IAC isn't plug'n play like the SC one. You find a SC/Supra oil pan to swap over?
 

Supra_Villan

needs his car done
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 10, 2007
Messages
662
Likes
0
Location
Wellsville MO
#43
Yep oil pan was the first thing! My only hitch (so far) is the alternator plug. The rest has been well documented enough so i can find it rather well, any particular hitches you bumped into? And iny input on the head situation? I've downloaded the SC and the Mk4 TSRM's, but i can't find the RA spec for the head.
 

dok33

My fuel pump precedes me
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 16, 2005
Messages
934
Likes
0
Location
Austin, TX
#44
I definitely wouldn't use an MLS gasket on a head that was sanded with 120grit, nor would I use a shop again that took sandpaper to my head. If I were you I'd find a competent shop and have the head cleaned up to whatever RA your cometic requires.
 

Supra_Villan

needs his car done
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 10, 2007
Messages
662
Likes
0
Location
Wellsville MO
#46
Got the head situation squared away, and the block to a mirror finish with 1000grit wet/dry wrapped on the broad side of a straight edge, looks good aside from a bit of pitting, but i can barely feel it, and its not touching anything. Quick question, what did you do about the temp sensors? i tried to put mine into the head and the probe for the ecu temp( the green two prong one, ) is too big to fit in the head. Any suggestions? Or am i just retarded?
 

IJ.

Grumpy Old Man
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
38,726
Likes
3
Location
I come from a land down under
#47
Got the head situation squared away, and the block to a mirror finish with 1000grit wet/dry wrapped on the broad side of a straight edge, looks good aside from a bit of pitting, but i can barely feel it, and its not touching anything. Quick question, what did you do about the temp sensors? i tried to put mine into the head and the probe for the ecu temp( the green two prong one, ) is too big to fit in the head. Any suggestions? Or am i just retarded?
Now use the straightedge to see how flat it isn't ;)
 

Supra_Villan

needs his car done
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 10, 2007
Messages
662
Likes
0
Location
Wellsville MO
#49
the base of it doesn't look like mine...hmmm. The one i'm thinking of is this one...
http://store.driftmotion.com/static/i-coolanttempecusensor7m2jz89-up.php
and the probe end is faaaar too large to fit.

And ian, what are you talking about!?!?!?! Why would a straight edge not sand straight? It is very thick and rigid, and i was applying pressure over the center part, not the edges.
 

Nghty89

Zombie Chicks Are Hot
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
978
Likes
0
Location
7 Cities, VA
#50
So quick question, since I am unable to find anything on it here.

Could I run my 2jzna-t off the 2jzge distributor, with the 7mgte cps wiring? Considering this: http://supraforums.com/forum/showthread.php?t=446551&page=2 - the wiring can be done. BUT - are the signals the same if I use the 2jzge ignitor and the 7mgte ECU?

OR

If that will not work, does anyone have any idea how to wire the 2jzge ECU to the mkiii body harness (like stock)?

Maybe I'm just insane, but figured I'd search and find out was is and isn't possible. Otherwise, I'll complete the swap as I have in the past using the normal technique of 7mgte electronics and a rebuilt harness to allow me to 'wire tuck'.

EDIT: I see he is using the Autronic standalone, so I doubt the CPS/Distro signals will not be the same since I want to use the stock 7mgte ECU. I was looking for a way to make it cleaner, to hide the spark wires and avoid mounting the coil packs in some strange location. ALTHOUGH - I could take a set of the V8 spark wires (universal from Pep-Sluts, worked great on my 7m), cut them to a custom length, and then hide the coil packs.... >>
Extending wiring is not an issue considering I will be attempting to re-create the 7m harness from scratch with more wiggle room for my envisioned wire-tuck...
 

Supra_Villan

needs his car done
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 10, 2007
Messages
662
Likes
0
Location
Wellsville MO
#51

whenmunkysfly

scratch that...going 2jz
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
746
Likes
0
Location
United States
#52
So quick question, since I am unable to find anything on it here.

