2JZ-GE-T Build - 89 Turbo Supra

sao1

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 15, 2006
Messages
104
Location
Santa Rosa, CA
Nick,

Replacing the dash harness isn't too bad...;)

But out of curiosity, why won't you run your stock dash harness and have a standalone ems run the engine? ...I am going that route.

-Sonny
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
you could go to a junk yard and source that plug. (engine side and repin it!)
I've got that plug on my old harness that will mate up to the male end coming out of the glove box. I'll see if I can find pinouts for it online.

THANKS!

Nick,

Replacing the dash harness isn't too bad...

But out of curiosity, why won't you run your stock dash harness and have a standalone ems run the engine? ...I am going that route.

-Sonny
Well, my friend, that takes about $800-$1,200 that I just don't have after already dumping $6,500 into this build. Thanks though.

-Nick-
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
Think I've almost got this thing figured out. Waiting on another member to shoot over a pinout that he made when encountering the same issue. If it matches up, its repinning time!

Basically there are 13 wires in the 91-92 clip and 18 wires on the 89 clip.

I've got 11 matches from the 89 clip to the 91-91. 2 wires (that would complete the 13 needed...) are the same color on both but one has dashes on it.

We'll see...

-Nick-
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
IT RUNS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We primed about 6 or 7 times with the EFI fuse out. Started it up for 10 seconds to check for oil in the oil feed then shut it off. I cranked it for about 4 seconds playing with the gas pedal and then it fired right up! Idled really well actually.

The down side...

I have no signal to any of my gauges and I realized the clip for the signals for the gauges isn't plugged in because there's no spot for it due to my harness differences. So now I have to do research on that and get that to work.

Once the gauges start working then I can test drive!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Updates coming soon.

-Nick-
 
Last edited:

speed

Gone. Email me.
Authorized Seller
Joined
May 27, 2006
Messages
1,045
Location
not here
Nick, in addition to what I posted in your other thread, are you saying that your engine harness does not have a M1 plug at all??? Is it cut, non-existent, or what? It should be there!!
 

Bigzavs

86.5 1JZ Single Turbo
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
2,267
Location
Arlington, TX
when i was over there, i think i saw it, but yet again, its the wrong style connector, im going over to look at it tomorrow when he gets off of work
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
Well the car is somewhat disassembled for a front main leak. The leak showed up after the first or second drive and just got worse. So day before yesterday I got home, saw the puddle underneath and started tearing everything apart.

I was using a front main from the Club NA-T kit. Not saying there's anything apparently bad about them, just saying thats what I used and if it was the issue, it did not do its job. Looks like I'll find out today after work.

I also think the ISC might be clogged and thats why it keeps dieing... Not sure though.

I'll keep you guys posted.

Thanks!

-Nick-
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
Question about a couple of things.

Had a fairly serious oil leak and thought it was the main seal, tore a lot of stuff of to get to it, replaced it, and I'm pretty sure it still leaks. Any ideas of where else the leak could be coming from? Only other thoughts would be oil pump cover or cam seals. I'm hoping for the cam seals...

Car is STILL dieing. Are there any ports that go to the ISC at all? The only ports i have anything going to are coolant ports. It goes pig rich right before it dies so I would assume that points to ISC.

Threw code 52.......... Then pulled the EFI Fuse and it didn't come back after 30 miles. So far so good.

Threw code 21 still. O2 sensor. Could this have anything to do with the dieing?

:1zhelp:

Thanks!

-Nick-
 
Last edited:

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
Anyone? :(

Also I had my A/C charged and it blew really cold for about 12 miles or so. Then I park and it blows one of the fittings off and loses all of the freon. Just one thing after another.

Thanks.

-Nick-
 

Zumtizzle

Can't Wait to Be King.
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
2,831
Location
Sac-Town, NorCal
Car is STILL dieing. Are there any ports that go to the ISC at all? The only ports i have anything going to are coolant ports. It goes pig rich right before it dies so I would assume that points to ISC.
Yes there are.

I'll take a pic for you tomarrow.

My 2JZ idles really low.

But you can remove it open it up and clean it with brakeclean (safe for plastic).

Thank Suprastanger507Mgte for this. ;)
 

Zumtizzle

Can't Wait to Be King.
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
2,831
Location
Sac-Town, NorCal
Dude!

I was shocked! I thought there would be a Line like the 7M.

But no!

I've never opened it up. But my guess is. It goes in and out to control the airflow around the TB?

Your Best Bet is to Take it off via the Three Phillips head screws then, open it up and give it a little spray!

Sorry!
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
Just thought I'd update.

After driving the Supra around town for a bit, it was time for me to go to school and yes I brought the Supra.

800 Mile road trip in a 2JZ-NA-T Supra completed with ZERO hiccups whatsoever! You better believe I was watching Oil Pressure and Water Temp like a friggin hawk. Filled up twice which was more than I thought I was going to have to. But I got a little lost right at the end of Kentucky which made me have to get gas.

Just thought I'd let you guys know!

BTW I took more pictures at the lake now that it's completed:













Bad Engine Bay Picture:























The Lake:



Ducks...



Thanks to Josh, Scott, Ben and EVERYONE who helped me on this build. I can't think of all of the names right now but I greatly appreciate it!

If anyone has any comments/questions or anything please feel free!

-Nick-
 

dok33

My fuel pump precedes me
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 16, 2005
Messages
934
Location
Austin, TX
Hell yea dude, good work!! I've got about 800mi on mine now too, will have lots more if it stops blowing coolant all over the place every time I get it running good lol. Very ballsy driving it that far after the swap, congrats!

