2JZ-GE-T Build - 89 Turbo Supra

dok33

My fuel pump precedes me
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 16, 2005
Messages
934
Location
Austin, TX
depends on which line it is, for the ones on the pump itself you can pull the p/s pump to get at them fairly easily but others are harder to get to...

BTW-car is lookin good! Looks like you have a little more clearance between your exhaust housing and the TB too. Def be a good idea to get a turbo blanket though.
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
So there are ports on the intake manifold that I assume are for coolant. One directly under the TB.

Which ones do I need to block and which ones do I need to run?

I suppose I'm getting closer...

Thanks!

-Nick-
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
Thanks Sean!

Thanks webbs.

Also for throttle cable, do I just use a 92-94 Camry cable?

Any word on the ports on the intake manifold?

Got a LONG list of stuff for tomorrow...

Washer for speedo cable

Make Intercooler Brackets

Mock up piping

Buy more 3" to 2.5" reducers

Call guys at the shop to come look at what needs to be welded on manifold

Buy transmission fluid

Extend alternator wires and wire up O2 sensor.

Get Barb for fuel line fitting. Use clams already purchased.

Make Throttle Cable.

Cut 4" inlet pipe for angle away from radiator

Buy breathers for PCV or run lines when using 4" inlet.

Drill holes on firewall lip for coil packs

I'm sure I'll add to it later.

Thanks guys!

-Nick
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
Oh how difficult would it be to wire in a switch for the check engine light? I really don't want it on all the time and I don't want to pull the cluster each time I want to check codes so I'd like to wire in a switch and keep it in my coil holder slot or something.

Is there a wire on one of the ECU clips that I could tap into and put that switch in?

Thanks!

-Nick-
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
Another question... I'm mocking up my IC and pipes right now and I think I'm going to have an interference problem with the coolant overflow tank.

The dimensions are 12x12x3. It's the universal one from DriftMotion.

I can make the brackets no big deal however, with it tucked up underneath there it seems to be hitting the overflow tank.

Anyone have feedback on the above questions?

Thanks!

-Nick-
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
I'd like to get a lot of stuff done today. Yesterday didn't really have too much time to work on stuff. Dog was ill and needed a trip to the vet.

Anyone have input on those questions?

-Nick-
 

dok33

My fuel pump precedes me
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 16, 2005
Messages
934
Location
Austin, TX
Sorry, for some reason I didn't get the emails even though I'm subscribed. Lemme try to filter through the list of questions :biglaugh:

1. So there are ports on the intake manifold that I assume are for coolant. One directly under the TB. --The one towards where the driver's side on the bottom side of the manifold goes to the block behind the p/s pump, you should see a pipe coming out there that it slips onto. The one on the TB goes to the water pipe on the side of the block above the exhaust manifold

2. Throttle cable-not sure if the camry one will work, Jon and I made one with a bike brake cable (Bell cable kit is like $5 at Wal-Fart) using the hardware off of the 7M throttle cable and a couple of big washers to hold it to the bracket at the TB. Basically cut the plastic sheathing to length between the throttle cable bracket on the TB and the firewall and then the inner cable to run from the bell crank on the TB to where it attaches to the throttle pedal. You also have to solder a nut or something on the end at the throttle pedal to give the pedal something to pull on. Sounds confusing but it makes sense once you pull the cable out and look at it.

3. CEL-not sure what you mean here, leave it in and hooked up regularly. If the car is running right you shouldn't get a CEL so you shouldn't need to disable it. Although, if my code 52 keeps coming back I may consider it LOL.

4. Coolant reservoir--Got a smaller battery from Autozone (can give you the PN when I get home) and put the reservoir next to it. You can see it in the bottom right of this pic:


Think that was everything :)
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
On your IC piping, do you ever bottom out?

I'm at that point of figuring out piping as well lol.

I made brackets for the intercooler and its friggin rock solid in there.
 

dok33

My fuel pump precedes me
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 16, 2005
Messages
934
Location
Austin, TX
I've scraped the lower pipe a few times but that's mainly because of my blown front struts...
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
Intercooler is now mounted and the intake side of the piping is now complete.

The charge pipe routing will need.... some more attention. It seems that I have little to no room for a coupler to fit onto the compressor. I was thinking of having an elbow welded onto it which I can have done tomorrow. A 90 degree coupler however... That would take shipping time. And I'd love to try to fire it up tomorrow... (crossing fingers!!!!!)

Thoughts?

Peace in the east.

-Nick-
 

dok33

My fuel pump precedes me
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 16, 2005
Messages
934
Location
Austin, TX
If you have the means to get the elbow welded on do it. My first 90deg coupler melted because of proximity to the exhaust manifold, and that was with heat wrap.
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
I'm having an issue with charge pipe routing. I bought an 2.5" elbow but no matter how I move it there's very little space from the strut tower, PS line, and radiator hose.

Should I ditch the elbow and do a 90 degree coupler?

OR

Use the elbow and a 90 degree pointed down from there?

Also the PS line that routs to the passenger side of the engine bay. The DriftMotion line gets rid of one of those correct? If that's the case than what do I do with the port that it went to?

Thanks

-Nick-
 
Last edited:

dok33

My fuel pump precedes me
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 16, 2005
Messages
934
Location
Austin, TX
If you use a cast Al elbow it has to be cut down some, as does your comp housing and it needs to be welded on. A 90deg silicone coupler will fit but I can't guarantee it'll hold up as my first one melted.

For the p/s lines, you can pull out all the hard lines and stuff on the stock pump, should just be the braided high pressure line and a push on hose back to the reservior from the rack.
 

sao1

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 15, 2006
Messages
104
Location
Santa Rosa, CA
Awesome documentary of your build Nick!