Could I run my 2jzna-t off the 2jzge distributor, with the 7mgte cps wiring? Considering this: http://supraforums.com/forum/showthread.php?t=446551&page=2 - the wiring can be done. BUT - are the signals the same if I use the 2jzge ignitor and the 7mgte ECU?

OR

If that will not work, does anyone have any idea how to wire the 2jzge ECU to the mkiii body harness (like stock)?

Maybe I'm just insane, but figured I'd search and find out was is and isn't possible. Otherwise, I'll complete the swap as I have in the past using the normal technique of 7mgte electronics and a rebuilt harness to allow me to 'wire tuck'.

EDIT: I see he is using the Autronic standalone, so I doubt the CPS/Distro signals will not be the same since I want to use the stock 7mgte ECU. I was looking for a way to make it cleaner, to hide the spark wires and avoid mounting the coil packs in some strange location. ALTHOUGH - I could take a set of the V8 spark wires (universal from Pep-Sluts, worked great on my 7m), cut them to a custom length, and then hide the coil packs.... >>
Extending wiring is not an issue considering I will be attempting to re-create the 7m harness from scratch with more wiggle room for my envisioned wire-tuck...
You could do the 7m cop swap since the coils they use are from a 2jzge anyway lol then your wires are 100% hidden and you'd still use the 7m cps which is cleaner to me then a big distributor on the front of your engine.


Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk
 

Nghty89

Zombie Chicks Are Hot
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
978
Likes
0
Location
7 Cities, VA
#55
Anything for this one guys?
Same one I used when I did my 2jzna-t swap in my first white supra. Fit perfectly. There seems to be some casting differences between GS300 heads/valve covers and other 2jzs (mine was a gs300 head with an is300 block iirc, and the cam seals didn't fit right from the sc300 during that build).... That's how it was with my first one at least. But that sensor and the other ones suggested plopped right on in. Maybe you're not using the right hole? There are several there under the intake side near the front that I can snap pictures of since I haven't removed mine yet. Just recently got to tearing down and cleaning in prep for the machine work.

BTW - forged anyone? I think I may just stick with stock. I'm debating since I won't see a 7.5K rpm redline for a while. (still need cams, springs, 1mm OS valves, want to have lighter internals)


---------- Post added at 01:11 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:09 AM ----------

You could do the 7m cop swap since the coils they use are from a 2jzge anyway lol then your wires are 100% hidden and you'd still use the 7m cps which is cleaner to me then a big distributor on the front of your engine.


Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk
Well, I decided to change my mind. I found some info on making the wheel in the 7m CPS work with a megasquirt signal with minor changes which will allow me to run quite a few different options and still keep the small size of the cps. Megasquirt, here I come! Still searching for 2jzgte valve covers though! : (

---------- Post added at 01:23 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:11 AM ----------

Woot Woot I just did some further digging and, although it is old news, I CAN use the 7mgte CPS without modification on the MS system. Damn I need to learn more before spouting off. lol
 

Altezza576

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
268
Likes
0
Location
New York
#56
I just completed my 2JZGE-T swap but I cant get my coil #3 (cylinders 3&4) to fire. Yes, the car is only running on 4cyl. They are getting fuel, but I cant get the coil pack to fire off the Stinger. I have IS300 coil packs and an IS300 igniter. I think I may have a bad igniter. I swapped coilpacks, installed new plugs and wires with a known good IS300 set off a running car. Still no fire to Coilpack3. I have confirmed that the wiring is correct and the coil is getting power.

I may attempt to wire in the 7MGTE igniter to see if that helps any.



EDIT: MY Stinger harness was incorrectly pinned from EMS. They mixed up the grey and grey/blk wire either on the harness or their documentation. That was causing the coilapck #3 to not fire. The coilpack was wired into the O2 Wideband grey wire by accident. I had to undo my wire loom and trace the wires to find the problem since I shrinkwrapped it so tight. I didnt realize it untill i twisted around the grey wire in pinout #1 to see the incriminating black stripe.

