calling all computer dorks, need a laptop

souprat

Mar 30, 2005
fairfax VA
first off i dont mean dork in a bad way. so i'm off to college next fall and i need a laptop. but i dont know what to buy because me and computers mix about as well as acids and bases. i've been known to start yelling and throwing stuff trying to work a dvd player. so any suggestions on a laptop that is fast with a cd burner and a dvd player. i think i would need a pc because i'm studying engineering. weight is no issue cuz it will live on my desk the whole year. and something with good customer support, i'll need it. thanks guys

esc

WUM WUM!
Mar 30, 2005
Winston, NC
i bought a Sony Viao PCG-K33 not long ago it's been pretty sweet. 3GHz 512mb of ram, ATI Radeon IGP video, widescreen monitor (best looking laptop monitor ever). Pretty good deal for 1200 bucks.

Dirgle

Conjurer of Boost
Mar 30, 2005
Pauma Valley, CA