I know you're running the Lex/SAFC, what other fuel upgrades you have? How much boostage?
 
Last edited:

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
Well... I swapped the Lex out for a stock AFM due to me thinking I was getting TOO much air. Not the case I suppose. Well the SAFC wasn't seeing tach signal so it had no idea where to make those adjustments I was setting on the SAFC. But before I realized that I swapped the AFM so I really dont know if it was too much air or not. So I went to the junk yard and picked up the stocker... And stopped by Oh really's to get some flat black... ::w00t:: I mean come on, even if I was swapping them out I still had to paint it flat black!

Soooooo... Stock AFM, Stock 440CC Injectors, Stock Fuel Pump. All of which I'd like to upgrade soon.

With using the Neo I've tuned for about 10 PSI max or so. I'm still messing with it because I don't go full throttle that much and I think that's my problem. I think it will be much more consistent when I go full throttle for tuning. It's strong though.

Right when I put my foot into it (about 1/2-3/4 throttle) it goes pig rich, then will lean out to about 12.5-13.5 MAX. But when I go up in boost I think it just leans out no matter how much fuel I dump in however those are not full throttle pulls...

So I'm hoping with more adjusting of the SAFC and throttle I think I can be safe around 10-12PSI ish. Max I hit on this setup was 14 but the SAFC wasn't tuned for that so the second it jumped up to about 14.3 AFR I got out of it.

Thanks man! Yeah I had put more than 500 miles before I took the trip so I felt pretty confident. If not I was pretty sure I could fix whatever would go wrong during the drive.

-Nick-
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
Update...

Just went full throttle in first gear and I lost traction when boost came in... It sounded so sick! Felt great!

I. Love. This. Car!

-Nick-
 

GotTurbos?

2J = Here; Swap = Near
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 24, 2006
Messages
951
Location
Dallas, TX
I wouldn't be doing anything if you're seeing anywhere near 14.3 on the wideband. The second I see 12 I would be out of it.
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
14 X was only at half throttle. Full throttle it settles down to around 12.5.

I'll keep my foot out of it for the most part until I upgrade fuel.

-Nick-
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
Just swapped in a walbro a few days ago and man was that over due! It feels great at WOT at 9PSI.

Now I'm just too rich sometimes which is a much better problem to have than being too lean :)

Anyways I highly recommend this swap! Although if someone does this swap and has the money to go standalone I'd also recommend that so you dont have to deal with all the piggy back SAFC BS. And upgrade fuel because you'll want to later!

Thanks!

P.S. Here are some pics from a photoshoot with my friends built KA-T 240SX.

















-Nick-
 

dok33

My fuel pump precedes me
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 16, 2005
Messages
934
Location
Austin, TX
Looks/sounds awesome! You've just motivated me to stop being lazy and go put my injectors in :)
 

dok33

My fuel pump precedes me
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 16, 2005
Messages
934
Location
Austin, TX
880cc. Think I finally may have found some 0-rings that will work on them but I bought a bike and have been playing with that instead lol
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
Hah nice. Yeah I think I saw those pictures on facebook. But still... 880CCs!!! Come on man! I'd come down and install them for you if I was still in Texas hah.

Enjoy riding man. I miss it a lot.
 

Supra_Villan

needs his car done
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 10, 2007
Messages
662
Location
Wellsville MO
MOAR INFO!!!!!!!!!!! lol
Updates? Changes? New times?
NEW VIDS PLEEEEEEAASE.
Love this car and this swap i want to see more of it.
 

Supra_Villan

needs his car done
Authorized Seller
Joined
Nov 10, 2007
Messages
662
Location
Wellsville MO
dont be doin no plus one's here dok...that goes for you too. :naughty:
Might be adding to the 2jge-t guys dependant on how the next week or 2 goes for me... if these new bearings dont cut it expect a 7m fs thread.
 

Quin

Trans killer
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
1,989
Location
Columbus, IN
Nick, how's the car doing?

Btw, for those considering doing this swap, Nick's car is a perfect example of what attention to detail and dedication gets you. Excellent car all around, I was VERY impressed. Hope to see it again at Indy2k10!
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
Wow guys I had no idea this thread was bumped! I figured it was set back to be in SupraMania history for a while lol.

The car is doing well. Just got back to Indiana with it after a summer in Texas. Had the A/C working for a bit but now I need a new compressor... FML. But luckily, summer is ending soon :)

I haven't taken any videos recently aside from the track/dyno vid back in June or so.

Had a setback... The car was smoking when it sat at idle for a little while, pulled the turbo and it was trashed after about 14,000 miles or so. While swapping the turbo I swapped to the rubber mounts which served to be such an improvement in drivability! When I had the rubber mounts and A/C... I had a true daily driver with high 300 HP. Dream come true.

The car is more responsive with this new turbo even though its the EXACT same turbo.

Thanks Quin, I really appreciate it. You should ride in it now with the rubber mounts! Feels so smooth and drives so much better now that I got all of my boost leaks taken care of. When you rode in my car there was a HUGE boost leak. It looks so much better now.

Here's a semi-current picture after I got all matching black couplers which completed the black and aluminum color scheme in my engine bay. I also bought a fan shroud which I don't have pictured... It looks so stock with the shroud on.



I'll work on some videos :)

Thanks guys!

-Nick-
 

dok33

My fuel pump precedes me
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 16, 2005
Messages
934
Location
Austin, TX
Bay looks awesome! Bummer about your turbo, mine is shot too. Where'd you get the rebuild done?