Car feels smooth now....
 
Last edited:

fonz87

89 Turbo!!!!
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
646
Likes
0
Location
Streamwood, IL
#57
i heard someone did a is300 coil and cps on a 2jz na harness ?? is it supra na harness or is300 harness ?? anyone have a link if someone here did the swap ??

thanks.
 

Rety1

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 24, 2010
Messages
6
Likes
0
Location
Phillipsburg, NJ
#58
i see the last post is pretty recent, so ill ask here...
does it matter if the 2jz engine i get came from a car with OBD2? (post 95 i believe) since i want to use wiring from an OBD1(?) car..
 

Nghty89

Zombie Chicks Are Hot
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
978
Likes
0
Location
7 Cities, VA
#59
It won't matter because you're using the 7mgte electronics and 7m ecu. The ecu only cares that it is an inline 6, 3.0L, and has a turbo on it, using all the sensors it needs. That's about it unless you go standalone or throw on a bunch of piggy-backs.

There should be a thread around here about the IS300 COP swap. Check under 7mgte articles or search, but you will still be using the CPS from the 7m since the 7mgte ecu will not read the distro from the 2jzge.

The 2jzge is in the IS300 so the supra n/a harness and IS300 harness should be almost identical, if not exactly identical. CPS or distro? The CPS is on the 7mgte, the distributor is on the 2jzge (OBDI models), 7mge, etc.
 

Nghty89

Zombie Chicks Are Hot
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
978
Likes
0
Location
7 Cities, VA
#61
Your welcome. After completing the first 2jz swap and already 1/3 into a 1.5jz swap, I feel like I know enough to be helpful. : p
 

xzeror

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Oct 18, 2009
Messages
1,355
Likes
1
Location
Miramar, FL
#62
I has questionssss if someone would help me out, local guy is selling an mkiv 2jzge, has w58 bell housing, and cut up harness. He needs it gone and is willing to negotiate (his listed price is 350). Can i use my 7mge electronics and computer with this swap? Or would it be smarter to get 7mgte electronics/ecu. I do want to go turbo down the line, but not anytime soon so if its possible to use 7mge electronics and ecu, i would like to know what else i would need with it.

PS: just found a guy "selling 2zgte engine harness from my running mk3 supra" 150, prob gray plugged and not running ditributor?
 

Nghty89

Zombie Chicks Are Hot
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
978
Likes
0
Location
7 Cities, VA
#63
You can use the 7mge electronics to run the 2jzge. The 7mgte CPS and 7mge Distributor have the same gear on them as the 2jzge Distributor. I got curious once and checked them all. All identical, considering you can use the 7mgte CPS on all three motors (7mgte, 7mge, and 2jzge), which means the 7mge Distributor will work. It has been done sir! :icon_razz Can't remember the thread, try searching N/A 2jzge and mkiii chassis.

He may have used the 2jzge ECU and wiring, but if you use the 7mge ECU and wiring/sensors, then you are set and can still use the mkiii body wiring too. Follow the same idea as putting 7mgte electronics on a 2jzge. Same concept, and the ECU won't care as long as it sees the right stuff, inline 6, and 3.0L. :naughty:

That cut up harness is useless though, it's for the 2jzge, and the bellhousing is only good if you go with a W58 off the bat. Plus, you can always turbo later after breaking it in N/A and getting used to it. Just do it up right so you do not have to pull and rebuild later.


**IF ANY OF THIS IS WRONG, PLEASE CORRECT ME - even though I did a comparison, that does not mean much beyond what parts I had with me at the time (94 2jzge distro, 87 7mge distro, 88 7mgte cps)**
 

Volvospy

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
55
Likes
0
Location
Northern VA
#64
So it's almost plug and play engine swap electricalwise if you have a is300 2jzge engine and want to swap it in a 89-92 na mk3? Anyone knows for sure please confirm, I just want to make my na run and I have a free is300 engine. Thanks a bunch!
 

hottscennessey

Active Member
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jun 3, 2005
Messages
3,137
Likes
0
Location
Richmond, VA
#65
The 7MGTE ECU will not run a 2JZGE VVTI (IS300) without running the proper crank trigger. Of course it would require tuning, and you'd lose VVT-i control.