Keep up the great work, and of course, keep us updated on any new progress.
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
Sao1: Thanks man! I will although I've been slacking on picture taking maybe because progress has been SO SLOW lately.

Wrapped the manifold today.

Made a makeshift PS cooler out of the 7M oil cooler. Mounted right behind the intercooler.

One of my wires for the SAFC separated when I was pulling the harness back through the firewall. That blows. Oh well easy fix and at least its only one.

I painted the rings around my gauges so now they match :)

Had the manifold rewelded. Took about 3 times going back and forth to mock it up the back to weld completely.

Got the elbow welded onto the turbo. Took SIX times going back and forth to make sure it was perfect. Had to cut some off the compressor and some off the elbow to make it fit.

Pictures will probably be tomorrow.

I've got to extend alternator wires, wire in O2 sensor, wrap DP, finish mocking up intercooler piping, get a new radiator hose (ordered a hose from an 85 supra... Didn't fit.), bolt up upper intake manifold, plug in harness, bolt up manifold/turbo/WG/Dump tube/DP and then mount coil packs. Also make throttle cable.

Phew. A little more than I thought. I'll see if I can get that done tomorrow!

Also I couldn't find the cable kit at Wal-Mart so I guess I'll have to go to a bike shop. Is there any way I can connect an extension on the stock 7M cable? it only needs like 6" or so. I have to measure it to be sure.

Off to take a cold shower to get rid of this fiber glass...

Thanks!

-Nick-
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
You guys want to see something cool?







How big of a problem is this? That's the O-Ring for the compressor housing...............

I MIGHT be able to find something similar to this at ace but im not sure.

Progress has been very slow. Everything seems to be such a huge issue to deal with. Not having the right clamps, hose, bolts, brackets, fitment etc. The list goes on and on. I spend most of my days running around trying to fix little things.

I guess thats how this is supposed to go though. Getting really tiring after a while...

-Nick-
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
Getting really close... I use the "..." to hide my excitement.

Seriously I took some pictures tonight after mocking it all up and I couldn't keep a smile off my face.

The coil packs are just resting up there as I need to finish making the brackets for them. I'm mounting them WITHOUT DRILLING ANY HOLES! :)

So far I am very happy with the way it all turned out!

Teaser pictures. These will be the last pictures until its running!









Thanks for looking!

-Nick-
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
Thanks man me either!

Does anyone know what that port is on the Intake Manifold right where the "Y" ends facing toward the firewall? Looks like vacuum to me but its larger. However it only had two dinky little stock clamps holding it so whatever it was, it couldn't have had too much pressure.

Thoughts?

Thanks!

-Nick-
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
Going to have everything done tonight.

However I can't drive it because the dump tube doesn't fit whatsoever. :)

No welding open on Sundays. So I have to wait with a fully assembled car in the garage.

Awesome. :-(

-Nick-
 

sao1

New Member
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 15, 2006
Messages
104
Location
Santa Rosa, CA
Very clean Nick!

I was wondering how long is your oil feed line? And are you feeding via a sandwich plate between the oil filter and the block?
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
Going to have everything done tonight.

However I can't drive it because the dump tube doesn't fit whatsoever. :)

No welding open on Sundays. So I have to wait with a fully assembled car in the garage.

Awesome. :-(

-Nick-

P.S. Josh on the O2 sensor wiring, was that only with yellow clip harness or with grey clip as well?
 

dok33

My fuel pump precedes me
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 16, 2005
Messages
934
Location
Austin, TX
I know it works for yellow clip, but as long as the wiring colors ont he grey clip are the same you should be good.

And you don't need a stinkin dump pipe :)
 

Bigzavs

86.5 1JZ Single Turbo
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
2,267
Location
Arlington, TX
thats exactly what i said

on my old manifold i didnt run a dump tube, but since changing my manifold out, i made a really nice dump pipe

just go drive it and have fun with it nick
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
Well today/tonight went well except....

Coolant leak out of coolant pipe on the front passenger side. Uego wasn't turning on, and the SAFC wasn't turning on. Also i was missing TWO bolts for my intake manifold. Went to oh oh oh oh reallysz to get the longest ones they had, too short.

I was so damned close this weekend. Oh well tomorrow night after I get out of work I suppose...

Also I've had to change two connectors on this harness. One was the O2 but I had to hardwire the O2 so thats fine. The other was this 5 wire (6 pin available) clip near my igniter that I assume plugs into the fuse box. At least it ran under it. It was different on this harness but exactly what i needed on my old harness. Glad I kept it!

ALSO there's an extra box shaped clip on the ECU side of the harness that doesn't have a female end to plug into..... All of the necessary ECU wires are there. Is this a problem??????

Thanks.

-Nick-
 

Satan

Active Member
Authorized Seller
Contributor
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
1,599
Location
Tampa
Dunno. I might be able to help, if I see a pic...
 

Bigzavs

86.5 1JZ Single Turbo
Authorized Seller
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
2,267
Location
Arlington, TX
well we found out something that is a rather large problem tonight, but ill let nick explain
 

XofXtimeX

Clean 2JZ
Authorized Seller
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
293
Location
Arlington, TX
ECU doesn't have power. It might be because I was sold a 91-92 harness. That's the only thing me and Ben could come up with.

Pictures:





These are the two that do not match. Neither does the wiring. Different gauge and different color. The loose clips in there also dont have anywhere to go either.



Here is the clip I had to take off of the harness thats on the car now.



And wire in the one from my old harness. So it could fit this male end:



The O2 sensor clip was a square style as well.

Does this look like a 91-92 harness?

Could I delete the clip and hardwire them together? (that'd be a bad idea if i ever wanted to disconnect it again.) Swap dash harnesses? Or just try to find another harness and redo all the wiring work?

Please help.

-Nick-
 
Last edited: