Someone explain boosting to me

Supra Blues

Virgin Booster
Mar 30, 2005
Supramania
I am new to the whole turbo world. "virgin booster".

Just got done with the 7MGTE swap in my 87 NA. Everything appears to be working normally.

Boost gauge reads about 17 vac at idle. Seems normal. I have read that if you rev the engine in neutral it will not make boost, why not? Because there is not load on the engine right? But still, why? Is it because the engine process the air through it so fast that boost has no time to develop?

Anyhoo, took the supra out for a spin last Sunday (no smog, no registration, no insurance) in first gear I really don't see too much boost but the boost gauge comes up to about zero vac. In second I see some and as i raced the engine up to approx 4,000 rpms the boost gauge maxed out at about 6-7psi (normal for stock), but then the boost started to fall. Why???? Is that normal?

Went home and inspected intercooler plumbing. Found a small tiny crack, got that fixed, but haven't driven it since.

It feels plenty strong as I got her up to about 55 in second gear pretty damned fast with only about 1/2 throttle.

Feel kinda stupid asking about boost, but I am always willing to learn something about cars.

Thanks.

Squid699

Manic Mechanic
Mar 30, 2005
Chesapeake, VA
first off - don't drive without insurance or registration. That's just dumb.

I think you answered your own question, you had a boost leak....thats why it wasn't showing much boost and it would fall off.

aye mate

Hiatus over.
Mar 30, 2005
Maryland
i can make about 4 psi in neutral. but yea boost leaks will cause you to not get as much peak boost and the boost you do make will fall off earlier. I think normal vac is about 20 isn't that right? I know mines at about 19 then when the car warms up it sits at about 20. Check for vac leaks and make sure your timing is dead on.

GrimJack

Administrator
Dec 31, 1969
Richmond, BC, Canada
idriders.com
Ok, here's some info for you.