Top = 1jzgte/2jzgte/2jzge non-vvti (in some years)

Bottom = 2JZGE VVTI





Of course this also means a 2jzgte/1jzgte could easily be run off the 7mgte ECU, even without the 7M CPS since the JZ trigger is 12 teeth (where 7M is 24 - NE) and they still have G1/G2 sensors, which would require no modification. the only thing I can figure out is why anyone would want to do it... ;).
 

Nghty89

Zombie Chicks Are Hot
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
978
Likes
0
Location
7 Cities, VA
#66
The 7MGTE ECU will not run a 2JZGE VVTI (IS300) without running the proper crank trigger. Of course it would require tuning, and you'd lose VVT-i control.

Top = 1jzgte/2jzgte/2jzge non-vvti (in some years)

Bottom = 2JZGE VVTI





Of course this also means a 2jzgte/1jzgte could easily be run off the 7mgte ECU, even without the 7M CPS since the JZ trigger is 12 teeth (where 7M is 24 - NE) and they still have G1/G2 sensors, which would require no modification. the only thing I can figure out is why anyone would want to do it... ;).
You're EFFING kidding me?!? I always wondered if it was at least possible to run the 7mgte ecu off of the 1jzgte crank sensor.... PM me if you have ANY info on this before I sell my entire 7M setup. It would save me $$$$ on my current build. lol
 

hottscennessey

Active Member
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Jun 3, 2005
Messages
3,137
Likes
0
Location
Richmond, VA
#67
You're EFFING kidding me?!? I always wondered if it was at least possible to run the 7mgte ecu off of the 1jzgte crank sensor.... PM me if you have ANY info on this before I sell my entire 7M setup. It would save me $$$$ on my current build. lol
It's all theory of course, just like the 2JZGE off 7M electronics was, but it makes a lot of sense if you look at all the necessary inputs for the 7MGTE. Also means you could run the 7MGTE off 1JZ electronics.
 

Nghty89

Zombie Chicks Are Hot
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
978
Likes
0
Location
7 Cities, VA
#68
It's all theory of course, just like the 2JZGE off 7M electronics was, but it makes a lot of sense if you look at all the necessary inputs for the 7MGTE. Also means you could run the 7MGTE off 1JZ electronics.
Interesting....... ill do some digging. Is there any info on the outputs of the 7m cam sensor vs the 1jz crank or cam sensors? I'm wondering if the signals themselves are even close....

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
 

SOLO

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
3
Likes
0
Location
GA
#69
First, thanks for compiling all this info. It has been very helpful.

I have been accumulating parts for my swap and would like to finish shopping, but I am still a bit confused on what headgasket to purchase. I plan to run the car on the stock 7m-gte electronics (lex afm/550s/ walbro/ tune with afc) with a possible chance of upgrading to a stand alone in the future. The stock CR of the 7m-gte is around 8.5:1. A 2jz-gte headgasket will put the 2jz-ge around 9.2:1, while a 2mm HG will put the CR around 8.5:1. My concern is will I be better off to have the compression ratio near the 7m-gte's stock CR to avoid any fueling/timing issues, or will the difference in CR be negligible?
 

mkIII2jz

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
15
Likes
0
Location
tenino
#70
So if I use a 2jzgte with its wiring harness and a standalone then I don't need 7m ecu or other 7m harness , parts ?
 

lowtaco

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Jul 8, 2009
Messages
282
Likes
1
Location
Under a damn Toyota
#71
If I may ask.... Going from a 7MGTE/R154 to a 2JZGE-T/Auto, to use 7M electronics and retain the auto I would need a 7MGTE auto ECU and harness correct?? From what I gather the A340 is still the same trans right?
 

NecroCyde

Lurk R
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
221
Likes
0
Location
Calgary/Brooks, Alberta Canada
#72
that trans coming with your 2jzge is pretty alien from the one that goes in the mk3. Keep the jz bellhousing, but the tranny itself will need to be swapped in from a 7mgte auto engine set. But also if your car is a manual chassis, you would need to change the dash wiring. Just keep your R154, unless your building up for some drag action, it simply is more work then its worth, start with an auto chassis first. The manual wiring is missing the auto shifter plugs and about 4 wires for other things, not to mention your dash cluster is missing the auto stuff.
 

erags1092

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 20, 2010
Messages
25
Likes
0
Location
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
#74
What parts are need for the actual turbo part of the NA-T builds. do most of you just buy kits off of ebay or drifmotion. or buy everything indivually. From what i can gather what you need is.. the turbo, manifold, oil feed/drain lines, blowoff valve, and wastegate. And other parts like boost controller, fuel pressure regulator, turbo timer, and intercooler/piping are they needed or are they just for extra power.
 

Nghty89

Zombie Chicks Are Hot
Authorized Seller
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
978
Likes
0
Location
7 Cities, VA
#75
What parts are need for the actual turbo part of the NA-T builds. do most of you just buy kits off of ebay or drifmotion. or buy everything indivually. From what i can gather what you need is.. the turbo, manifold, oil feed/drain lines, blowoff valve, and wastegate. And other parts like boost controller, fuel pressure regulator, turbo timer, and intercooler/piping are they needed or are they just for extra power.
If you want to kill your car, then they're extra. If you want reliable power, then get everything before running it. Most of us buy the parts individually, as turbo kits can cost more than $1-2k over what you might spend by finding deals on the parts. But this is up to you, either way is fine. Stay away from ebay kits unless you know without a doubt what it is, where its from, and the quality of parts.

As for WHAT you need, the basics for any reliable turbo setup. Do more research here and elsewhere so you fully grasp what's needed to make reliable power. Corky Bell's "Maximum Boost" is a good read for the basics and the pro stuff, but skip the design parts as it can get IN DEPTH.


Don't skimp now and regret it later. Trust me.


Sent from my engine bay.
 

turbo87targa

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
482
Likes
0
Location
colorado springs
#77
Old thread bump....Been lookin through the threads and can't seem to find the answer I need...

Which mechanical fan do I need for a pre89 2jzge-T with a PWR radiator?
 

veedubin

Official SM Decals
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 14, 2007
Messages
458
Likes
0
Location
Denver, Pennsylvania, United States
#78
Old thread bump....Been lookin through the threads and can't seem to find the answer I need...

Which mechanical fan do I need for a pre89 2jzge-T with a PWR radiator?
I was diggin through my notes and other random scratch pads about the fan. From what I wrote down, the 2JGE clutch with the GTE blades *should* clear just fine.

On my personal 2JZGE-T swap, I am using the 7MGTE fan clutch and blades. that gives me about 1.5" of clearance to the factory rad. I'm not sure how much thicker the PWR is than the factory setup; you could also just go ful E-fan setup and call it a day.

Yes I know, E-fan vs. Clutch fan round 115... LOL
 

88mk3supra

7M DEMON
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 23, 2009
Messages
390
Likes
0
Location
Clayton,Ohio
#79
sorry to dig this up or anything. i have a brand new gone through 7mgte harness and aem ems standalone and want to go 2jz. i want to go 2jzge-t but use the gte head, headgasket, intake manifold, throttle body, pistons, rods. now my question is can i run the 7m harness and aem standalone ecu with the gte head and parts? is it possible to make a crank trigger for the gte and customize it for the 7m harness and aem? or can i use the cps and modify it for the gte head? very interested to know the truth on this i have been wondering for awhile because i want to go 2jzge for cheap and use the gte parts but don't really wanna have to get a gte harness and ecu when i have a brand new 7m harness and aem ecu lol. thank you!