what psi am I doing I wonder??

doom26464

Research...research
Mar 31, 2005
Saskatoon SK, Canada
www.cardomain.com
I know I may become an annoynce over the next little while but plz bear with me as im new to the tubro world(just bought my turbo big jump for me from my N/a) anyways here what I really wanted to ask:

Well I only have the stock gauge right now, and my mods are as followed:
-K&n filter
-3 inch downpipe(wich then connects back to the stock exasuht and catlatic converter)
-A carbon fiber muffler(not sure as to what the size on it is??? )

Anywaysd my boost gauge when i floor it reads up to 8 psi but then goes down and stays at about 7 or 7.5 psi and will hold there.

so I have a few q's:

1.) How accurate is the stock boost guage(I know its not accurate but might as well ask anyways get some ones opion)
2.) Am i boosting at a max of 8 psi or 7psi??
3.) also how long should it take for the ct-26 to spool up?? Either im expreincing a bit of turbo lag or the boost gauge just takes time to respond or then again i guess all turbo take a second or 2 there power isn't instant.

thnx a ton for the cooments/info :chicken:

J

JerzeySlowpra

the stock boost guage isnt very accurate, you could be boosting a little over 8 and not know it but i doubt it with just intake and exaust your probley at the 7.5 range

CTsupra

Supramania Contributor
1. its pretty accurate for anything under 8psi.
2. your boosting to a max of 8 or more, then like all turbos do power will drop off slightly in the upper rpm band.
3. you basically answered your own question. when i was running open dp, my "stock" ct-26 would start to spool at 1500rpms full boost followed shortly after. getting rid of the stock exhaust and cat will do wonders, but you know that.

hope this helps.